We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and hospitality”
Review of Devra Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Devra Udaipur
Ranked #31 of 166 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2009

This small hotel has a fantastic view over the valley, lake and mountains. It all can be enjoyed from the garden and from several large terraces. The rooms are spacious and equipped with good furniture and air conditioning. Host and hostess are very helpful, humorous and heartfelt. They speak good English and have good ideas for outings.
The hotel has several cars and arranges transport for both long trips and small excursions to a fair price. Employees are also helpful and friendly.
We had spent the first night in Udaipur at the Taj Lake Palace, and found ourselves at least as well on Devrä. Dinner was even better.
Near the hotel there is a small village with school and a small business. Wander among monkeys, cows and many friendly greetings.
Lars Thorup - Denmark

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highdane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2009

Traveling in India can be very intense, so we loved to stay at tranquil places after sightseeing throughout the day.

Jyoti and the major greatly enriched our travel to Rajasthan. we learned a lot about history and culture of the region and also its cuisine.

What made it so special in our view, is the fact that the services provided are on the level of a five star hotel, while it is as personal as only a homestay can be.

We recommend to stay at Devra if you travel to Udaipur. Do think of allocating some time to explore also the surroundings of this place, the countryside, on a bird watching trip or at least on the way to Ranakpur if you continue to Jodhpur.

On a next travel to Rajasthan, we will definitely come back to Jyoti and the Major.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyclone-zh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

What a wonderful surprise to be taken to Devra for our last 2 nights in India. My wife and I were treated like royalty by Jyoti and Major as well as their staff who attended to us so politely. The home cooked meals were a culinary delight and we could hardly eat it all!!
It was beautiful to be in a quiet country setting so close to but without the city noise.
Yes, my wife Wynne helped weed the marigold garden and had a great time with the ladies working there. Also, from Devra is a short walk to the local village where we received a great welcome from the children and enjoyed a bit of fun cricket with them.
The whole place is beautifully maintained and clean and it is a pleasure to be there.
We hope we can visit again one day.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the2ofusWauchopeNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Wow, my parents stayed here for 2 nights and i had just requested Jyoti the owner of Devra to look after them as they were old. Wow is the word, my parents came back all smiles and said they have been looked after with utter warmth and care, besides this the place is surrounded by hills and provides a unique experience in Udaipur

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Shirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

A marvellous B&B style house run by two lovely people. The owners Jyoti and The Major were absolutely charming, nothing was too much trouble and their knowledge of the local area is immense. The Major spent some time telling us all about the local wildlife and gave a fascinating story of how Devra came into being.
All the staff were friendly and helpful and always smiling.
Jyoti and her kitchen staff produced some of the finest food we have ever eaten. It was by far the best food we ate in India.
Our room was a great size and was incredibly peaceful, no TV which was a blessing as when we retired to our room we could relax without the temptation of the "goggle box".
There are numerous lounges which are all accesible for guests and have plenty of reading material.
There are also two great terraces from which you can have a 360 degree view of the lush green countryside.
My wife and I had a marvellous relaxing time here during a hectic tour of Rajasthan, and we woiuld heartily recommend Devra as a place to relax and recoup your energy.

Thank you Jyoti and Major Durga

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbie1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Devra Udaipur is a charming owner managed B&B run by gracious hosts Jyoti and her husband (Major). The people who work there are relatives of the owners. Jyoti cooks breakfast and dinner herself and the food is both delicious and conscientously prepared. The house is located about a 15 minute drive from the city center. Don't forget to go up to the terrace and take in the magical sunsets and the wonderful view of the entire valley.

If you are expecting a TV in your room and other trappings of a "chain hotel" this place isn't for you. Instead, what you will find at Devra are large spacious rooms with attendant clean comfortable bathrooms with hot water, large common rooms and charming porches. If you are looking for a safe, spacious, extremely clean, well managed B&B style lodging that is very tastefully furnished, I wouldn't look further.

Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC_Wanderer_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

MIND BLOWING ! AWESOME ! Excellent Romantic Gateway !
You have to be there to believe it !!!
I have been to many places around the world but experience at Devra stands apart.
I can't remember where I got such an excellent host (Jyoti and Major), such a good attendant (Virender) and our guide cum driver Kallu and their dog Oscar.
All the these people made our Honeymoon so special.
And the food. You must have food here to taste the authentic Rajasthani flavor. All foods are cooked under strict supervision of Jyoti. And it is far better than any 5-Star joint.
I am going back there as soon as possible just to rejuvenate. What a place to be in !
Oh, you must ride with Kallu once. Such a lovely and enjoyable fellow.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SinmoyByCosmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
2.4 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#25 of 166 in Udaipur
253 reviews
3.3 mi away
Amantra Comfort Hotel
Amantra Comfort Hotel
#5 of 166 in Udaipur
925 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Udai Bagh
The Udai Bagh
#46 of 166 in Udaipur
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 166 in Udaipur
1,086 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#34 of 166 in Udaipur
227 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#19 of 166 in Udaipur
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devra Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devra Udaipur

Address: Sisarma - Bujra Road | Kalarohi, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#11 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £50 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devra Udaipur 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Devra Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devra Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Devra Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Devra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing