We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place To Escape Udaipurs Busy Streets”
Review of Mewar Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mewar Haveli
Ranked #32 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2009

We stayed here in October 2009, prearranged pickup from Udaipur airport worked out without any issues.

The place itself has a great location within almost all major tourist spots in Udaipur, directly close to the lake with great views of the famous lake palace. However almost all hotels are situated around this area anyway.

The hotel is very clean, nicely decorated with good staff. Our room was clean and very cozy, with a fantastic view of the lake palace and the surroundings (its apparently the only room with that view and i recommend to reserve it upfront, its #203)

As a little hint, breakfast is not included in the booking and on our first morning we received a normal "a la cart" breakfast menu where we selected our items, the second morning however we suddenly were given a "fixed breakfast menu" only which we had to take and which is much more expensive.
I would recommend to go for breakfast in one of the many surrounding rooftop places instead!

The front desk helped us booking our driver to Jodhpur which was very helpful and not overpriced, they have a cooperation with a driving operator which I really can recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngryAngMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
There are newer reviews for Mewar Haveli
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 791 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2009

Room 203 has great view of the Lake. Rooms are pleasant but small and the bathroom is really tiny. Not for the large folks. Did not eat there, (go to the Ambrai). The pick up from the airport cost double the taxi fare (lots of taxis and pre-paid available so dont bother to book a pick up unless its really late). On check out they added charge for breakfast which we did not have, so suggest you check the bill carefully. We had a pleasant stay, and it was good value, but there are probably better places nearby for not much more.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank proflac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

We had planned a north india trip and while travelling fom Agra to Udaipur by train we were little skeptical about the hotel in udaipur as it was booked over phone. hotel had arranged for a pickup from the railway station. we had booked 2 standard rooms, rooms were clean, and nicely decorated with paintings on walls, hotel staff were good and very helpful, food was really good and they even arranged local sightseeing by auto and car for ranakpur and kumbalgarh fort. overall good vacation at udaipur

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kavitha_blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

the rooms here are very clean and nice. lots of sunlight, and newer, nice look fixtures. the hotel itself was really clean and the staff friendly. unfortunatly one of the owners has a bit of temper, and doesnt treat his employees very well. they have a booking agency with internet next store. everytime i went for internet he tried to sell me something. then when i finally booked with him some tickets, he failed to disclose that my so called direct flight to delhi actaully stopped in jaipur. when i pointed it out to him he got really aggressive and loud and started yelling at me. it was really awkward and unnecessary. i saw him raise his voice to other guest in similiar circumstance too. i am writing this to let you know and him know too, that it doesnt leave a good impression to see a business owner treat his employees this way, barking orders and never saying please or thank you. i found myself always feeling sorry for the sweet workers who worked from early morning to late into the night for him and it left a bad taste in my mouth. although the room was nice, it would of been a much better experience if the staff was more appreciated and the owner never had raised his voice at me.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gatitaMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

The rooms are small. The food is bland if you're used to real Indian food. But the worse thing for me was the fact that I paid the deposit by bank transfer only for the owner to claim never to have received it. My bank has checked 3 times and each time confirms that the full deposit was paid to the hotel owner's bank. I ended up having to pay the full bill when I was there and the owner promised to look into the situation. Perhaps unsurprisingly subsequent emails have gone unanswered. My advice? Don't get your hopes up. Don't pay by bank transfer. Eat elsewhere. And watch out for the touts the owner encourages to hang around his shop. Having visited India every year for almost 10 years, I have to say this is the only place that has turned out badly.

Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
2  Thank Abrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHAVELI, Owner at Mewar Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Mewar Haveli, Udaipur !!!

Thank you for sharing your experience as the hotel was run by other authority and management we understand the issues faced by you.
Kindly give us an opportunity to "make amends" and re-establish credibility with you as it was the 3rd party mistake.

Assuring you of our best attention at all times.

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

The hotel is very well located, clean and the rooftop restaurant has a very pleasant view on the lake but this are the only positive characteristics of the hotel.
Our room was supposed to be a superior category but the room was very very small, extremly noisy (becuse of the street and the thin wall) , the AC didn't work and the bathroom was also very small with a shower without any water pressure...

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cizar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHAVELI, Owner at Mewar Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Mewar Haveli, Udaipur !!!

Thank you for sharing your experience as back in date the hotel was run by other staff and authority we agree you must have faced the issues. Now things are under different supervision and i personally take care of things as an owner
Kindly give us an opportunity to "make amends" and re-establish credibility with you as it was the 3rd party mistake.

Assuring you of our best attention at all times.


Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

The hotel location is great, right in the middle of things. Plus with a great view of the floating palace in their upstairs restaurant. The restaurant is pretty good nothing special and it is all veg. The hotel room was very cute, and very clean which surprised us a lot, especially after staying in many other Indian hotels.. The staff were very friendly and helpful, they gave us a city map and pointed out all the sights we should see and also recommended a couple shows. They also booked us our early morning taxi to the airport. Overall great hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank perfectsquare4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#16 of 163 in Udaipur
566 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#42 of 163 in Udaipur
373 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 163 in Udaipur
2,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#19 of 163 in Udaipur
709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#9 of 163 in Udaipur
483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#95 of 163 in Udaipur
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mewar Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mewar Haveli

Address: 34-35 Lal Ghat | Behind Jagdish Temple, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
#14 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £21 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Mewar Haveli 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Mewar haveli "A Traditional Hotel" welcomes you to Udaipur. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Mewar Haveli is a 12 Room family-run small hotel.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible by Elivator (lift) and by stair.All rooms in the hotel are aircondition rooms and offer basic amenities.The hotel is not selling the rooms as a lake view or lake faceing.The hotel have more less all rooms have a standerd size (110 sq.Ft).Our suggestion higher floor rooms need to reserve 2 to 3 months in advance Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms as we do not make any such claims or promises. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, LCD's and attached bathrooms with 24 hours hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,bazaars,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake.The hotel does not have Parking. A government run safe Parking is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel near city palace and jagdish temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mewar Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mewar Haveli Udaipur
Mewar Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing