We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL”
Review of Devra Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Devra Udaipur
Ranked #26 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Parkland, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed at Devra Hotel this March and were very much impressed. Our son had stayed at this hotel and highly recommended it to us. We took his recommendation and were so very glad we did. Major Durga Das is a warm host and wonderful to talk with. Unfortunately, we did not get the pleasure of meeting his wife, as she had an ill parent she was attending to. The property is beautiful, the food delicious and the service excellent. Devra has very large, extremely comfortable rooms with wonderful views of the Aravallis and the neighboring farmlands. The Major showed us the temple on the grounds and invited us to stay and watch the Saturday morning worship by the villagers. This was more moving than words can say. We truly felt blessed to be able to see this. We look forward to hopefully returning to Devra and highly recommend this wonderful home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
We are grateful to you for sharing your experience with every body. Your comments had been very satisfying to the staff and us.
Thank you again for sharing your happiness. We always look forward to see you again.
Kind regards,
Maj.Durga Das & Jyoti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    61
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
80
119
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Devra is a colonial style house built on top of a hillock in the lap of the Aravali hills of Udaipur. It overlooks the city of Udaipur and offers grand panoramic views of the Udaipur environs, once the scene of many a hunt and battle. Devra literally translates to 'where God resides'. In the local language, Devra means a tribal temple. A 400 year old temple still stands at the site of Devra, and is used on a daily basis. Major Durga Das and his wife Ms Josi Jasol were there to greet us on our arrival with cool drinks and welcoming smiles.
The rooms are beautifully appointed, including air conditioned suites, private lounges, and semi private verandahs where we spent several evenings relaxing and watching the sunset. Breakfast was very good and the one evening meal we had was an Indian taste sensation. The staff were friendly, helpful and 100% accommodating.
Joyti and the Major invited us to join them and their staff in some outdoor games, and the Major was very generous with his time accompanying us to the local village school to meet the teachers and pupils. All in all our time at Devra was a truly memorable experience, my only complaint was that it was not long enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazzkatok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Thank for very valuable review on Devra.Udaipur. We all at Devra are very grateful to have received your inspiring thoughts. It helped us and staff motivated to keep doing our best.
Shall always look forward to your visit again.
Warm regards from all of us.
Jyoti & Durga Das
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

It takes 40 minutes and a 750Rs tuk turn ride to get to Devra Udaipur, a hill surrounded home-stay some 8 kilometres north of the city of Udaiper in the rural locality called Kalarohi.
The home is named after the tiny temple which lies on the slope leading up to it.
Coming up the stairs we are greeted by a gentle young man whose smile accompanies our stay.
Then the 'lady of the house' , Jayti Jyoti Das, appears and we are ushered to our room and given tea and biscuits.

Our twin room is part of an outdoor extension - all of it built in chunky local stones and woods - there are also rooms in the mini fortress-shaped house. Its rooftop platform has views over the surrounding brown dusty hills to thee north and south to the lake and palaces of Udaipur.

Jayti and her husband Maj.Durga Das ('DD' for short) have opened their home to foreigner (and increasingly Indian travellers) for over a decade.

The setting is spectacular - Rajasthan is not on first impressions my favourite region in terms of landscape (for city and culture it rates high). At Devra, I am seduced to the rhythm and strange colours and forms of Rajasthan.
Staying here, we stroll along country roads, encounter local villagers, partake in the spellbinding nighttime sounds and music of Rajasthan, and slow down to a relaxing rural pace. I come to love the dry, tanned and brown streaked landscape, dotted with hilltop forts and ruins, which seems like a picture book, from another age.

Our room is spacious with a large double bed and day bed in an alcove window. It is splashed with various artefact and has quality linens and bedding. The real joy however lies outdoors, on the terrace which overlooks the countryside and hills.

We breakfast on one of several verandas encircling the house, drenched in the scenery and refreshing, post storm breezes. Breakfast on day 1 is ok - white toast, cornflakes, banana and papaya. Day 2 there is a bit more variety with an organic egg omelet and some Dahl. Later I learn from another guest, that I could have ordered an Indian breakfast.

On the other hand the dinner we order one evening is excellent - flavoursome and bountiful. The chef goes to great effort to make tasty (though spice adjusted) vegetarian and chicken dishes ...eggplant and tofu curries, a sweet and sour green mango specialty and roti fresh off the outdoor grill.

As well as the rooms, you have access to various other spaces during the stay at Devra - a well stocked sitting room come reading room, outdoor terraces, and dining areas.

Even though you are in the home of the owners, one never feels uncomfortable but rather incredibly, happily at home - to the point it is very hard to leave.

For visiting bejewelled and beguiling Udaipur, there are both taxis and tuk tuks (the latter for the return journey only, about 150-20Rs. Do not make our mistake and take a tuk tuk without being totally sure of the address, and believing the driver knows the locality. In short, take one of the home stays cards with you to save all headaches, and possibly long walks!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamaraThiessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Guest,
Your gracious review for Devra was very encouraging for all of us at Devra Udaipur. Your expression of Devra with details is very befitting, you expressed it so well.
Please accept our deepest gratitude from every body at Devra Udaipur.
We will cherish your kindness and your sharing of happiness at Devra. It will always multiply.
Kind regards,
Maj.Durga Das & Jyoti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke abbott
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed at Devra for a week and had a wonderful time. It is the perfect base from which to explore Udaipur and the surrounding area and yet, lying outside the city, it also provides an oasis of calm and beauty in which one can relax and feel totally at ease. The owners, who have a deep affinity with the area, and who are committed environmentalists, have developed an aesthetically pleasing “homestay” comprising of multiple terraces with far-reaching views, clever landscaping and exotic planting as well tastefully decorated rooms with five star modern conveniences. The proprietors are very well supported by a young and intelligent staff that will do anything to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
All food provided is of the best quality. The owners grow much of their own produce organically and one group we met were full of praise for the cooking lesson provided by the lady of the house (on request.)
For those who are so inclined, it is possible to walk in the lanes around Devra – to meet local villagers, to see how they work and how they live - an experience that will bring one closer the heart of India than any visit to the bazarre!
We have no hesitation in recommending this absolute gem.

Room Tip: Don't worry, all rooms are excellent. This place is really peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Your such concerned comments for us fills our heart with gratitude and motivates us to do better. I have shared your comments with every body at Devra.
The staff was delighted and very happy to get a feed back from you.
Your visit to nearby village was very well remembered by the school and are very thankful for you generous
support.
We will always look forward to seeing you. Once again very thankful to you.
Kind regards,
from all of us at Devra.
Maj.Durga Das
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghaziabad, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stayed there on 27th Feb 2013.It proved to be a complete waste of money. The owner boasts of 5 acres or 10 acres of property but it isn't the case.He claims nearby lands,dry bushes as hisown but they are not his property. It is away from the City.When we reached there It looked like a villgage with dark bushes, farm lands where crop are grown. Then they took us to the deluxe room.It was dark room.No T.V,Refrigerator.Toilet was o.k with no bath tub. Bed sheets kept at a side to see the external view of the aravali hills,farm lands and near by village was filthy and dirty.Telephone was at the other end of the room away from your bed which was not functioning. Two wire plugs of the room were not functioning.We went outside and asked them to get the telephone working. Even after the telephone worked,we had to get up from the bad,walk to the other end and then ring at the reception.No body ever picked up the phone.So,you have to go outside and shout for anything u need. For food, we have to go to their office to eat and their was timings for that of 2 hours in which you could have that.There was no facility of food supply to the room. There was no menu.So,you don't have any choice but you have to eat what they cooked(boiled food called as organic food from the nearby farmlands as told to me by the owner..good for foreigners :) ) and they charged a very hefty amount near to a 5-star hotel for that. When we contacted the owner,he said it's not a hotel,It's a homestay and that they had clearly mentioned it in the website which was not the case. Overall, there was no greenery,no garden nothing just a dirty village feel. You can walk nearby to see the farmlands and the so called organic food which the oner Major from the Army calls. Only good thing about the hotel is the behaviour of Major and his wife(owners).They speak in English and very polite.So foreigners are likely to remain happy with the and another good is that they refunded my money for a day.We had initially planned for 2 days but looking at the condition of the hotel,we cut short it to 1 day and they readily agreed to return our amount for a day. Overall considering the amount they charge,not worth money at all if you are an Indian.Foreigners who don't care about money but wish to see poor,dry India and eat organic food from the nearby farmlands :) and chat with nice english speaking owners can visit their.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Neeraj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Devra is essentially a registered boutique home stay and not a hotel. This has been clearly mentioned in all our listings on various online portals as well as our website. It is just a house where we stay and share our lifestyle and cares with our respectful guests.

These guests had made their reservation through an online portal and may have misunderstood Devra home stay to be a hotel and hence we believe their unhappiness with our services.

On arrival the guests asked for the change of place which we happily agreed as we do not like unhappy guests and also offered a full refund. The guests having consulted their agency decided to stay for one day as they had paid in full to the online agency. We refunded the next day money back to them when they left.

We are always present in Devra to assist the guests. If there is any question regarding lights/telephone we would be only glad to look into it and provide our best service.

We primarily welcome guests into our homes and work towards providing them with the best experience possible at our house and our sorry to see that they have had this experience with us.

Last but the least to project Indian villages in such a low esteem needs pondering. We are proud of our villages and culture as it is closer to honest living, it may be poor so what. Our meal rates is Rs400.00 per meal which is a full five course Indian meal. By no standard it is expensive. These guests never even bothered to have any meal as they were fully charged with negative thoughts even before arrival to the property.

Probably the guests coming from poor back grounds cant see other poor people of India who need a helping hand to come up and Devra provides them.
Frankly such reviews do not deserve to be listed on Trip Advisor portal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajkot, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Our family visited Devra in august 2012, and we stayed for 3 night.The host were very helpfull with everything. The view from our rooms was very good, something i had not expected till i saw it. During monsoons this place is amazing, with greens on the mountains and the fields around a delight for the eyes !! This place is a nature lovers delight.

Except for breakfast we only had one dinner at Devra, the food served was simple and nice just like home.

Its ideal for small group or families travelling who need a good place to unwind and enjoy the best of what nature has to offer. Also its not very far from Udaipur if you wish to do some sightseeing as well. It takes about 10-15 mintures to reach the city.It is always nice if you have your own car or taxi if you are planning to move around.

Room Tip: The newly constructed rooms adjoining the main bunglow are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RUSHABHYJAIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We were a group of four - stayed overnight on New Years Day. Got in a bit late in the evening but our host ensured everything in place for us - got a nice tour of truly remarkable property. Dinner was piping hot and most delicious. The rooms had a fantastic view - it got even better in the morning with some wonderful sights of the Aravali hills in the vicinity and also the Lake Palace at some distance. We woke up to the chirping of a variety of birds that come to feed at the property - the owner mentioned that it's been a custom for over 15 years since he started feeding the birds in the morning. Really wished we had stayed back another day or so. A truly delightful place to kick back and soak in the sights, sounds and of course the hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrnkashyap_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
We are glad to read your feed back on your visit to Devra. When you share your happiness it multiplies. We felt respected and rewarded by your review.
Much thanks and look forward to your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
2.3 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#9 of 161 in Udaipur
475 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 161 in Udaipur
1,056 reviews
2.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 161 in Udaipur
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#15 of 161 in Udaipur
562 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#37 of 161 in Udaipur
214 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#7 of 161 in Udaipur
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devra Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devra Udaipur

Property: Devra Udaipur
Address: Sisarma - Bujra Road | Kalarohi, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#11 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Devra Udaipur 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Devra Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devra Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Devra Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Devra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing