We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grear place, great view, great team!”
Review of Hotel The Tiger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel The Tiger
Ranked #71 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We stayed in The Tiger 2 nights with a family of 5. We had 2 rooms on the second level of the hotel, which were lage enough for all of us. One bathroom was a bit smelly und hot water not always available.
Breakfat on the terasse is great and the staff of very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is located in the heart of the town and all major sites are in walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMB692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2011

I don't think you can find a better value hotel than this. Very cheap, but awesome location! Right on the banks of Gangour Ghat! Efficient Service and clean rooms.

The rooftop restaurant has the most beautiful views of the lake, and the Lake Palace.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a budget option in Udaipur.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SumitD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

To reach this gem of a hotel, you have to walk some meters through a scruffy alley. Do not let that put you off. Behind the nice entrance door, you will find a beautifully designed and exceptionally clean hotel. Surprisingly quiet location in the centre of old Udaipur. Very friendly welcome, we even got a map of the city without asking. Nice rooms. Fantastic views of the Picola lake and the Udaipur castle from the two-level rooftop restaurant, the lower level with big windows, the upper level in free air. The tiny kitchen makes surprisingly good meals, cooked according to your personal wishes. Excellent service. The hotel has no elevator, so with a ground floor for the reception, three floors for the guest rooms and two floors for the restaurant, your daily exercise is secured. Free Internet.
Do not miss the fantastic dance performance in the evening at the neighbouring museum Bagore-Ki-Haveli. The sound- and light-show at the castle, however, is not worth the time and the money - have a romantic evening at the rooftop of the hotel instead!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GSandBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Udaipur
 The Tiger is well located in the city, some 30 metres down a narrow alley way off a side street so not noisy at night. Very clean guest house/ hotel with fantastic views from the roof terrace of the Lake and the Lake Palace hotel ( although we couldn't see James Bond at the hotel...). Very helpful and pleasant staff. We stayed in room 20 which we think had the best corner views of the lake from the 3rd floor....there is no lift in the hotel. The dining area or the terrace above us provided a very nice breakfast of fresh fruit, porridge, eggs to order,toast. The terrace is a great location for "Kingfisher sundowners". You will find much more varied menus elsewhere but its fine if you want something quick and low prices. Free wifi with best reception near the ground floor.
We ate at "Ambrai" next to Met Haveli hotel just across the water from the Tiger ( 5 mins in a tuk tuk) - best to reserve. A very pleasant outdoor lakeside restaurant with great views across to the City Palace and Lake Palace. Excellent menu and reasonably priced. The Tiger is recommended for a clean modern no frills reasonably priced accommodation in Udaipur. Don't let the alley way entrance put you off. Also in their ownership and opposite is the "Edelweiss" cafe with very nice apple pie if you want a change from Indian food. 

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WRB_Kawakuchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We arrived in Udaipur with a reservation at Hotel Gangaur Palace. Our pre-paid taxi from the airport dropped us off on Gangaur Ghat road and directed us down an alleyway. We found The Tiger Hotel and a staff member standing outside. When we asked where to find Gangaur Palace Hotel he said this was it and that it had recently been renamed. He offered to show us a few rooms because they had not received our e-mailed reservation request.

The rooms were nice but the prices were high. He offered a steep discount on a double non-AC room with attached bath. After unpacking we went for a walk and quickly discovered Gangaur Palace Hotel right across the street. We had been duped by both the taxi driver - who no doubt got a nice commission from this deal - and by the staff.

We approached the staff at the front desk about having just found Gangaur Palace Hotel. An old british man got quite aggressive (we think he was an owner) telling us we were wrong at that 7 or 8 years ago a Gangaur Palace Hotel had existed at this location. The staff member who lied to us smiled coyly in the background as we told them we didn't appreciate being misled.

The rooms were clean, water was hot, TVs had cable and wifi was free. The complimentary bottle of water in the room was a nice touch until we realized that it had been re-sealed (poorly, because it leaked on our computer when we packed it into our bag).

We spoke with the owners of Hotel Ganguar Palace to tell them what happened and they were not surprised. They offered a quick tour of the hotel (gorgeous, clean, great roof-top views) and were apologetic about what had happened.

Long story short: sleazy business practices at Tiger Hotel make the place a no-go. Friendly owners at Gangaur Palace across the street will offer an equally as clean and peasant room without the lies and tainted water.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank canadian19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

After reading rewiews on TripAdvisor we decided to check into the Tiger.We arrived at night and were quickly taken by the courteous staff (Aniruddh) and Gokal at the Restaurant.The hotel is neat and clean.Has a massage and spa section.The food is good.Will recommend it for price value too.Had a good time guys.Thanks.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtitPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

A winner: super-helpful staff, great location, rooftop restaurant with excellent views and very tasty food, on-site massage (oh yes), comfy beds and nice strong hot showers, neat building design - definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strobelovitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#85 of 165 in Udaipur
253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#34 of 165 in Udaipur
796 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anjani Hotel
Anjani Hotel
#77 of 165 in Udaipur
508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Padmini Palace
Hotel Padmini Palace
#46 of 165 in Udaipur
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#17 of 165 in Udaipur
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Tiger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Tiger

Address: 33 Gangaur Ghat | Near Bagore Ki Haveli MUSEUM, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £14 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel The Tiger 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tiger Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Udaipur's main attractions - City Palace, Jagdish Temple, Gangaur Ghat, bagore ki haveli museum, pichola lake for boating and the lively Bazaars are only a stone's A Clean & comfortable stay at lakeside ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel The Tiger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tiger Hotel Udaipur
Tiger Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing