We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience at Mewar Haveli”
Review of Mewar Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mewar Haveli
Ranked #26 of 153 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great experience at Mewar Haveli”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

When in Udaipur, it is advisable to pick a place close to Lake Pichola. This is because, Lake Pichola is the most atmospheric locality in Udaipur. Also, all attractions are right around this place. Based on these considerations, I chose Mewar Haveli for stay with my wife in Udaipur.

This hotel was a surprise package in our whole tour. It is a small, but clean hotel very close to Lake Pichola. The roof-top restaurant offers some nice views over the lake.

We had some yummy breakfast as we came early to the hotel. The checkin was at 10am. But, we had a good time enjoying the views from the restaurant till our room was available.

Mr.Harish, the owner of the place is a friendly and hospitable person. He gave us directions for the local attractions and arranged for sight seeing too. We felt warm and welcome due to his commitment in keeping the guests happy.

There is a lift to go up - and this was particularly useful as the rooftop restaurant was on the 4th floor. I had booked a deluxe room which was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was also clean and adequate. There was a small tv in the room which was suriprising considering that other places around this hotel do not have a tv in the room.

The restaurant keeper had to be told every time to get water and to add the bill to our room. This was a bit annoying. I guess keeping a tab on the guests' bills is the only area in which the hotel should improve.

The city palace, the boat ride, Bagore Haveli, the Jaganath temple are all withing a stone-throw distance away. Add to it the pleasant hotel and the helpful staff - I felt this hotel was value-for-money in all aspects.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d4dpak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    325
    82
    34
    13
See reviews for
205
335
52
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Brilliant and place to stay in Udaipur on Lake Pichola. It gives a fantastic location of the lake and the whole of Udaipur can be seen.
The hotel has a glorious Open Restaurant.
In evening when The Taj Palace gets lighted all over the lake there are strings of lights beneath the Aravalli it looks as if a dream.
Add with it the cold the smell of the river and a great food that the Hotels are ready to give.

Room Tip: Royal Deluxe Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subhamaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beziers, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

A well run friendly budget hotel. Clean and friendly wonderful view of the lake from our room. Friendly staff for who nothing is too much trouble. Enjoyable cooking course from owners wife and then you eat what you have prepared for the same price as a meal in the rooftop restaurant with more great views over the lake. On my list of return agains!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a deluxe lakeview room - otherwise why are you in Udaipur!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mg_3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We spent 6 nights at Merwar Haveli, a comfortable, friendly and excellent location. We had a room which looked down the lake and as was all the hotel beautifully decorated with wall and ceiling paintings. The lift goes up to roof top restaurant with superb views and an excellent menue well prepared and served. All the staff are both very friendly and efficient, the rooms clean with daily fresh towels and bed linen. We were sorry to leave and would certainly return again. It was very good value and it would be difficult to find better hotel at this price and location.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Hotel is located in the good old area. The roof top restaurant is good and the views are amazing.

However the rooms are small, after you keep your luggage there is hardly any room to move around. We stayed one night in superior and second night in Deluxe room. Except the view, there is not much difference in the room size of Superior versus Deluxe room. You can still enjoy the view from the rooftop restaurant, so not necessary to opt for deluxe room. The superior room had a balcony sitout whereas the Deluxe room did not?? After staying in both these rooms, I prefered the Superior room. Street view of Superior room wasnt bad either.

Full points to the roof top restaurant. Good food, Prompt service and great views.

Room Tip: Except the view, there is not much difference in room size of the Superior versus the Deluxe room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simi_p30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

An excellent stay option, well within budget and with loads of amenities and luxury!Lake facing rooms were just awsum to be!
.....homely service...customized food menu and nice hospitality!...

cheers to Kamal and Harsh!
Would highly recommend it

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sukanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
319 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Located just in the middle of the tourist area, the lake and most attractions are in easy walking distance. The staff is very welcoming, especially the owner provides top service and makes every effort to assist. The food in the rooftop was good and the balcony seating is just the right spot to relax. The room was well maintained and pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ushi-Guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#43 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
#48 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#28 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mewar Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mewar Haveli

Property: Mewar Haveli
Address: 34-35 Lal Ghat | Behind Jagdish Temple, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
#14 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Mewar Haveli 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Mewar haveli "A Traditional Hotel" welcomes you to Udaipur. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Mewar Haveli is a 12 Room family-run small hotel.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible by Elivator (lift) and by stair.All rooms in the hotel are aircondition rooms and offer basic amenities.The hotel is not selling the rooms as a lake view or lake faceing.The hotel have more less all rooms have a standerd size (110 sq.Ft).Our suggestion higher floor rooms need to reserve 2 to 3 months in advance Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms as we do not make any such claims or promises. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, LCD's and attached bathrooms with 24 hours hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,bazaars,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake.The hotel does not have Parking. A government run safe Parking is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel near city palace and jagdish temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mewar Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mewar Haveli Udaipur
Mewar Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing