We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Udaipur”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mewar Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mewar Haveli
Ranked #26 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Udaipur”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We had this hotel booked for us as part of our trip. And I'm so glad we did. The hotel is beautiful and if you can get a table outside on the rooftop terrace for breakfast it has the best views of Udaipur.
To be honest I don't have a bad word to say because I fell in love with Udaipur.
We had a prompt check in and found the rooms to be clean and of a fair size.
When we did have to depart around 5am they had a breakfast packed for us which was a very nice thing to do. I also liked the fact that with tipping they asked us to not tip individually but at the end of the stay to put your tip in the box so it could be divided equally between the staff. A nice touch.

Good free wifi too, would happily stay here again.

Vicky and Denise

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trix1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    323
    81
    34
    13
See reviews for
204
334
50
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

The room I was in had a few minor problems (which were mainly fixed when I advised them), but it was clean. The bathroom was the strangest thing I have ever seen. You walk into the bathroom, shut the door, pull the shower curtain across the door you have just come in and then pull another shower curtain across on the other side. This then protects the toilet and basin. Problem is that if you walk into the bathroom a bit later, you have to be careful not to slip on the wet floor.
The linen is very tired and should be replaced, the fan could not be left on because it was too noisy, however the aircon worked.
Those things aside, the place was clean and friendly. As a solo traveller, clean and friendly is my choice above 5* . They were more than happy to chat and advise on various places of interest etc.
The location was excellent for wandering around Udaipur.
They also offer a cooking class with Mrs Asha. It was a hands on class cooking the dishes we already said we liked plus others. The class concludes with a banquet for the class members, their families and Mrs Asha and her husband (Manager of the hotel). It was great just to experience how easy cooking curries can be. I enjoyed the class and especially the food after :)
The rooftop restaurant had great views and the dishes I had were really tasty.
Would I recommend the Mewar Haveli - YES. If you want 5*, go elsewhere, but if you want clean and friendly and a chance to join in a great cooking class, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: I think my room was 101. Great for the basics only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We(me, my husband and our 2yr old son) stayed udaipur for 2 nights and luckily we choose Mewar haveli for our stay. Room is just fantastic and clean. we loved roof top restru from their pichola lake looks amazing, and the food is simply awesome!
We will surely stay next time

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevyaniPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We enjoy taking a cooking class when we travel, and our lesson with Asha was by far the most outstanding ever! Her demonstrations were incredibly thorough, and included some 11 different, delicious dishes, starting with Masala tea, then Pakora appetizers, numerous main dishes and dessert. Asha encouraged us to participate in the preparation of each dish, which took place in the professional, rooftop kitchen of the lovely family owned Mewar Haweli Hotel. While Asha's English is very good, the restaurant manager was also on hand to add additional helpful tips. We ended our class with Asha several hours later with an incredible luncheon spread on the hotel's spectacular rooftop terrace overlooking Lake Pichola.

Of note: My husband joined us for lunch and happened to mention that rice pudding was his favorite dessert. Asha and her husband Harish, enthusiastically invited us back the following evening to try the Indian version of rice pudding. I thought rice pudding was already on the menu and we would simply order it. But instead, Asha had made it specially for my husband at their home, and sent it to the hotel with Harish. My husband was incredibly pleased and touched by their kind gesture.

Lastly, when my family was together again over Christmas, we made several of the dishes that Asha had taught us. What delicious memories of India! So don't forget to bring spices home from India! (Harish & Asha can assemble what you need, if you'd like.)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Nice hotel, having good decor and must say quite clean in terms of white wash n everything. Cooperative staff, food is not that nice, had more expectations. Nice location, roof top view is also nice..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Jeevika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed in one of the best rooms - the corner room on the 3rd floor, featuring a solid view of the lake. I think that was room 302.
The room was small but cozy.

Unfortunately, for Wifi internet access you have to go down to the front desk area. I wish they had access in the actual rooms.

We stayed away from eating there since there seemed to be better options in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyMcVideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I visited Mewar Haweli in Aug 2013.I did advance booking of rooms by transferring the 50%amount.
1.Rooms are clean but are too small,the photographs of the room shown on the websites are deceptive.
2.On their site they had mentioned that they provide room service,but when asked for room service they denied and finally they agreed to provide room service and charged us 15% extra for room service.
3.The person who manages the restaurants in night is so rude and misbehaving and the way he behaves as he is the owner of the hotel.
4.The restaurant does not provide non-veg food, but if you ask they will provide from a nearby restaurant and they charge vat on the bill provided by that restaurant, means you have to pay vat twice.
5.Overall the hotel is not so good as hyped, you may try hotel on the other side of the pichola lake they seemed quite nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ankursingh2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#40 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nayee Haveli
Hotel Nayee Haveli
#42 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
#47 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mewar Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mewar Haveli

Property: Mewar Haveli
Address: 34-35 Lal Ghat | Behind Jagdish Temple, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
#14 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Mewar Haveli 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Mewar haveli "A Traditional Hotel" welcomes you to Udaipur. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Mewar Haveli is a 12 Room family-run small hotel.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible by Elivator (lift) and by stair.All rooms in the hotel are aircondition rooms and offer basic amenities.The hotel is not selling the rooms as a lake view or lake faceing.The hotel have more less all rooms have a standerd size (110 sq.Ft).Our suggestion higher floor rooms need to reserve 2 to 3 months in advance Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms as we do not make any such claims or promises. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, LCD's and attached bathrooms with 24 hours hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,bazaars,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake.The hotel does not have Parking. A government run safe Parking is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel near city palace and jagdish temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mewar Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mewar Haveli Udaipur
Mewar Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing