We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms could have been bigger”
Review of Mewar Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mewar Haveli
Ranked #27 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Rooms could have been bigger”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Mewar haveli has lake facing rooms as do most of the lodges in udaipur. We were given a lake facing room and it had a great view of lake pichola. As we had opted for a deluxe room was expecting the room to be big but was disappointed to find a small room. The rooms are clean and we'll maintained. Apart from the room size it is a good hotel with a restaurant. The restaurant served good food although a little expensive. The ambience is good. They even offer candle light dinner on the roof top apart from the restaurant on the top floor. Overall a good experience.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank akshata10287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHAVELI, Owner at Mewar Haveli, responded to this review, 25 June 2016
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Mewar Haveli, Udaipur !!!

Thank you for sharing your experience .
The hotel is designed by keeping in mind the old heritage culture of the building ( like old Havelis unlike the mansions in modern era ( Thus we have mentioned in advance the size of the rooms in information ( average size and size ). 

Kindly give us an opportunity to "make amends" and re-establish credibility with you
Assuring you of our best attention at all times.


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    325
    82
    34
    13
See reviews for
205
336
52
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We had a great room with a view of the winding street.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Clean sheets and towels. Bathrooms were clean.
Hotel restaurant boosts a fantastic view of the lake.
Food was fantastic! We stayed for 3 days and ate quite a few meals here.
Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all delicious. Good menu.
Laundry service is offered and we used it and were very pleased.
Had fun taking cooking class at this hotel and also did a yoga class on the rooftop. Enjoyed both tremendously!
Loved Udaipur because there is so much to see and the lake makes it so appealing.
Shopping through the winding streets was tons of fun. Had clothes made at a tailor just around the corner and items were completed in 24 hours.
Short walk to tour the palace /fort.
And boat rides on the lake are available from the fort dock.
I would def stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Annette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Spent 2 nights there with 2 friends. The hotel is clean and quiet. Had we known the room was going to be that small, we would have opted for a slightly bigger one to accomodate the 3 of us but for 2 people it was fine and with 3 we were ok but a little snug with the extra cot. We had an incredible view of the lake and the sound of the morning prayer call spilling out across the lake made it feel so magical! The staff in the hotel was friendly and the food in the restaurant was quite yummy and definitely inexpensive!
The neighborhood is wonderful to walk around in and the hotel a walking distance to the Palace and to the Jagdish Temple. Shops were open late also!

Room Tip: Did not see the other rooms but definitely ask for a room with a full view on the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polskizMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here, food is ok but lake view from restaurant and terrace is awesome.
In the early mornings u can see monkeys climbing on the rooftops and night view of jag mandir from hotel is awesome
Overall the staff was ok so were the rooms .

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shikha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My wife an me stayed for two nights in the Mewar Haveli. The staff was very friendly and very heedful. The hotel is located in a very nice surroundings. There is a lot of to see.

We also booked a cooking class at the 09.04.2014 with Mrs. Asha. It was the birthday of my wife. It was a great and wunderful experience for us. Mrs. Asha (and her husband, the owner of the hotel) is a incredible nice and friendly person. The cooking class was a unforgetable experience. After the class the staff of the hotel had surprised my wife with a wunderful and tasty cake. It was like a birthdayparty in our homecountry. We enjoyed our stay very, very much.
We will surely come back to this nice location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackwaveboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Clean and spacious rooms for very cheap!
Food is suprisingly very good and staff is extremely nice and helpful. Very nice rooftop.

No commission on bus tickets.

Would definetly go back!

Special thanks to the manager!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

2 or 3 stars for the hotel, but 4 for the view and location. My husband and I were fortunate to have a room with a view of the lake, and the view from the restaurant and rooftop terrace were great too. My friend did not get a view which made her room seem a bit gloomy. The rooms were clean, had TV and air con, but no fridge or safe. The bathroom was small but worked okay.

Didn't eat much at the hotel, but breakfast was adequate, and the gin and tonics of an evening were much appreciated (WITH mineral water ice cubes...an icy cold drink...yes!!). The internet didn't work during the 3 days we stayed.

The location is very central, so easy to get to the lake, the palace, temple, shops and the traditional dance performance.

We booked a massage through the hotel after having a disastrous one a few doors away (unprofessional, no technique and grubby surroundings). A tuk tuk came and picked us up and took us to an even dirtier place - I wondered what diseases I might be contracting whilst lying on the table and being wiped down with a filthy towel. The technique of my husband's and my masseuses was slightly better than the previous place, but still poor (compared to those we get regularly when we travel to South East Asian countries). Both massages were more expensive than SE Asia. My friend had the Shirodara treatment (should be warm oil trickled on the forehead), but the oil was cold and smelt rancid. So, I would be wary of having any massages in Udaipur.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lautrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#13 of 157 in Udaipur
562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 157 in Udaipur
467 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#44 of 157 in Udaipur
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 157 in Udaipur
2,274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#9 of 157 in Udaipur
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 157 in Udaipur
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mewar Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mewar Haveli

Property: Mewar Haveli
Address: 34-35 Lal Ghat | Behind Jagdish Temple, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
#14 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Mewar Haveli 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Mewar haveli "A Traditional Hotel" welcomes you to Udaipur. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Mewar Haveli is a 12 Room family-run small hotel.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible by Elivator (lift) and by stair.All rooms in the hotel are aircondition rooms and offer basic amenities.The hotel is not selling the rooms as a lake view or lake faceing.The hotel have more less all rooms have a standerd size (110 sq.Ft).Our suggestion higher floor rooms need to reserve 2 to 3 months in advance Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms as we do not make any such claims or promises. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, LCD's and attached bathrooms with 24 hours hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,bazaars,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake.The hotel does not have Parking. A government run safe Parking is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel near city palace and jagdish temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mewar Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mewar Haveli Udaipur
Mewar Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing