We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful haven in Udaipur”
Review of Devra Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Devra Udaipur
Ranked #31 of 166 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We visited the Devra Udaipur at the end of a two and a half week tour of India. The hotel is situated a couple of miles outside Udaipur and after the bustle of the town it was wonderful to get out to the countryside. The hotel is small - there are only nine bedrooms which makes for a very different experience from the large somewhat impersonal estabishments we had stayed in elsewhere. Jyoti and the Major are excellent hosts; guests are encouraged to chat to each and you have the opportunity to sample excellent home cooking, The Devra is situated on a small hill giving fantastic panoramic views. From the terrace you can watch as worshipers make their way across the fields to the local temple or try your hand at identifying the local birdlife. In short an excellent way to end our holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue_mcdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2011

We stayed at Devra for 3 rooms. The location is beautiful and very relaxing. We had great services and big clean rooms. We enjoyed and learned indian spices and food philosophy during a cooking class conducted by the owner who happens to be a vvery good cook. Dinner at night is delicious. I would highly rate this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 777happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We were so happy to have choosen this resort.
Beautifull rooms, some with a nice vieuw, excellent personalised service.
The continental breakfast outside and due to the cold weather supper inside.
Space to read and dream.
Maj.Dax and his wife Jyoti take time to help you.
We will go back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w-traveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We loved this homestay in the green hills outside Udaipur. Devra is simple, charming, comfortable, quiet and unpretentious. Major Durga Das is the perfect host and nothing is too much trouble. We ate at Devra on both nights of our stay and Jyoti's organic food is delicious. Don't forget to say hello to Oscar the dachshund!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World_Shopper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Devra Udaipur is situated in a lovely spot outside Udaipur. Quiet, relaxing beautiful understated decor and good home cooked food, however, a couple of things weren't great. We stayed here for two nights at the end of December. It was cold and inside the bedrooms we felt as though we were in Siberia. There rooms weren't heated and there were no heaters available. Extra blankets were, but not sufficient to thaw and feel comfortable, therefore, affecting the quality of our sleep. The geysers are very small and the first morning my husband had a hot shower, but mine was luke-warm. My sisters, sharing another room has no hot water on the first day. We had read about Jyoti's marvellous cookery course, so signed up for it the following evening. Jyoti did mention the price upfront - INR 5,000 per couple - as she didn't like to surprise her guests, but that it would be an eight course affair and take four hours. We agreed. This, in our opinion, was a complete rip-off. We began at about 18h30 with an introductory talk about Indian food with examples of various ingredients. This was followed by a demonstration in the kitchen, where we watched three of the courses being made. Jyoti seemed constantly distracted and didn't seem to put much into our demonstation. We were seated by 19h30 and had finished our meal by 20h30. This didn't meet our expectations and led to great disappointment based on what were paying. The food was really good, but the price was outrageous and had a negative influence on our whole experience of Devra Udaiper.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WingfieldJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Not only is Devra in a beautiful setting a few miles outside Udaipur, giving you a peaceful rural haven outside of India's hectic cities, it has spotless, spacious and tastefully furnished rooms and excellent bathrooms, while the food is top class and lots of outside space to enjoy the spectacular views across the fields to the mountains and to the city. Breakfast on the terrace was a delight. The staff are courteous and helpful and always on hand if required . The owners Maj and Jyoti Durgas Das are not only absolutely charming hosts but truly went above and beyond the expected looking after my travelling companion who sadly was unwell when we arrived. They immediately arranged for her to see not only a medical doctor but also a renowned faith healer, transporting us in their private car with personal driver. They could not have been more helpful and caring and have our enduring gratitude. Devra is truly a place of the gods and i thoroughly recommend if you are visitng Udaipur and are looking for a little beauty, peace and tranquility with wonderful service that is not too far from the city for sightseeing. Thank you again Maj and Jyoti for your kindness to us both which I will always remember.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deeceeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Cozy, out of town B&B. Not luxurious, but pleasant and country comfortable in quiet rural surroundings. Large rooms with comfortable beds and good, hot showers. Owners are charming, easily available, and anxious to please their guests. The food is fine and well served. Internet accessibily is limited and slow. Owners have plans for a swimming pool.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeleeSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
2.4 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#25 of 166 in Udaipur
253 reviews
3.3 mi away
Amantra Comfort Hotel
Amantra Comfort Hotel
#5 of 166 in Udaipur
925 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Udai Bagh
The Udai Bagh
#46 of 166 in Udaipur
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 166 in Udaipur
1,086 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#34 of 166 in Udaipur
227 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#19 of 166 in Udaipur
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devra Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devra Udaipur

Address: Sisarma - Bujra Road | Kalarohi, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#11 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £50 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devra Udaipur 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Devra Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devra Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Devra Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Devra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing