We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Hotel The Tiger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel The Tiger
Ranked #71 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We spent 4 nights here - and thoroughly enjoyed every single day. The owner, Gunther, couldn't have been more helpful, and the staff were super. The hotel is superbly placed for walking to the Palace, the Pichola Lake and local village life. The rooftop restaurant was closed because we were off season, but we spent time just chilling on the roof and enjoying the wonderful view (sunsets here are spectacular).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
There are newer reviews for Hotel The Tiger
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay in Udaipur, really close to Lake Pichola that is amazing for sunset views. Unfortunately their rooftop restaurant was closed as per offseason. Breakfast at Edelweiss was very good, I had a great tuna sandwich. It's also very close to a boat ride point that the owner of Tiger, Gunther, had told me to go. It's really amazing to see Udaipur from boat.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julianaflopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I went back to The Tiger last month, and I liked my stay even better, the personal treated me like an old friend and I enjoyed once more the perfect setting on the terrace, the delicious breakfast and the perfect service.
It is such a nice change to the usual pseudo-Maharaja-style that you see in most places!

Room Tip: There are some rooms with a view on the lake....
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This is a beautiful hotel and very good value for money. The staff were very attentive and the general atmosphere is very laid back - its a lovely place to return to after the hubbub of udaipur. A little room tip This little hotel close to Udaipur's main lake was a surprise to me. Squeezed in between several other houses it opens its great view over the lake and city palace as soon as you reach the roof top restaurant. It is lokated in very good distance to all sight seeing points of Udaipur,.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank simon9610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I was recommended the Tiger Hotel by a friend, and I was so happy I was.

Although the entrance to the hotel is not much to look at (is down a narrow alley), once inside all that is forgotten. It could perhaps account for the peace and quiet once inside so I definitely would not fault it.
Unfortunately we did not have a room overlooking the lake (which I had heard would be the best ones to go for), but other than the lack of a view there was nothing to fault it. It was suitably spacious, clean, comfortable bed and a clean bathroom with hot water.

The views from the rooftop restaurant are absolutely amazing, and I imagine are one of the best in Udaipur. The food itself was also fantastic - both breakfast and dinner. Although that did mean that we could not partake of the gorgeous cakes from the German Cafe (Edelweiss) opposite the hotel (owned by hotel) as often as I would have wanted.

The staff were alo unbelievably helpful; Anirudh seemed to be available any time of day to serve us meals (times of which were changed to suit us) and answer any questions we had about the area. The manager Pritam and another colleague were also very helpful in providing us with local knowledge, especially about day trips by local bus transport - which is definitely an experience in itself.

Udaipur and our stay at The Tiger was definitely the highlight of our 3 week stay in India and if ever I had the opportunity to return I would definitely stay at The Tiger again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elisabeth1968_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I'll keep this short and sweet for once-
An excellent guest house that was seriously good value for money. Clean, affordable simple accommodation cared for with love. Absolutely breathtaking views and sunset on the rooftop terrace. Udaipur was our favourite city in Rajasthan and if I returned for sure I would stay at the Tiger.

We didn't eat there but the restaurant across the road the German bakery/edelweiss from memory was excellent with great coffee. We also went to a place called Savage Garden and it was just magic.

The receptionist here was fabulous so helpful and caring as were all the staff and the massage was seriously one of the best we have had in India- DEFINITELY get a massage in the Tiger- fab!

Ladies if you want a treat head to the Celebration mall for a wash a blow dry on the second floor beautiful salon, body shop etc. I know...cultural fail but hey when travelling around India sometimes you need to feel human again...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank singlegirlerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Loved this Hotel. Small, personable and beautiful.......in a great spot and quiet. The rooms are lovely with different themes, spacious to say the least. Fantastic staff only too willing to help with any query. They also own the Edelweis Bakery out on the street which is great for coffees and lovely breakfast. The rooftop restaurant has stunning views over Udaipur and the Lake, Lake Palace and City Palace. The in house spa and massage centre is great and so relaxing. I would not look at staying anywhere else in Udaipur except here. There is not lift in the Hotel but walking up and down stairs has never been a problem for us. Thank you Tiger, loved our stay with you.

Room Tip: With no lift on the premises, maybe a first floor room is the way to go. You will still have to wal...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nayee Haveli
Hotel Nayee Haveli
#38 of 163 in Udaipur
262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#34 of 163 in Udaipur
791 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Thamla Haveli
Hotel Thamla Haveli
#72 of 163 in Udaipur
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#16 of 163 in Udaipur
566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anjani Hotel
Anjani Hotel
#67 of 163 in Udaipur
499 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lal Ghat Guest House
Lal Ghat Guest House
#65 of 273 in Udaipur
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Tiger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Tiger

Address: 33 Gangaur Ghat | Near Bagore Ki Haveli, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £9 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel The Tiger 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tiger Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Udaipur's main attractions - City Palace, Jagdish Temple, Gangaur Ghat and the lively Bazaars are only a stone's ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel The Tiger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tiger Hotel Udaipur
Tiger Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing