We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel The Tiger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel The Tiger
Ranked #58 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Weston, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

The Tiger Hotel in Udaipur was amazing. Udaipur itself is amazing. One of the most charming places I've ever visited!
I went with a group of six people and stayed for two nights, I don't have a single complaint.
It's obviously not a five star luxury hotel, but for the price it is more than amazing!
First of all, really really good service. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. I don't remember the concierge's name right now, but seriously one of the nicest guys I have ever met.
Second of all- THE most beautiful view from the rooftop. It seriously takes your breath away. Sometimes I just wanted to stay in the rooftop, looking at the lake instead of going out to explore.
I didn't try lunch or dinner but breakfast was amazing and they seem to have a full bar. Had a couple of drinks with my friends watching the sunset from the rooftop- wow.
The room decor was not the MOST beautiful, if that's what you're looking for, but the rooms were spacious, clean, and the beds were comfortable.
The only reason you should be wary of this hotel is if you have some sort of health problem that makes it hard for you to go up and down stairs- because I didn't really see an elevator...then again, to be fair, I have a feeling that's how it is in most of the city. Lot's of stairs.
The wifi wasn't great in the rooms, but it worked perfectly in the lobby!
I would definitely recommend this place to anybody! Great great memories and they went out of their way to help us with everything we needed.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manuccas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    138
    45
    10
    11
See reviews for
66
162
34
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed in room 19 on the top floor in February 2014. The spacious room has a firm comfortable bed with perfectly clean linen, marble floors, a high ceiling, a large mirror, two large windows, air conditioner and a private bathroom with shower. The whole guesthouse is kept spotlessly clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is centrally located, just steps to the Ganguar Ghat and Lake Pichola and close to the City Palace. The room was very reasonaly priced. I paid about $40.00 Canadian per night for 9 nights. There is no elevator; I am a fit 63 years old and I had no trouble climbing the stairs. There is a wonderful view from the rooftop restaurant, but the views from my room were okay but not spectacular. In summary, this is a very clean and comfortable hotel with very reasonable prices. I would have no hesitation to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

The Tiger is a lovely boutique hotel overlooking the lake in Udaipur.
The rooms are pristine, the service is good and the views from the rooftop terrace are spectacular. The hotel is in a convenient location and within walking distance to most attractions. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank felicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuntherUdaipur, Manager at Hotel The Tiger, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

The thing to do in Udaipur is enjoy lovely views of the city and lake from your hotel rooftop, and The Tiger did not disappoint. It's rooftop is beautiful, and we enjoyed many beers in the sunshine up there. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and satisfactory, and the hotel is walking distance from nearly anything you'd want to see in the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLY_1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We flew in to Udaipur late at night so organised with the hotel for a big car to pick us up (as there was 5 of us). The driver was waiting for us as soon as we got out and took us straight to our hotel. I was concerned he might not take us all the way to the hotel after reading a previous review but he did. When we arrived the staff were fantastic, took our luggage straight to our room and let us sort out sign in etc for the next morning given it was so late. I really liked the tiger themed décor and glass mosaic mirrors everywhere. The rooftop view is spectacular and the location is walking distance to most things we wanted to see. Breakfast is not included but for 4 of us it was only about 600R- nothing flash but ok. The staff were great, very friendly and helpful. The wifi is good in the ground floor lounge but non-existent in our room. there is a tv with some DVD in the lounge-room-we couldn't resist and watched Octopussy which was shot in Udaipur-fun! Many of the rooms face a central stairway with an open middle bit so light and sound comes in from outside. The first night I didn't sleep so well because of this and then slept with earplugs and eyepatch and that worked so either bring with you or check the room to see if there are any windows that face the open stairway.

Room Tip: choose a room with no windows that face the stairway or bring ear plugs and eyepatch
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

The place at first didn't inspire me anything! The deco is poor in the lobby, from there you access you room climbing the stairs, the portlier give us a hand, and when you reach the room you start feeling comfortable! Nice decoration, comfort mattress on the bed, and first of all, the place is quiet ! Breakfast was good, you're served within view minutes, the view from the rooftop is breathtaking! The indoors restaurant has so much potential, sad it looks so cold with barely any furniture, not inviting! They need to improve that! The food was excellent!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank MurgMumtaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Booked the hotel at very last minute via makemytrip. Initially was a bit skeptical to book a hotel with such a different name. However, the hotel turned out to be very good VFM hotel i've ever been to in India. The room was clean and spacious. The view offered from the rooftop restaurant was nothing short of spectacular, and the hotel is located right next to the Bagore ki Haveli, the Pichola lake and the Jagdish temple. One of the best location in Udaipur.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank godspeed4476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Thamla Haveli
Hotel Thamla Haveli
#65 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#95 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anjani Hotel
Anjani Hotel
#62 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Krishna Niwas
Hotel Krishna Niwas
#59 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#26 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Tiger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Tiger

Property: Hotel The Tiger
Address: 33 Gangaur Ghat | Near Bagore Ki Haveli, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
#19 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel The Tiger 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tiger Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Udaipur's main attractions - City Palace, Jagdish Temple, Gangaur Ghat and the lively Bazaars are only a stone's ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel The Tiger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tiger Hotel Udaipur
Tiger Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing