We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Guest House with gorgeous Lake Pichola Views”
Review of Mewar Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mewar Haveli
Ranked #36 of 175 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Rooms are beautifully painted. Our deluxe room had a bay window that caught warm sun during the afternoon and made a great spot to nap. The top floor restaurant provides a stunning view of Lake Pichola. The guest house is close to tourist shopping spots and restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EHB206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2011

This is a fantastic hotel. Staff are extremely helpful & welcoming. Everything is always so clean, beds are very comfortable. There are amazing views from the rooftop where great meals are served. We always stay at Mewar when we are in Udaipur,& overall have stayed there 5 times over the last few years. The staff always welcome us back warmly, & for us it is a highlite of our time in India.
Mewar is in a very central location, close to the City Place. There are also plenty of places to shop, in the area.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank De1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Room 203 - a corner room with a really spectacular view and a big comfortable window seat. Very clean, comfortable and as quiet as you can expect in a city centre. The Mewar has a elevator from ground to restaurant and having stayed in a nearby haveli without one, this is a major plus.

The rooftop restaurant has a great view of the lake & palaces but was limited by being vegetarian only. That did not matter at breakfast and a large family of squirrels - sort of chipmunk-like - were constant entertainment on nearby buildings. January nights were cold but the indoor restaurant has fabulous ceiling and wall decorations so was a fine alternative to the open rooftop.

With several other close hotels having non-veg menus when meat was required, we would recomend this one as being reasonably priced, good value and a well located place to stay, with great staff.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wuppitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Got the yellow flowery room, had a good night rest with the best rain shower we had in our trip over the past week. Conveniently located near stores on Lal Ghat. Would be perfect if there's WIFI in the whole hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NekoMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We enjoyed our stay here very much, the Hotel is impeccably clean, the sta ff are really helpful & the restaurant is quite good enough. I had to make loads of onward travel reservations from the attached travel shop & it was all accomplished with no fuss, no bother, no baksheesh. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTDTevesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

I stayed at Mewar Haveli for 3 nights in December. It was absolutely terrific. From the staff, to the room, to the rooftop restaurant, and all for such a reasonable price, we could not have asked for anything more. We especially loved the front desk staff. Always ready and willing to help, no matter what you need- and always with a genuine, warm smile. I unfortunately got food poisoning while staying here (not from Mewar's restaurant, but from "Harmony" restaurant during a day trip to Ranakpur. Do not eat there.) Although i was already technically checked out that morning, the staff at Mewar were extremely helpful, making sure i was okay.

Just one negative comment- the man who booked us on our day trip to Ranakpur, booked us with a car that had no seatbelts and no working horn. If you know anything about driving in India, having a car without a horn is basically like having a car without breaks. Very dangerous. As a reputable hotel and travel service, they should not be putting their customers in cars like these.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Argentina1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

I chose this place purely on the good reviews it had on the internet. However it lived upto it's reviews. Nice cozy place with very good service. The rooms are clean and as per the pics on their website.

Restaurant is good and the service was very good.
Overall a good experience.

Things which can be improved ,

breakfast menu can be improved
rooms need some space for luggage. My rooms were very tight w.r.t space.
Towels need to be improved , they were old !!

In the end I recommend this place to ppl looking for vfm place in Udaipur. Best part is the ppl working there are very nice and never refused us any service or gave us any attitude.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubeyamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0 mi away
Hotel The Tiger
Hotel The Tiger
#77 of 175 in Udaipur
392 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#43 of 175 in Udaipur
400 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#18 of 175 in Udaipur
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 175 in Udaipur
2,394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#81 of 175 in Udaipur
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#27 of 175 in Udaipur
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mewar Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mewar Haveli

Address: 34-35 Lal Ghat | Behind Jagdish Temple, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
#14 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £22 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Mewar Haveli 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Mewar haveli "A Traditional Hotel" welcomes you to Udaipur. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Mewar Haveli is a 12 Room family-run small hotel.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible by Elivator (lift) and by stair.All rooms in the hotel are aircondition rooms and offer basic amenities.The hotel is not selling the rooms as a lake view or lake faceing.The hotel have more less all rooms have a standerd size (110 sq.Ft).Our suggestion higher floor rooms need to reserve 2 to 3 months in advance Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms as we do not make any such claims or promises. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, LCD's and attached bathrooms with 24 hours hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,bazaars,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake.The hotel does not have Parking. A government run safe Parking is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel near city palace and jagdish temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Mewar Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mewar Haveli Udaipur
Mewar Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing