We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”
Review of Mewar Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mewar Haveli
Ranked #27 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Excellent all round”
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Great location, friendly staff, lovely decor, clean and comfortable, great view from room, good breakfast, value for money. You couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    325
    82
    34
    13
See reviews for
205
336
52
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shimla, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2011

I came to Udaipur by train from Jaipur along with my wife and 8 years old son at about 7.00 AM and hired auto rikshaw to Mewar Haveli in which I had already booked lake facing room for two nights based upon the reviews on TRIP ADVISOR.On reaching the hotel we were told to relax at restaurant as our room has been occupied by other guests and shall be ready for our occupation at 10 AM which is check in/out time.In the mean time,my child suddenly fell ill and started vomiting.I requested the manager to give me some other room,if available, for the time being so that child could take rest.He immediately obeliged me.Not only this ,since all the chemist shops were closed near by because of early morning hours,he especially deputed one staff member with me along with motor bike so that I could get the medicine for the child from the 24 hours open medicine shop near the city hospital which was 4-5 km far from the hotel.I was really touched by this gesture.At 10 AM ,we were told that our room is ready.Though the room and toilet were small,but it was well decorated and what I liked the most(being myself a civil engineer,builder and interior decorator),the local touch given to the room.Other aspect which I liked that the room was spotlessly clean and so were the bed covers/sheets and the pillow covers.All the things in the room and toilet including hot water were working.The staff was well behaved and prompt in service.The location of the hotel is in the old city and very near to lake pichola with a magnificent view of it from lake facing rooms and also from roof top restaurant which is jewel in the crown of this hotel with excellent food and service.Other points of attraction like city palace,puppet show &Jagdish temple are with in walking distance and in my openion the location of the hotel itself compensates for the marginally small rooms,which gives you the glimpse of ancient Udaipur far away from modern Udaipur which is nothing but a concrete jungle like any other modern city.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girishgpt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

This is a typical well managed and clean budget hotel in the old town of Udaipur, very close to the lake. The rooms are quite small but if you have the chance to get an angle room like the 203, you have an extra alcove couch with a superb view on the lake. Personnel are helpful and friendly. The rooftop restaurant is a great place to eat in the evening or just to have a drink and relax in the late afternoon.
Only drawback: there is no Wifi Internet connection, the owner of the place prefers to sell on a hourly basis an Internet connection in his bookshop next door. This is the only inconvenience, if this point is important for you, there are many adjacent hotels of the same class that offer this service, you can in fact get the signals from these places, but they are all secured except one from quite far away.
This haveli has installed an elevator, so no stair climbing up and down.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ups85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

This is a small and friendly hotel located in the best possible place in Udaipur. It's only minutes away from the City Palace, Jagdish Temple and the footbridge to the other side of the lake. Next to the entrance, the owners have a little shop selling practically everything -we were desperate for some OREOs after almost three weeks in India! The rooms are basic, but the bathrooms are very clean and the rates good. The only thing they might want to consider is netting for the windows and softer lighting in the rooms Would definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ElPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2011

the room was super clean, the staff very friendly, the location was perfect, the view from the rooftop restaurant was amazing and the food was delicious! great place to stay :-)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Hi,

I stayed at Mewar for 2 nights and really enjoyed. I had lake facing rooms and had a good view of the lake. The only issue was that the bathroom was a bit small, but we managed.Also, Mewar has an open tarrace for dining and the view from here is just fabulous. Also, the owner - HarishJi and other hotell staff are very corteous and polite. I definitely recommend a stay here for all.
I also took taxi from teh hotel and here I think that it is better that one takes an auto instead. For the 1 day local sight seeing tour, I was charged about Rs 1600 and frankly speaking, it was not worth it. I agree that you get to keep the taxi for a whole day but still the distance is not that much.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mukulcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

The Mewar is a lovely place to stay - ideal location (easy walk to palace, temple, main shopping), comfortable rooms (some with sweeping lake views), good staff and convenient restaurants. The lift is a marvellous facility for ageing knees. And all this for $A35 a night! Also the attached "one stop shop," Mewar International, is a small but excellent travel office run by Harish, who is in attendance from 8am till 11pm. Not only does he do travel bookings (and fix up our errors!); he runs a good internet centre, organises low-cost and reliable local transport, has an interesting collection of books for sale or exchange (and has read most of them), and offers a thoughtful selection of items for travellers' needs. He is most attentive to every client - without pressure - and was a godsend when one of us was taken ill, getting a prescription filled on a Sunday morning and declining any more than $A2 in payment. We wouldn't stay anywhere else on our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniepat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#13 of 157 in Udaipur
562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 157 in Udaipur
468 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#44 of 157 in Udaipur
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 157 in Udaipur
2,274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#9 of 157 in Udaipur
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 157 in Udaipur
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mewar Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mewar Haveli

Property: Mewar Haveli
Address: 34-35 Lal Ghat | Behind Jagdish Temple, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
#14 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Mewar Haveli 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Mewar haveli "A Traditional Hotel" welcomes you to Udaipur. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Mewar Haveli is a 12 Room family-run small hotel.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible by Elivator (lift) and by stair.All rooms in the hotel are aircondition rooms and offer basic amenities.The hotel is not selling the rooms as a lake view or lake faceing.The hotel have more less all rooms have a standerd size (110 sq.Ft).Our suggestion higher floor rooms need to reserve 2 to 3 months in advance Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms as we do not make any such claims or promises. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, LCD's and attached bathrooms with 24 hours hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,bazaars,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake.The hotel does not have Parking. A government run safe Parking is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel near city palace and jagdish temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mewar Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mewar Haveli Udaipur
Mewar Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing