We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average place - highly overrated”
Review of Mewar Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mewar Haveli
Ranked #30 of 177 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2008

We stayed at Mewar Haveli during Aug 2008. I booked this place after reading all the rave rvu's on tripadvisor "WHAT A MISTAKE IT WAS STAYING AT THIS PLACE", Pls do not book this place if you are driving down to Udaipur in your own car, like we did. Firstly the access to the place is really difficult, a winding steep lane in the old city that most of the times is blocked with traffic leads to the hotel. it is surprising if your car reaches there without a scratch. Second thing the hotel does not have any parking facility. We found a small space outside to park our car. The next morning we found that one of their staff had parked his scooter so near to our car that it had fallen off and dented the rear bumper. They do not have any security outside. The hotel is very small and space has been utilized to the maximum. The rooms are really very small, although the place is well maintained and clean. The roof top restaurant offers good views of the lake palace, the lake which is dry most of the year. The food served is very ordinary and tasteless. You will find lot of lizards above your head on the ceiling at night in the restaurant. This can b really disturbing while u r having dinner. The hotel does not have a bar, so forget the idea of relaxing with a beer. The rroms are averagely price ( we paid 1,300 INR) As the hotel is in the old city, which is filthy and u will not find any other place around to explore for good food. Although we had our car, but the traffic on the steep road promplted us to keep it parked. Most of the guests who stay here are foreigners, may be they are attracted to the old world charm. As Udaipur is a weekend getaway for people from Gujarat, my advice is to book into some good resorts in the city and avoid this place. By doing this u can relax, enjoy and move around. Pls do not get carried away by the rvu's of this hotel on the site.. don't make the mistake what i did, if u are driving in your own car avoid this place. There r far good hotels in the new city.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank boomrang77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHAVELI, Owner at Mewar Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Mewar Haveli, Udaipur !!!

Thank you for sharing your experience as back in date the hotel was run by other staff and authority we agree you must have faced the issues. Now things are under different supervision and i personally take care of things as an owner
Kindly give us an opportunity to "make amends" and re-establish credibility with you as it was the 3rd party mistake.

Assuring you of our best attention at all times.


Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2008

I booked the Mewar Haveli on the basis of the Trip Advisor Reviews. I'm glad I did. The hotel is in a very touristy bit of Udaipur overlooking the Lake and is very convenient for all the main sights. The rooms are on the small size but it is very clean. So clean that I could put my luggage under the bed - something I could not do in most Indian hotels of any class. The staff are incredibly friendly and the manager is very helpful. Unlike most hotels in the city it has a lift. The restaurant is good but not brilliant - there is a lack of choice of Indian foods at breakfast but the waiters are wonderful. When we asked for 'no salt' we got no salt.
A few drawbacks - the towels are very small and thin, but are changed daily; the hot water is intermittent and we were often kept awake at night by howling dogs in the street outside.
But overall if you want a modest hotel with 5 star service go for this one

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2008

We steayed at Mewar Haveli for a couple of nights in october after spending one night on our first pick, Jagat Niwas. Jagat NIwas sure is a great place, with a lovely courtyard and great (but expensive!) restaurant. The rooms at Mewar Haweli are just as good, and the service far better. And you only pay half the price!

Of course, the rooms are a bit small and the view isn't the best if you don't get a room with lake view. But if you look for a really clean and nice room and excellent service, this should be the first choice in Udaipur!

And this hotels manage to do what even luxury hotels like Jagat Niwas fail in India: Cosy lightening.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sundbom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2008

We went to Udaipur by car from Ahmedabad (4 hours drive). The hotel is located near the City Palace and the Pichola lake. The approach to these places is horrible. Narrow congested lanes, choked with vehicles going in all directions. We had a tough time reaching the hotel. On top of all, we discovered that the hotel did not have a parking facility. But the moment we entered the hotel, we found that the staff was courteous and very helpful. They arranged parking of our car in a nearby parking space. The room was very small. It reminded us of a dialogue from the movie - Munnabhai MBBS - where Arshad Warsi says - "Bhai, yeh kamra to shuru hote hi khatam ho gaya !!". But the room and the whole hotel is quite neat and clean. The whole property is nicely decorated with the traditional theme. The walls and the ceilings were nicely painted.

The USP of this hotel is its location. Centrally located in the city with the City Palace, the Lake Pichola and other tourist attractions at convenient walking distances, the view from the terrace and the restaurant are amazing. One can have a clear view of the famous Lake Palace from the restaurant.

The food was not great, but was not bad. This is something where they can improve on.

Overall, for 1500 bucks a night, that too in Diwali, this is the best deal you can snatch in Udaipur. A sure shot value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MihirKamdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

Location – It is very near to city palace complex and Jagdish temple (less than 5 minutes of walking). It’s a 4 storied building in a congested touristy area. The building is well maintained. There are many such so called haveli hotels in that area. It becomes a little difficult for an outsider (or driver not from Udaipur) to locate this place easily with all the narrow lanes. Though it is in old city area, it is quite peaceful.

Rooms and Views – As mentioned by other travelers, very few rooms have a good lake view. The rooms are small but clean and well maintained. View from restaurant is good. I stayed in non-view room for one night and view room for other night. I do not know if the hotel management deliberately does it, but they allocate view room only for a night and will tell you that it is booked for other days. May be they do this to keep all the guests happy.
The room without view is exactly that - no views at all, the windows open in to a narrow space between hotel and adjacent building.

Restaurant – Views are wonderful but I found it to be pricey compared to similar hotels as per Indian standard. (e.g. Two cups of tea costs Rs 40 + taxes, One aloo paratha costs Rs. 60 + taxes, two slices of bread-butter costs above Rs. 30). I found that snacks and breakfast items were very costly compared to main course lunch/dinner items. Lunch/Dinner main course items were okay in the range of Rs. 80-100.
The quality of food was good.

Travel Arrangements – The guys at reception were helpful and explained the map and main tourist spots etc. They did try to sell sight seeing tour by auto riskshaw. In Udaipur, they have around 10 spots (like city palace, jagdish temple, sahelio ki bari, rana Pratap smarak, fateh sagar lake and island garden in it etc. - Not all worth seeing). Hotel guys told me that it will cost 450/- Rs. When I asked for the price if Monsoon palace is included, they said around 650/-.
I enquired about same with some auto rikshaw driver directly and they were ready to do the same tour without monsoon palace for Rs. 250/-

Knowing that two main spots - city palace and jagdish temple are walking distance from hotel and they will easily take 3-4 hours, I decided not to book the auto rikshaw for whole day. Why pay the guy to wait outside the palace while you visit it? Instead I took a rikshaw later on after visiting city palace for remaining spots only for Rs. 150/- .

The hotel also has a travel agency and I enquired about bus ticket from Udaipur to Ahemedabad, the guy said it will cost 200 Rs. The same ticket was available for Rs. 120 outside.

In summary, the hotel is well maintained, has few good view rooms, has comparatively low room rates but they make up by charging more for your food and travel.
Also, avoid taking rikshaws standing just outside the hotel as they tend to charge more.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

We located the hotel through tripadvisor. Listed here as #1. Called the place for reservations while traveling in India, just a day before arriving in Udaipur. We planned to stay only for a couple of nights. We managed to get the lake-view room for one night and eight nights the superior room.

From all the hotels and guesthouses we stayed in India over our 5 weeks of travel, this was the best place and best cost-for-value. The service, the attitude of the owners and staff, our rooms, the terrace restaurant, everything was great. The rooms were spotless clean. They changed our sheets and towels every day. We paid R$1250 a night and got aircon, TV.

My recommendation: book enought time in advance if you want the lake-view rooms, otherwise go for the superior rooms or whats left. You won't regret staying here. We fell in love with Udaipur; and a lot was with the help of the Haveli's staff.

If you need to book trips, flights ask the reception (thay have a shop nextdoor). They helped us in organizing tours around Udaipur, to Ranakpur, hotel in Delhi, flight to Delhi. And above all they are honest. You can trust their recommendations (a rare trait in India).

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RommeyHassman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

My expectation from this hotel was set very high by the high rating it received from fellow passengers. So, even though few people had mentioned the room sizes, I had ignored and went on to book their deluxe lake facing room, the costliest of the rooms at this property, at a bargain price of INR 1500 (plus tax).
Judging by the Udaipur hotel cost, this is a budget rate!
However, the property is just a 4/5 story narrow building on a very narrow street, with very small rooms and bathrooms even for a deluxe. Furthermore, even after verbal confirmation I was given a room which can hardly be called 'lake facing'! The manager/owner was not at all cordial when I told him about my dissatisfaction regarding the room and bluntly told me to produce a piece of paper where it was mentioned that I was promised a different room. All this argument went on while he kept on having his 'late lunch'!! This compelled me to feel very bad about the choice of this property. I suggest that you get in writting the room number (201-203 are the real lake facing ones) before you go, incase you want to stay there. Room 201 is probably the best one, being a corner and has a 'jharokha' style sitting area.
The size of the room and toilet is really small by any standard. There's no space for keeping your luggage in case you're traveling with more than a backpack! Beds are nice and comfy and so is the a/c. Rooms are nicely decorated and the view from the rooftop restaurant is worth the stay but so is the view from umpteen other hotels in that vicinity. Location is very close to City Palace and Jagadish temple.
All in all, I would rate the property as good in terms of economy and location, avergae in terms of facility, very poor in terms of service and worthless in terms of hospitality. I don't think they know the meaning of 'hospitality'.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AyanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0 mi away
Hotel The Tiger
Hotel The Tiger
#74 of 177 in Udaipur
396 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#41 of 177 in Udaipur
407 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#20 of 177 in Udaipur
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#9 of 177 in Udaipur
2,419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#26 of 177 in Udaipur
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treebo Udai Niwas
Treebo Udai Niwas
#78 of 177 in Udaipur
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mewar Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mewar Haveli

Address: 34-35 Lal Ghat | Behind Jagdish Temple, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
#14 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £19 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Mewar Haveli 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Mewar haveli "A Traditional Hotel" welcomes you to Udaipur. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Mewar Haveli is a 12 Room family-run small hotel.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible by Elivator (lift) and by stair.All rooms in the hotel are aircondition rooms and offer basic amenities.The hotel is not selling the rooms as a lake view or lake faceing.The hotel have more less all rooms have a standerd size (110 sq.Ft).Our suggestion higher floor rooms need to reserve 2 to 3 months in advance Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms as we do not make any such claims or promises. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, LCD's and attached bathrooms with 24 hours hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,bazaars,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake.The hotel does not have Parking. A government run safe Parking is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel near city palace and jagdish temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Mewar Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mewar Haveli Udaipur
Mewar Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing