We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in lakeside Udaipur”
Review of Mewar Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mewar Haveli
Ranked #26 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Berkhamsted
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in lakeside Udaipur”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We spent 6 nights at Merwar Haveli, a comfortable, friendly and excellent location. We had a room which looked down the lake and as was all the hotel beautifully decorated with wall and ceiling paintings. The lift goes up to roof top restaurant with superb views and an excellent menue well prepared and served. All the staff are both very friendly and efficient, the rooms clean with daily fresh towels and bed linen. We were sorry to leave and would certainly return again. It was very good value and it would be difficult to find better hotel at this price and location.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    325
    82
    34
    13
See reviews for
205
335
52
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Hotel is located in the good old area. The roof top restaurant is good and the views are amazing.

However the rooms are small, after you keep your luggage there is hardly any room to move around. We stayed one night in superior and second night in Deluxe room. Except the view, there is not much difference in the room size of Superior versus Deluxe room. You can still enjoy the view from the rooftop restaurant, so not necessary to opt for deluxe room. The superior room had a balcony sitout whereas the Deluxe room did not?? After staying in both these rooms, I prefered the Superior room. Street view of Superior room wasnt bad either.

Full points to the roof top restaurant. Good food, Prompt service and great views.

Room Tip: Except the view, there is not much difference in room size of the Superior versus the Deluxe room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simi_p30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

An excellent stay option, well within budget and with loads of amenities and luxury!Lake facing rooms were just awsum to be!
.....homely service...customized food menu and nice hospitality!...

cheers to Kamal and Harsh!
Would highly recommend it

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sukanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
319 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Located just in the middle of the tourist area, the lake and most attractions are in easy walking distance. The staff is very welcoming, especially the owner provides top service and makes every effort to assist. The food in the rooftop was good and the balcony seating is just the right spot to relax. The room was well maintained and pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ushi-Guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We had this hotel booked for us as part of our trip. And I'm so glad we did. The hotel is beautiful and if you can get a table outside on the rooftop terrace for breakfast it has the best views of Udaipur.
To be honest I don't have a bad word to say because I fell in love with Udaipur.
We had a prompt check in and found the rooms to be clean and of a fair size.
When we did have to depart around 5am they had a breakfast packed for us which was a very nice thing to do. I also liked the fact that with tipping they asked us to not tip individually but at the end of the stay to put your tip in the box so it could be divided equally between the staff. A nice touch.

Good free wifi too, would happily stay here again.

Vicky and Denise

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trix1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The room I was in had a few minor problems (which were mainly fixed when I advised them), but it was clean. The bathroom was the strangest thing I have ever seen. You walk into the bathroom, shut the door, pull the shower curtain across the door you have just come in and then pull another shower curtain across on the other side. This then protects the toilet and basin. Problem is that if you walk into the bathroom a bit later, you have to be careful not to slip on the wet floor.
The linen is very tired and should be replaced, the fan could not be left on because it was too noisy, however the aircon worked.
Those things aside, the place was clean and friendly. As a solo traveller, clean and friendly is my choice above 5* . They were more than happy to chat and advise on various places of interest etc.
The location was excellent for wandering around Udaipur.
They also offer a cooking class with Mrs Asha. It was a hands on class cooking the dishes we already said we liked plus others. The class concludes with a banquet for the class members, their families and Mrs Asha and her husband (Manager of the hotel). It was great just to experience how easy cooking curries can be. I enjoyed the class and especially the food after :)
The rooftop restaurant had great views and the dishes I had were really tasty.
Would I recommend the Mewar Haveli - YES. If you want 5*, go elsewhere, but if you want clean and friendly and a chance to join in a great cooking class, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: I think my room was 101. Great for the basics only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We(me, my husband and our 2yr old son) stayed udaipur for 2 nights and luckily we choose Mewar haveli for our stay. Room is just fantastic and clean. we loved roof top restru from their pichola lake looks amazing, and the food is simply awesome!
We will surely stay next time

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevyaniPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#12 of 156 in Udaipur
559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 156 in Udaipur
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 156 in Udaipur
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#41 of 156 in Udaipur
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#15 of 156 in Udaipur
695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#102 of 156 in Udaipur
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mewar Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mewar Haveli

Property: Mewar Haveli
Address: 34-35 Lal Ghat | Behind Jagdish Temple, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
#14 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Mewar Haveli 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Mewar haveli "A Traditional Hotel" welcomes you to Udaipur. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Mewar Haveli is a 12 Room family-run small hotel.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible by Elivator (lift) and by stair.All rooms in the hotel are aircondition rooms and offer basic amenities.The hotel is not selling the rooms as a lake view or lake faceing.The hotel have more less all rooms have a standerd size (110 sq.Ft).Our suggestion higher floor rooms need to reserve 2 to 3 months in advance Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms as we do not make any such claims or promises. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, LCD's and attached bathrooms with 24 hours hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,bazaars,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake.The hotel does not have Parking. A government run safe Parking is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel near city palace and jagdish temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mewar Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mewar Haveli Udaipur
Mewar Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing