We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Devra: An Experience”
Review of Devra Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Devra Udaipur
Ranked #33 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2008

Devra is a nice, cozy little inn, situated at the top of a little hillock surrounded by fields and greenery, at the outskirts of Udaipur. It is a nice, secluded place, away from the hustle and bustle of the city, yet not so far away as to be out of the way. The location provides awesome views all around.

The room we had was on the top floor, just next to the open terrace. From there, in the evening, the lights of Udaipur were really great to see. There was also a nice verandah with chairs where we could sit and relax. We were alone there (the other room on top was unoccupied) and the privacy and peace were something I believe we would not have got at any other hotel in Udaipur.

The owners - Major Das and Jyoti Jasol, were very welcoming and cordial - the Major kept us entertained with stories about his inspiration to build Devra, how it was built, and the hardships they faced. They have a very very good eye for interior decoration, and the rooms, as well as the entire inn, are very tastefully decorated.

Breakfast is generally fruits, cornflakes, eggs and bread, along wih tea or coffee, and is served on the back verandah, overlooking fields as far as one can see. Lunch and dinner are typical Rajasthani food, prepared by the two staff in the kitchen, and served piping hot. Breakfast is complimentary, but lunch and dinner are charged.

The temple on the premises is an old structure, and the puja done there in the mornings by the local people (I forget if it was a daily or weekly ritual) is another thing which was unique to Devra. The Major and Jyoti both left us alone to explore around, and the two staff were always there on hand if we needed anything. Overall, it was a very relaxing, peaceful two days that w spent at Devra.

Devra is not cheap by traditional Indian standards, specially food and transport, but if you are willing to spend a little bit extra, the value for money is amazing. If 5 star hospitality is what you want, with massages, television, music, and the standard things you get at an expensive hotel, you will not find that here. However, if you like nature, want peace and tranquility, and want to be experience in typical Rajasthani culture, food and hospitality, you will love Devra.

We certainly did.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikhil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2008

Jyoti and Durga made our four night stay ones to remember. Rooms were excellent, with crisp white sheets and fluffy towels.
Durga enjoyed sharing his interest in bird watching and was happy to show us around the farm.
Jyoti was also on hand to offer hints on how best to spend our time in Udaipur.

Food was delicious and the setting perfect for watching sun set from the verandah. Really enjoyed walking in the countryside surrounding Devra.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank flymeLondn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2008

I was bit suprised that the hotel had such a high recommendation.

I thought the price was quite high for what you get. But Indian hotels are getting very expensive for nothing. In this way, it is possibley normal price in India.

The food was good, but I did not find it wonderful.

For me, it was an average hotel.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank churachura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2008

For our two-night stay in charming Udaipur I made reservations at the Devra inn, a cozy B&B surrounded by orchards and wheat fields and just ten minutes by taxi from the city centre.

It was an inspired choice and one that I would happily recommend to anyone visiting the Udaipur area who is looking for an alternative to the more conventional hotels you can find in the busy downtown.

Our two daughters and my husband and I occupied two good-sized rooms on the second floor of the main building. The rooms were connected by an airy living room outfitted with sofas and a coffee table strewn with photo books and magazines. The inn is perched atop a small hill and so from our living room we gazed out onto the surrounding countryside with its narrow lanes and stone walls. It was a great place to come back to and relax with a hot cup of tea after a long day of sightseeing.

Devra’s owners Mrs. Jyoti Jasol and Major Durga Das, have an eye for interior design and so everything in the inn is tasteful and prettily laid out. Both husband and wife descend from traditional Rajastan families with strong ties to the military going back to the time of the Raj. They were wonderful hosts who were clearly proud of their city and quite happy to share stories of the history and traditions of the region.

A breakfast of fruit, cereals and bread was served on a cool veranda behind the house. A fixed dinner of local specialties was served inside.

One morning we woke up before dawn and walked down a nearby lane to watch the local women make traditional offerings at a friendly Hindu temple. As we roamed nearby we were often stopped by the locals who were curious to learn where we were originally from and asked if we could take their pictures.

The Devra inn was definitely one of the highlights of our two-week India trip and I would consider it suitable for couples and families visiting the Udaipur area.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Gaby28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2008

We stayed at the Devra at the end of march 08, after having read all these elogious reviews, and I mist say, it was a big deception:
The positive are the beautiful surroundings with the indian rural life scenes, but the rooftop terrace, where you really can enjoy the scenery is not equipped, no seats for sitting down.
The rooms are nice, but no more, very hard,uncomfortable mattresses, the hardest in our 18 day trip, to what we were answered well we sleep on the floor, so what? The windows were dirty, sheets, towls and table cloth with doubtfull traces and rests, the food is family cooked but too much oriented for sensitive stomachs, without any taste, even without salt, I would have liked if I would have been asked, if I want spicy or not.
But overall Mrs Jiyoti must have had a bad day: unfriendly, arrogant: here is your bill, no good bye. The price was the double of what we payed in comparable places, food even triple. We choose only small hotels, with charme and ambiance, and I must say : a great, positive experience in all the other places. We were glad to leave...

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank claudia95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2008

Very friendly and welcoming hotel, set outside Udaipur in beautiful surroundings. Stunning views across the country side from the roof of the building. Excellent food!

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ianianlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2008

We wanted a tranquil spot to break our journey halfway through our trip in Rajastan....well, we found it! Only about 15 minutes out of the city but a whole world away, yet easily accessable by car or auto rickshaw. Set in the hills, with the vista of the city opening out to the east, the perfect place to sit at sunset and watch the full moon rise...your voice lost in the sound of silence....the silence broken only by the staff chattering. Breakfast can be taken on the lower terrace with a great view. Our hostess, Jyoti is the most wonderful cook. Major Das is a keen bird watcher. Unfortunately, he was away, so unable to identify the beautiful bird one of the staff members caught. (He let it go again safely) We had the two (of only four) rooms on the terrace floor, with terraces back and front with great views. The rooms were lovely, and the pillows were the best in India. There is a little temple at he side of the house, and we saw a very simple wedding take place there. There is a little village nearby and the five staff are all employed from there. The host and hostess are involved in supporting the village and it shows in the kind way they treat the very happy staff. Well done, and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FrancesG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#38 of 165 in Udaipur
223 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 165 in Udaipur
468 reviews
2.3 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#11 of 165 in Udaipur
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 165 in Udaipur
1,066 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#30 of 165 in Udaipur
244 reviews
3.3 mi away
Amantra Comfort Hotel
Amantra Comfort Hotel
#5 of 165 in Udaipur
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devra Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devra Udaipur

Address: Sisarma - Bujra Road | Kalarohi, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#11 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £64 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devra Udaipur 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Devra Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devra Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Devra Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Devra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing