We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel The Tiger
Nearby Hotels
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jaiwana Haveli(Udaipur)
US$34
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lakend(Udaipur)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Leela Palace Udaipur(Udaipur)
US$331
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$298
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur(Udaipur)
US$397
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$501
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
180
150
48
11
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
150
48
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantno liftcity palacelake picholahot watergangaur ghattop flooramazing rooftopthe hotel is cleancultural showwalking distancebudget hotelhotel is locatedthe hotel offersa lake view roomold cityhotel staff
Filter
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 403 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2012

The hotel has a very central location right at the Lake Pichola and offers a fantastic view from its roof terrace.
The rooms are clean and relatively spacious and the employees were quite helpful as well.
Of course there are a few things that could be improved. One thing that baffled me is that there isn't a single socket in the room (unless you unplug the TV) and the warm water wasn't working properly as well.
But overall the hotel offers good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JochenHertweck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

good value for money..sheets are clean..the place is hygienic..staff most helpful..truely enjoyed Shirodhara treatment! Rooftop view is amazing..location is bang in the middle of the city.lot of hustle and bustle..approach is quiet dirty and filthy but once inside the property things are cool! Plumbing in the bathrooms needs repairs!And beware of powercuts from 9am to 11am which impacts your morning plans majorly!

Shakun Maithel Mandal..New Delhi..India

Room Tip: Get top floor rooms closer to the roof top
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shakunNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Location: If you want to be in a hotel with a view of the lake, then the Ghats next to the palace are the Hotels to stay in (Gangaur Ghat, Hanuman Ghat, etc.,). The lanes are very narrow, and the approach to most of the Hotels are really creepy.
Common areas of the Hotel: It is a massive transformation as soon as you get into this Hotel. Well lit, and sparkling clean
Rooms : Our deluxe room was on the first floor. No lake view, but had a balcony (without any view on any side). Rooms were clean and had basic amenities. Tad overpriced, but so are other places in Udaipur in January. The bathrooms were very clean too and I loved their toiletries (soap and shampoo). The only problem was of Hot water. It was never hot enough during our stay @ Udaipur (3 nights) and my wife lost her cool about it on the final day. I spoke to them later and they said that the management was working on it.
Staff: Very friendly and helpful in whatever way they can. One instance: My camera battery charger had a different kind of pin and would not go into their electrical sockets. They managed to find an adapter for me.

The rooftop restaurant has amazing views of Lake Pichola and a must visit once during your stay. The food though tends towards European taste-buds and Indians have plenty of options around and should not be a problem.

Overall, I would recommend this place to everyone (if they can correct the hot-water problem).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mithuntm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed 2 nights at The Tiger. Our room had a good view of the lake but the tradeoff was a set of punishing stairs! We weren't really in the room that much so not sure it was worth the extra money to us, but it might be to you. The restaurant at the top has a fantastic view and was a great place to watch the sunset and settle in with a drink. We met some really interesting fellow travelers up there and spent a memorable evening. The hotel itself was very quiet but the area itself can be noisy...it's next to the lake and only a couple of minutes from the Jagdish Mandir, so you are right in the heart of the city. (BTW, I popped into evening services at the temple, and was the only tourist there. Fantastic!) Also the spa certainly came in handy!

Another convenience is the coffee shop just across the road, Cafe Edelweiss. Great espresso drinks.

The best thing about The Tiger is the staff. They are VERY sweet, honest and dependable, and went far out of their way to help us out. Whether it was asking us about our day with genuine interest, charging camera batteries, recommending local places, making phone calls for us, checking our room for forgotten items after we checked out, etc., they definitely went the extra mile and demonstrated great pride in doing their jobs well. It was always a good feeling to see their smiling faces after a long day of sight seeing!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Went in February and was booked for a deluxe room, thinking it would have more useful amenities or more space. Only difference is presence of A/C unit, which in February is quite useless. If you're going in winter, skip the deluxe room and go for the standard ($40 USD per night). The approx $60 per night I paid left me feeling like I was definitely overpaying. Bed and sheet quality is fine. Bathroom floor is continuous meaning everything gets wet after a shower. Have to let water run for about 3-5 minutes before water gets hot, which made me feel guilty for wasting water.
Don't worry if you don't get a "lake view" room, the top two floors of the hotel have great views of the lake. In my humble opinion, if you're traveling all the way to India, you probably shouldn't be spending a whole lot of time in your room anyway.
For the most part, staff was excellent. Manager was a little rough with me when discussing my concerns with the room but nothing I wasn't able to let go of after 10 minutes.
German bakery across the street is pretty good.
Art shop nearby called Art-Fact sells good stuff for reasonable prices and the artist who works there painted everything himself and isn't pushy at all. Definitely recommend picking up a souvenir or two there.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank AbKo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews