We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable and Friendly”
Review of Hotel The Tiger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel The Tiger
Ranked #64 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable and Friendly”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed in The Tiger hotel for three nights and 4 days. Even though our room was on the third floor, the views from the roof top made it all worth it for us. Late quiet nights on the roof top couldn't have been more romantic, with the view of the Lake Palace and Jag Mandir island. Clean sheets and towels and hot water from the shower were just hat we wanted. Complete value for our money

Room Tip: Take the Lake view room, its a bit pricey then the other rooms but its totally worth it. All in all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepak K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    140
    45
    10
    12
See reviews for
68
162
34
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
91 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We arrived very early in the morning and the staff were so kind as to give us a room. The views from the cafe upstairs across the lake are just fantastic and stunning. The hotel is beautifully decorated. The rooms are clean, spacious and airy. The toilets are clean and there is plenty of hot water. The location is great as well. It is located on a side street so it is nice and peaceful in the night. In front of the hotel is a German Bakery, it´s also walking distance to the many sights. It was a fabulous hotel and I can´t wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We spent 4 nights here - and thoroughly enjoyed every single day. The owner, Gunther, couldn't have been more helpful, and the staff were super. The hotel is superbly placed for walking to the Palace, the Pichola Lake and local village life. The rooftop restaurant was closed because we were off season, but we spent time just chilling on the roof and enjoying the wonderful view (sunsets here are spectacular).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay in Udaipur, really close to Lake Pichola that is amazing for sunset views. Unfortunately their rooftop restaurant was closed as per offseason. Breakfast at Edelweiss was very good, I had a great tuna sandwich. It's also very close to a boat ride point that the owner of Tiger, Gunther, had told me to go. It's really amazing to see Udaipur from boat.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julianaflopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I went back to The Tiger last month, and I liked my stay even better, the personal treated me like an old friend and I enjoyed once more the perfect setting on the terrace, the delicious breakfast and the perfect service.
It is such a nice change to the usual pseudo-Maharaja-style that you see in most places!

Room Tip: There are some rooms with a view on the lake....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This is a beautiful hotel and very good value for money. The staff were very attentive and the general atmosphere is very laid back - its a lovely place to return to after the hubbub of udaipur. A little room tip This little hotel close to Udaipur's main lake was a surprise to me. Squeezed in between several other houses it opens its great view over the lake and city palace as soon as you reach the roof top restaurant. It is lokated in very good distance to all sight seeing points of Udaipur,.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank simon9610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I was recommended the Tiger Hotel by a friend, and I was so happy I was.

Although the entrance to the hotel is not much to look at (is down a narrow alley), once inside all that is forgotten. It could perhaps account for the peace and quiet once inside so I definitely would not fault it.
Unfortunately we did not have a room overlooking the lake (which I had heard would be the best ones to go for), but other than the lack of a view there was nothing to fault it. It was suitably spacious, clean, comfortable bed and a clean bathroom with hot water.

The views from the rooftop restaurant are absolutely amazing, and I imagine are one of the best in Udaipur. The food itself was also fantastic - both breakfast and dinner. Although that did mean that we could not partake of the gorgeous cakes from the German Cafe (Edelweiss) opposite the hotel (owned by hotel) as often as I would have wanted.

The staff were alo unbelievably helpful; Anirudh seemed to be available any time of day to serve us meals (times of which were changed to suit us) and answer any questions we had about the area. The manager Pritam and another colleague were also very helpful in providing us with local knowledge, especially about day trips by local bus transport - which is definitely an experience in itself.

Udaipur and our stay at The Tiger was definitely the highlight of our 3 week stay in India and if ever I had the opportunity to return I would definitely stay at The Tiger again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elisabeth1968_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nayee Haveli
Hotel Nayee Haveli
#42 of 156 in Udaipur
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Thamla Haveli
Hotel Thamla Haveli
#67 of 156 in Udaipur
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#12 of 156 in Udaipur
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#102 of 156 in Udaipur
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anjani Hotel
Anjani Hotel
#62 of 156 in Udaipur
498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
#46 of 156 in Udaipur
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Tiger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Tiger

Property: Hotel The Tiger
Address: 33 Gangaur Ghat | Near Bagore Ki Haveli, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
#21 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel The Tiger 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tiger Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Udaipur's main attractions - City Palace, Jagdish Temple, Gangaur Ghat and the lively Bazaars are only a stone's ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel The Tiger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tiger Hotel Udaipur
Tiger Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing