We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel The Tiger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel The Tiger
Ranked #73 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The Tiger is a lovely boutique hotel overlooking the lake in Udaipur.
The rooms are pristine, the service is good and the views from the rooftop terrace are spectacular. The hotel is in a convenient location and within walking distance to most attractions. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank felicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuntherUdaipur, Manager at Hotel The Tiger, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thanks for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

The thing to do in Udaipur is enjoy lovely views of the city and lake from your hotel rooftop, and The Tiger did not disappoint. It's rooftop is beautiful, and we enjoyed many beers in the sunshine up there. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and satisfactory, and the hotel is walking distance from nearly anything you'd want to see in the city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLY_1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We flew in to Udaipur late at night so organised with the hotel for a big car to pick us up (as there was 5 of us). The driver was waiting for us as soon as we got out and took us straight to our hotel. I was concerned he might not take us all the way to the hotel after reading a previous review but he did. When we arrived the staff were fantastic, took our luggage straight to our room and let us sort out sign in etc for the next morning given it was so late. I really liked the tiger themed décor and glass mosaic mirrors everywhere. The rooftop view is spectacular and the location is walking distance to most things we wanted to see. Breakfast is not included but for 4 of us it was only about 600R- nothing flash but ok. The staff were great, very friendly and helpful. The wifi is good in the ground floor lounge but non-existent in our room. there is a tv with some DVD in the lounge-room-we couldn't resist and watched Octopussy which was shot in Udaipur-fun! Many of the rooms face a central stairway with an open middle bit so light and sound comes in from outside. The first night I didn't sleep so well because of this and then slept with earplugs and eyepatch and that worked so either bring with you or check the room to see if there are any windows that face the open stairway.

Room Tip: choose a room with no windows that face the stairway or bring ear plugs and eyepatch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The place at first didn't inspire me anything! The deco is poor in the lobby, from there you access you room climbing the stairs, the portlier give us a hand, and when you reach the room you start feeling comfortable! Nice decoration, comfort mattress on the bed, and first of all, the place is quiet ! Breakfast was good, you're served within view minutes, the view from the rooftop is breathtaking! The indoors restaurant has so much potential, sad it looks so cold with barely any furniture, not inviting! They need to improve that! The food was excellent!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank MurgMumtaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Booked the hotel at very last minute via makemytrip. Initially was a bit skeptical to book a hotel with such a different name. However, the hotel turned out to be very good VFM hotel i've ever been to in India. The room was clean and spacious. The view offered from the rooftop restaurant was nothing short of spectacular, and the hotel is located right next to the Bagore ki Haveli, the Pichola lake and the Jagdish temple. One of the best location in Udaipur.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank godspeed4476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Arriving from Ranakpur by taxi and then by tuk-tuk to hotel.
We were first given a room on the third floor (booked with Agoda with TV, WiFi, etc..).
However, there was no TV in the room and no WiFi, so we got another room on the first floor with TV and weak Wi-Fi connection.
Welcome went very smoothly - friendly staff - you can ask for anything.
Got extra blankets for the cold nights
In the evening we also got a hot water bottle like in the old times.
In the morning, the temperature is slightly better so you can take breakfast on the rooftop terrace. A small menu for breakfast, but adequate.
In the evening you can have a beautiful sunset on the rooftop terrace. The view on the lake is awsome.
The bathroom is a bit on the small side.
Rooms are cleaned and the towels are changed daily.
The coffee shop across the street and a restaurant (Savage Garden) a little further on, where you can eat very tasty, belong to the same owner.
It is one of the few restaurants that are professionally operated in Radjastan.
The chicken breast with fried potatoes tastes, after a few weeks of vegetarian food, super tasty. They have even mayonnaise.

This review is made taking into account the Indian hotel standards.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Checked in at the hotel and was greeted warmly by the staff and the owner himself. In addition, we were served a welcome drink. The hotel is well decorated,clean and location adequate for the main attractions. The hotel serves european food and has also a cafe (german) just outside which serves european sandwiches,cakes and drinks. which can be a bit pricey for indian standard i think, but you get free and good speed wifi to use.Rooms were very clean although the washbasin had some dust on it. Train was late at night and the hotel kept our luggage nice and safely which was nice. We were given a nice souvenir when we left.

Cons:
No lift and till 4-5th floor i think. Also,view from room is terrible with view of alleys between buildings.Was only given one duvet for two person on first night. There was no dust bin until asked. Hotel staff seem to leave pillows on the floor whilst doing room service and not picking up cups and saucers which have been used. Laundry service was a disaster -was wrongly billed in addition the clothes were poorly cleaned. Also, prices for laundry is not well defined (trousers and shorts are priced the same )


Despite a few issues I would stay again given that in india with the same price range you might end up in some dodgy and unhygienic hotel. Highly recommended for foreigners on a budget.

Room Tip: Lower floors you will get wifi and less to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tushan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#33 of 165 in Udaipur
793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#17 of 165 in Udaipur
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#94 of 165 in Udaipur
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
0.1 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#15 of 165 in Udaipur
1,375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jheel Guest House
Jheel Guest House
#45 of 276 in Udaipur
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Tiger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Tiger

Address: 33 Gangaur Ghat | Near Bagore Ki Haveli, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £17 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel The Tiger 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tiger Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Udaipur's main attractions - City Palace, Jagdish Temple, Gangaur Ghat and the lively Bazaars are only a stone's ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel The Tiger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tiger Hotel Udaipur
Tiger Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing