We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its Proximity to City Palace and Old City (Cultural) is the merit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
OYO Rooms Jagdish Chowk
Ranked #103 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 25 August 2014

It is a good hotel w.r.t to Room size. We had booked a Delux room which costs us 2500/- (+ S.Tax of 7.4%). However the kitchen was too costly as per the Udaipur standard.
Merit:
- Proximity to City Palace and Old Cultural City is the main advantage.
- Rooms are good and services are quick.
- B'Fast was included and B'Fast was good.
- Just in front of Shri Jagdish Temple so a delight.

Demerit:
- Lakes not at all visible from any rooms and not even from Roof Top.
- Kitchen is too costly
- Overcharging on Service Charge of 15% and VAT of 15%. (which I suppose should be in range between 4-12.5%)
- Even charged on the food items delivered to Room. This means that they are not giving free room service. When I complain, they politely removed the Service Charge part. Although I feel cheated in this part.

In total, I can recommend this Hotel, if one wants to stay near City Centre. But I suggest to argue with hotel management about the taxes and charges during the billing.

Room Tip: - Top rooms are always better as it can give better city view. But no Lake view is possible even fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rajdeep P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babapalace, Owner at OYO Rooms Jagdish Chowk, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Mr.Patel,

Greetings from Hotel Baba Palace , Udaipur !!!!!!!!!!!

Thank you for your valuable Comment/Review for our Hotel.
It is always great pleasure for us that we can suggestions and comments from the Guest who stayed at hotel so we can make it more better for the future guest's.

And as per your Demerits of the Hotel : I would like to tell you that
* We have never written anywhere or published that the we do have a Lake View from the Rooms or from the Roof Top.
* We are charging VAT TAX which is by Govt.LAW : 5% on FOOD and 15% on Beverages and Ice Creams which is by Government Rules we cannot go against law and we are a Tax Paying Restaurant so I am really sorry if you had trouble in that.

Again Thanks for your visit at our Hotel.

Thanking you

Piyush Vaishnav
Hotel Baba Palace
Mayur Cafe Roof Top Resturant
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Stay was decent comfortable room but every time I want to shower at night I call desk and he comes and says to run water for 5-6 buckets then hot water then I call again and he say he go to check geyser on roof. And finally hot water. Restaurant was great service and food with breakfast included and great view in morning. Staff was helpful but facility was lacking

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank trevor s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in December and had the most un-memorable experience ever. Let me get to the pros and cons for a better picture-

PROS-
1. Just bang opposite the Jagdish temple. ( we could see the temple out of our room window)
2. Hardly 5 min walk to the City palace.
3. May be 5-10 min walk to "Bagore ki haveli" and "Gangaur ghat".
4. The hotel arranges pickup from airport/railway station.
5. The stay package included breakfast (which was good and had couple of choices).

CONS-
1. Rooms are too basic- for same package, we could have stayed at several better options.
2. There is a shortage of staff -in the room services as well as hotel restaurant.
3.The double beds in rooms were actually 2 single wrought iron beds put together with quishy-squashy mattresses that creaked and had huge gaps between them.
4. The blankets MUST be changed- old and linted and poor in quality with seams coming off.
5.The bathrooms of adjacent rooms shared a ventilation window and every time someone used the bathroom next room, it was like some one is in our bathroom.
6.The room services were poor. Having asked for hot drinking water or additional blankets, we only got it after at least a couple of hours.
7.The deluxe room we stayed in, had us count every time the elevators closed/opened and went up and down our floor with Loud thuds. Sigh....we said good bye to a good sleep on day 1.

All in all, it was a bad decision to have stayed at the hotel.

Room Tip: If you liked a QUIET place to sleep or wake up , the hotel is definitley NOT for you as its exactly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shailja_Sharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This nice hotel would deserve a fair excellent mark from us if not 2-day struggle for hot water. As in may hotels in India you have to switch on water heater 20 min before you go to the shower. Unfortunately, in this hotel it did not work. After we asked for help, administrator from reception came to check the problem and said that we simply have to wait for 10 minutes until the running water heats up - which did not happen at all. Location is great, wonderful view on Jagdish Temple from our room. 3 minutes of walking to the palace, many nice shops around. Good wi-fi in the room. Breakfast was average but with great view from the terrace. The rooftop restaurant itself was very nice, with good service and kitchen.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marika88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Me and my wife stayed there this week (24th, 25th, 26th Dec 2013) for 3 nights in deluxe double room. This is average hotel with OK type service and believe me you can get better hotels in nearby places in almost same cost. We simply felt that this hotel is overrated in trip advisor.

What is good:-
- Its location is center in the market so one can easily go to many tourist points (walking distance for city palace, Jagdish temple is facing to this hotel, Bagore ki haveli etc). Well this can be negative point to whom who is looking for very shant place :)
- Complementary breakfast is good.
- Once can get the taxi for visiting nearby places in Udaipur from hotel in decent prize.
- Food in roof top restaurant is good but a little pricy.

What is bad:-
- Service is below average. You have to remind them many times for anything. No one came for cleaning the room or changing the glass/water through out our stay.
- The bed in room was very BAD, in fact it was not a double bed but two single wrought iron beds joining together with a large gap in between :)
- There was 2 single bed blankets (very thin) which is certainly not sufficient. And you have to ask for more. (I could not understand the reason of two single beds/blanket in double room).
- Room size and bathroom size is small (at least not like the one given in there website)
- The adjacent room's bathroom is so near to this bathroom that you can hear each voice clearly. In fact if shower is on in next room's bathroom it is as much as in your room. (I am not sure if this is the story in other rooms as well)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hemghh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Spent some time in Udaipur and while I didn't stay at the hotel, I did go to their rooftop most days to get some work done. A great vantage point to recharge the batteries and replenish the energy stores. Good view and wifi connection.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank DeltaOmegaGamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Located just opposite Jagdish Temple, you can sense positivity and a pleasant atmosphere from a vicinity. This place is centrally located and has all the basic things you expect from a decent hotel. Rooms are cosy with hot water available and unlimited free wifi. The owner, Mr Piyush is very nice and helpful and he and his staff serve with smile. Food is slightly overpriced but the location makes up for it. You wake up to the holy clang of bells and in the mornings greeted by the holy sight of Jagdish Temple in front of you. Recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Udaipur.

Room Tip: The mattresses may not be the best quality. Ask owner to replace it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelforluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Thamla Haveli
Hotel Thamla Haveli
#70 of 165 in Udaipur
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake View Haveli
Lake View Haveli
#140 of 165 in Udaipur
5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ishwar Palace
Hotel Ishwar Palace
#60 of 165 in Udaipur
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#94 of 165 in Udaipur
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rangniwas Palace Hotel
Rangniwas Palace Hotel
#50 of 165 in Udaipur
296 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dayal Hotel
Dayal Hotel
#19 of 165 in Udaipur
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OYO Rooms Jagdish Chowk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OYO Rooms Jagdish Chowk

Address: Plot No.155 | Opposite Jagdish Temple,Jagdish Chowk, Udaipur 313001, India (Formerly Hotel Baba Palace)
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range: £15 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — OYO Rooms Jagdish Chowk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
How to Reach The property is easily accessible through various means of public transport. You can either hire a cab or avail an auto-rickshaw to travel around the city. Facilities OYO Rooms Jagdish Chowk aims at providing the best deal for a comfortable and affordable accommodation without exceeding the budget. Udaipur is known for its famous and beautiful forts, palaces and lakes, alluring tourists and leaving them enchanted. During your stay here, visit the famous tourist attractions situated nearby such as Lake Pichola, City Palace and Fateh Sagar Lake. The best time to visit Udaipur is between the months of October and April. Rooms OYO offers distinguished services with its dedicated and well-trained staff. In-room amenities include a study table, intercom for prompt service and closet for your belongings. The bathrooms are hygienically cleaned and facilitated with complimentary toiletries. Hotel Amenities The 24-hour helpdesk is there to assist you with currency exchange, fax or photocopier, wake-up call on request and tours or ticketing assistance. Safety measures like fire extinguishers, first aid and round the clock security are available. Other provisions include dry cleaning, lobby area and cloak-room. Some of the getaway destinations from Udaipur include Mount-Abu, Nathdwara and Kota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your OYO Rooms Jagdish Chowk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing