We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time even nicer”
Review of Hotel The Tiger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel The Tiger
Ranked #77 of 175 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I went back to The Tiger last month, and I liked my stay even better, the personal treated me like an old friend and I enjoyed once more the perfect setting on the terrace, the delicious breakfast and the perfect service.
It is such a nice change to the usual pseudo-Maharaja-style that you see in most places!

Room Tip: There are some rooms with a view on the lake....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

This is a beautiful hotel and very good value for money. The staff were very attentive and the general atmosphere is very laid back - its a lovely place to return to after the hubbub of udaipur. A little room tip This little hotel close to Udaipur's main lake was a surprise to me. Squeezed in between several other houses it opens its great view over the lake and city palace as soon as you reach the roof top restaurant. It is lokated in very good distance to all sight seeing points of Udaipur,.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank simon9610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I was recommended the Tiger Hotel by a friend, and I was so happy I was.

Although the entrance to the hotel is not much to look at (is down a narrow alley), once inside all that is forgotten. It could perhaps account for the peace and quiet once inside so I definitely would not fault it.
Unfortunately we did not have a room overlooking the lake (which I had heard would be the best ones to go for), but other than the lack of a view there was nothing to fault it. It was suitably spacious, clean, comfortable bed and a clean bathroom with hot water.

The views from the rooftop restaurant are absolutely amazing, and I imagine are one of the best in Udaipur. The food itself was also fantastic - both breakfast and dinner. Although that did mean that we could not partake of the gorgeous cakes from the German Cafe (Edelweiss) opposite the hotel (owned by hotel) as often as I would have wanted.

The staff were alo unbelievably helpful; Anirudh seemed to be available any time of day to serve us meals (times of which were changed to suit us) and answer any questions we had about the area. The manager Pritam and another colleague were also very helpful in providing us with local knowledge, especially about day trips by local bus transport - which is definitely an experience in itself.

Udaipur and our stay at The Tiger was definitely the highlight of our 3 week stay in India and if ever I had the opportunity to return I would definitely stay at The Tiger again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elisabeth1968_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I'll keep this short and sweet for once-
An excellent guest house that was seriously good value for money. Clean, affordable simple accommodation cared for with love. Absolutely breathtaking views and sunset on the rooftop terrace. Udaipur was our favourite city in Rajasthan and if I returned for sure I would stay at the Tiger.

We didn't eat there but the restaurant across the road the German bakery/edelweiss from memory was excellent with great coffee. We also went to a place called Savage Garden and it was just magic.

The receptionist here was fabulous so helpful and caring as were all the staff and the massage was seriously one of the best we have had in India- DEFINITELY get a massage in the Tiger- fab!

Ladies if you want a treat head to the Celebration mall for a wash a blow dry on the second floor beautiful salon, body shop etc. I know...cultural fail but hey when travelling around India sometimes you need to feel human again...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank singlegirlerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Loved this Hotel. Small, personable and beautiful.......in a great spot and quiet. The rooms are lovely with different themes, spacious to say the least. Fantastic staff only too willing to help with any query. They also own the Edelweis Bakery out on the street which is great for coffees and lovely breakfast. The rooftop restaurant has stunning views over Udaipur and the Lake, Lake Palace and City Palace. The in house spa and massage centre is great and so relaxing. I would not look at staying anywhere else in Udaipur except here. There is not lift in the Hotel but walking up and down stairs has never been a problem for us. Thank you Tiger, loved our stay with you.

Room Tip: With no lift on the premises, maybe a first floor room is the way to go. You will still have to wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Great location with an amazing view of the lake in Udaipur. This hotel offered a great resting opportunity after much travel in Rajasthan. We arrived late and we were graciously welcomed by Anirudh who turned out to be almost our personal maitre-D. Throughout our stay he was extremely helpful and pleasant to speak with. The room was very clean as well as the rest of the hotel. Spacious, very comfortable bed, large bathroom and plenty of hot water. After the first night here we enjoyed it so much we extended our stay by 2 nights. The hotel owner puts much attention on details and cleanliness and he also operates a german bakery cafe across the street and a Mediterranean restaurant a short walk from the hotel. Both very tasty! The food at the hotel restaurant is also exceptional offering many Indian Veg and non-Veg dishes. The view from our room was the lake Pichola and the Jag Mandir and Lake Palace hotel which are splendid day and night. A must stay for an amazing price!

Room Tip: We recommend requesting a room with a view of lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BernardandJulie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed in Tiger hotel for two days. It was the best experience in India, nice, tidy and clean, friendly staff, strongly recommend! The location is also very convinent, only few minutes walk to the palace and lake.


  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Jing G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#36 of 175 in Udaipur
810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#81 of 175 in Udaipur
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
OYO 4771 Hotel Anjani
OYO 4771 Hotel Anjani
#76 of 175 in Udaipur
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#27 of 175 in Udaipur
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#43 of 175 in Udaipur
400 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Palm
Hotel Royal Palm
#115 of 175 in Udaipur
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Tiger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Tiger

Address: 33 Gangaur Ghat | Near Bagore Ki Haveli MUSEUM, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £17 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel The Tiger 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tiger Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Udaipur's main attractions - City Palace, Jagdish Temple, Gangaur Ghat, bagore ki haveli museum, pichola lake for boating and the lively Bazaars are only a stone's A Clean & comfortable stay at lakeside ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel The Tiger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tiger Hotel Udaipur
Tiger Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing