We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of money.”
Review of Devra Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Devra Udaipur
Ranked #30 of 167 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stayed there on 27th Feb 2013.It proved to be a complete waste of money. The owner boasts of 5 acres or 10 acres of property but it isn't the case.He claims nearby lands,dry bushes as hisown but they are not his property. It is away from the City.When we reached there It looked like a villgage with dark bushes, farm lands where crop are grown. Then they took us to the deluxe room.It was dark room.No T.V,Refrigerator.Toilet was o.k with no bath tub. Bed sheets kept at a side to see the external view of the aravali hills,farm lands and near by village was filthy and dirty.Telephone was at the other end of the room away from your bed which was not functioning. Two wire plugs of the room were not functioning.We went outside and asked them to get the telephone working. Even after the telephone worked,we had to get up from the bad,walk to the other end and then ring at the reception.No body ever picked up the phone.So,you have to go outside and shout for anything u need. For food, we have to go to their office to eat and their was timings for that of 2 hours in which you could have that.There was no facility of food supply to the room. There was no menu.So,you don't have any choice but you have to eat what they cooked(boiled food called as organic food from the nearby farmlands as told to me by the owner..good for foreigners :) ) and they charged a very hefty amount near to a 5-star hotel for that. When we contacted the owner,he said it's not a hotel,It's a homestay and that they had clearly mentioned it in the website which was not the case. Overall, there was no greenery,no garden nothing just a dirty village feel. You can walk nearby to see the farmlands and the so called organic food which the oner Major from the Army calls. Only good thing about the hotel is the behaviour of Major and his wife(owners).They speak in English and very polite.So foreigners are likely to remain happy with the and another good is that they refunded my money for a day.We had initially planned for 2 days but looking at the condition of the hotel,we cut short it to 1 day and they readily agreed to return our amount for a day. Overall considering the amount they charge,not worth money at all if you are an Indian.Foreigners who don't care about money but wish to see poor,dry India and eat organic food from the nearby farmlands :) and chat with nice english speaking owners can visit their.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Neeraj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Devra is essentially a registered boutique home stay and not a hotel. This has been clearly mentioned in all our listings on various online portals as well as our website. It is just a house where we stay and share our lifestyle and cares with our respectful guests.

These guests had made their reservation through an online portal and may have misunderstood Devra home stay to be a hotel and hence we believe their unhappiness with our services.

On arrival the guests asked for the change of place which we happily agreed as we do not like unhappy guests and also offered a full refund. The guests having consulted their agency decided to stay for one day as they had paid in full to the online agency. We refunded the next day money back to them when they left.

We are always present in Devra to assist the guests. If there is any question regarding lights/telephone we would be only glad to look into it and provide our best service.

We primarily welcome guests into our homes and work towards providing them with the best experience possible at our house and our sorry to see that they have had this experience with us.

Last but the least to project Indian villages in such a low esteem needs pondering. We are proud of our villages and culture as it is closer to honest living, it may be poor so what. Our meal rates is Rs400.00 per meal which is a full five course Indian meal. By no standard it is expensive. These guests never even bothered to have any meal as they were fully charged with negative thoughts even before arrival to the property.

Probably the guests coming from poor back grounds cant see other poor people of India who need a helping hand to come up and Devra provides them.
Frankly such reviews do not deserve to be listed on Trip Advisor portal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2013

Our family visited Devra in august 2012, and we stayed for 3 night.The host were very helpfull with everything. The view from our rooms was very good, something i had not expected till i saw it. During monsoons this place is amazing, with greens on the mountains and the fields around a delight for the eyes !! This place is a nature lovers delight.

Except for breakfast we only had one dinner at Devra, the food served was simple and nice just like home.

Its ideal for small group or families travelling who need a good place to unwind and enjoy the best of what nature has to offer. Also its not very far from Udaipur if you wish to do some sightseeing as well. It takes about 10-15 mintures to reach the city.It is always nice if you have your own car or taxi if you are planning to move around.

Room Tip: The newly constructed rooms adjoining the main bunglow are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RUSHABHYJAIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We were a group of four - stayed overnight on New Years Day. Got in a bit late in the evening but our host ensured everything in place for us - got a nice tour of truly remarkable property. Dinner was piping hot and most delicious. The rooms had a fantastic view - it got even better in the morning with some wonderful sights of the Aravali hills in the vicinity and also the Lake Palace at some distance. We woke up to the chirping of a variety of birds that come to feed at the property - the owner mentioned that it's been a custom for over 15 years since he started feeding the birds in the morning. Really wished we had stayed back another day or so. A truly delightful place to kick back and soak in the sights, sounds and of course the hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrnkashyap_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

We are glad to read your feed back on your visit to Devra. When you share your happiness it multiplies. We felt respected and rewarded by your review.
Much thanks and look forward to your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We were lucky enough to schedule a lunch visit to Debra and it was the most fantastic lunch I have ever eaten. Devra began with an explanation of her vegetables, spices and cooking process. She then took us to the kitchen where she prepared the most delicious, mouth watering food. The service was impeccable, her staff courteous and helpful.
The location of her hotel is spectacular with views of the mountains around Udaipur.
I wouldn't miss stopping there or better yet, make it a destination.

Room Tip: We were only there for lunch so cannot give advice on the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Thank you very much to sharing your happiness and writing such a good review. It made us feel very happy and felt like doing even better.
We will be delighted to see you again at Devra and this time to stay with us.
Kind regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We stayed here for one night and regretted having to leave. The host was friendly and super interesting to talk with. Our room was gorgeous, as was the bathroom, as were the views from the balcony where we had tea and watched the sun go down, as was the outdoor terrace where we had breakfast (birds on the parapet, sun rising above the hills and shining down the valley). Two beautiful resident dogs. Lots of intellectually engaging books in the library that I'd have curled up with on a couch if we had had time. Superb food.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atriplex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

We the team at Devra is extremely thankful to you for such inspiring review. It helps in remaining motivated and always sustain a high performance level.
Your kind words go a long way. We all thank you soooo..... much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The owner couple made us feel at home, overseeing our meals and advising us on the trip. The landlady works for the Rana's Palace as event manager and is from Jodhpur. She gave us some excellent tips.
Service is good and food was homely.
The surroundings are beautiful and it is worth spending at least two days with so much to do in Udaipur.

Room Tip: Good idea to ask for a room situated away from the main house. They are very well appointed and coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndraniBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

We are grateful for the nice review. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed at Devra, Udaipur just after the Diwali Break for 3 nights. It was the last leg of our tour of over 1600 kms through Rajasthan (Mount Abu, Jodhpur, Nagaur, Khattu) and it could not have been better. The homestay has just the right amount of privacy and connectedness with the hosts and other guests. Our daughter (6 yr old) enjoyed the forays to a nearby farm which had cows, fields with corn. Every morning as a ritual she wanted to go and pet the cows. Major Durga Das and his wife made all the possible arrangements that we could expect and their staff was very polite and helpful. The food was great in taste with the right amount of spices and variety. The rooms were a big WOW with beautiful use of local topography and material. We would strongly recommend Devra for anyone who wants peace, tranquility, comfort and a feeling of being welcomed as if it were your own home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sudhirghodke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Thank you for your gracious review. It is inspiring for us and the staff to get a good feed back.
Do visit us again. Warm regards from every body at Devra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
3.3 mi away
Amantra Comfort Hotel
Amantra Comfort Hotel
#5 of 167 in Udaipur
942 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#25 of 167 in Udaipur
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Udai Bagh
The Udai Bagh
#46 of 167 in Udaipur
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Le ROI Udaipur
Le ROI Udaipur
#61 of 167 in Udaipur
194 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#9 of 167 in Udaipur
487 reviews
2.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 167 in Udaipur
2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devra Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devra Udaipur

Address: Sisarma - Bujra Road | Kalarohi, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#11 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £50 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devra Udaipur 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Devra Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devra Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Devra Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Devra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing