We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt Like Home”
Review of Devra Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Devra Udaipur
Ranked #32 of 177 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2009

We had done our homework when we selected Devra as our accomodation choice, but we were not prepared for such hospitality. Even though we were there for such a short while, Mr. Das and his wife made sure we were comfortable. From giving sight seeing tips to eating options, the suggestions were really good. At one point when we wanted to have dinner at Shiv Niwas Palace ( one needs prior reservation incase you are not a guest there) we were not able to book a table in advance and just a small mention of the same to Mr. Das, resulted in us having a meal there! The other staff at Devra is also friendly and courteous but the show was stolen by their two dogs, Rupert and Oscar. They are the cutest pair of dogs we have ever seen and extremely friendly.
About the place: The rooms are very big, and the entire house is tastefully done up with big sit out areas, balconies and terraces all around the rooms. It is away from the city bustle and gives a great view of the City Palace. If you want a comfortable homely environment, this is it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sampoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2009

A holiday to India’s one of the most famous tourist destinations, Udaipur with family members was something I was really looking forward to. We had a lot of reservations as to where we wanted to stay as we had a young kid and an expecting mother in the group. In our minds we had visualised a place which was away from the hustle bustle of the main city but still was in the close proximity, would be able to serve home like food (Remember the expecting mother in the group!), would give us balmy surroundings for the rejuvenation of our enervated souls, would not be crowded like a hotel and at the same time would slide in our budget. So after hours of internet searching and rejecting hordes of hotels, we finally hit the jackpot with Devra Homestays.

Devra, a puritan style house built on the outskirts of the city offers picturesque views of the hills and the beautiful environment. Devra literally translates to ‘where God resides’ and it will not be wrong to say that guests here are not treated any less than Gods. The Indian aphorism, ‘Atithi-devo-bhav’ (guest is like God) is well taken into account. The plush house is spread over vast area of land and has the choicest interiors. The rooms are spacious with attached bathrooms. The open areas and the terrace not only offer great views but also serve as perfect relaxation zones where one can read a book, enjoy the environment and even get into a philosophical mode.

The staff deserves a special mention here. They treat the guests with utmost politeness and are always on their toes to serve them. The food prepared was also truly lip smacking. Moreover, the hosts, Major Durga and his wife are an extremely pleasant couple. Both of them are very enterprising. Devra is a beautiful place to stay and one can surely visit it again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shikhatandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

This small hotel has a fantastic view over the valley, lake and mountains. It all can be enjoyed from the garden and from several large terraces. The rooms are spacious and equipped with good furniture and air conditioning. Host and hostess are very helpful, humorous and heartfelt. They speak good English and have good ideas for outings.
The hotel has several cars and arranges transport for both long trips and small excursions to a fair price. Employees are also helpful and friendly.
We had spent the first night in Udaipur at the Taj Lake Palace, and found ourselves at least as well on Devrä. Dinner was even better.
Near the hotel there is a small village with school and a small business. Wander among monkeys, cows and many friendly greetings.
Lars Thorup - Denmark

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highdane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Traveling in India can be very intense, so we loved to stay at tranquil places after sightseeing throughout the day.

Jyoti and the major greatly enriched our travel to Rajasthan. we learned a lot about history and culture of the region and also its cuisine.

What made it so special in our view, is the fact that the services provided are on the level of a five star hotel, while it is as personal as only a homestay can be.

We recommend to stay at Devra if you travel to Udaipur. Do think of allocating some time to explore also the surroundings of this place, the countryside, on a bird watching trip or at least on the way to Ranakpur if you continue to Jodhpur.

On a next travel to Rajasthan, we will definitely come back to Jyoti and the Major.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyclone-zh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

What a wonderful surprise to be taken to Devra for our last 2 nights in India. My wife and I were treated like royalty by Jyoti and Major as well as their staff who attended to us so politely. The home cooked meals were a culinary delight and we could hardly eat it all!!
It was beautiful to be in a quiet country setting so close to but without the city noise.
Yes, my wife Wynne helped weed the marigold garden and had a great time with the ladies working there. Also, from Devra is a short walk to the local village where we received a great welcome from the children and enjoyed a bit of fun cricket with them.
The whole place is beautifully maintained and clean and it is a pleasure to be there.
We hope we can visit again one day.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the2ofusWauchopeNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Wow, my parents stayed here for 2 nights and i had just requested Jyoti the owner of Devra to look after them as they were old. Wow is the word, my parents came back all smiles and said they have been looked after with utter warmth and care, besides this the place is surrounded by hills and provides a unique experience in Udaipur

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Shirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

A marvellous B&B style house run by two lovely people. The owners Jyoti and The Major were absolutely charming, nothing was too much trouble and their knowledge of the local area is immense. The Major spent some time telling us all about the local wildlife and gave a fascinating story of how Devra came into being.
All the staff were friendly and helpful and always smiling.
Jyoti and her kitchen staff produced some of the finest food we have ever eaten. It was by far the best food we ate in India.
Our room was a great size and was incredibly peaceful, no TV which was a blessing as when we retired to our room we could relax without the temptation of the "goggle box".
There are numerous lounges which are all accesible for guests and have plenty of reading material.
There are also two great terraces from which you can have a 360 degree view of the lush green countryside.
My wife and I had a marvellous relaxing time here during a hectic tour of Rajasthan, and we woiuld heartily recommend Devra as a place to relax and recoup your energy.

Thank you Jyoti and Major Durga

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbie1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
2 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#38 of 177 in Udaipur
241 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#11 of 177 in Udaipur
520 reviews
2.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#9 of 177 in Udaipur
2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#26 of 177 in Udaipur
272 reviews
3.3 mi away
Amantra Comfort Hotel
Amantra Comfort Hotel
#6 of 177 in Udaipur
997 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Udai Bagh
The Udai Bagh
#41 of 177 in Udaipur
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devra Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devra Udaipur

Address: Sisarma - Bujra Road | Kalarohi, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#11 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £54 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devra Udaipur 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Devra Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devra Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Devra Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Devra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing