We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shree Jagdish Mahal Heritage Hotel (Nagarseti Ri Haveli)
Ranked #134 of 166 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 29 December 2010

The drama began even before we reached the hotel, we were asked to wait at a point few kms from the hotel for half an hour !Then we were guided into narrow ,non motorable ,winding, crowded, stinking lanes where the innova was repeatedly banged by the two wheelers on all sides.

The sight of the hotel was shocking as it stood on the very same galli with open sewage drains.The outer coutyard at the entrance houses many families and is dirty and unkempt with rags and underclothes on the railings at all levels!The carpet at the reception was caked with dust.And most ghastly colours adorned the doors and seatings of the so called suite!

There were other families like ours who wanted the booking cancelled and that added to the ambience!The manager Mr. Jagdish was the most foulmouthed and ill tempered person I have ever met! His assistant didnt hesitate to shout at the top of his voice at the slightest provocation.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank r_sBlore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2010

My family loves to travel and we have been to several places in India and abroad and stayed in a wide range of hotels. Our experience at Jagdish Mahal has by far been the worst one ever. Our group booked two rooms (a luxury room at Rs 4200 and a deluxe room at Rs. 3600) at Jagdish Mahal for our 2 night stay at Udaipur.

When we arrived we were first made to wait for over 20 minutes at a busy junction for someone to come and lead us to the hotel. All the while the manager insisted that the guy was already waiting for us when we later found out he had decided to take a lunch break and coolly kept us waiting. Then the dilapidated tiny route to the hotel damaged our car in four places.

Once we reached the hotel, the filthy surroundings (there were two buffaloes urinating outside as we entered) and the unkempt nature of the hotel made us want to leave immediately. We asked the manager if there was any way we could cancel the booking and get any of our money back (we had paid over Rs 15000 for the dump). At this point the manager, Mr. Jagdish, started yelling at us loudly, berating and insulting us. He maintained that the money was in the hands of some 'higher authority' but refused to tell us who that person was. The manager is the worst person we have ever met and has absolutely no manners at all. Then he walked out on us at which point another worker at the place (he later moved our luggage) began insulting us loudly as well!

Just as this was happening there was another couple who had arrived at the place and had decided to leave after seeing it. They had come to reclaim their booking money and met the same treatment as us and were actually forced to leave.

We decided finally to stay at the hotel because we really had no other choice that late at night in a city we didn't know our way about. Also we didnt want to let go of our money to such an undeserving place.

The rooms were tiny and had very thin walls. We couldn't sleep the entire night because either the neighbor's tv set or the reception's phone kept ringing and we heard it through the seemingly paper thin walls. Next morning, we were denied breakfast for six people though we had paid for that many. When we asked them to deliver it to the room, the manager again berated us. That evening we discovered the same drama of the previous evening unfolding with a separate group of people who had travelled all the way from Bangalore. The process of people showing up and then demanding their money back seems to be a rather regular occurance that the management has learnt to deal with by screaming at the top of their voices at the guests.

This is the first place we waited to leave. This hotel absolutely ruined Udaipur for us and it will do the same for you. Please trust us and DO NOT make the mistake of planning to stay here. This place is an ABSOLUTE RIP-OFF and is making it's money off of unsuspecting foreigners who are led to believe this is the 'authentic experience'. For the price we paid we felt absolutely and incredibly cheated. I request you to please pass this hotel up when you are planning your trip for your own benefit.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank n_mysore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

First of all the hotel was vary clean. Especially the bath room was vary good. As you know in India most hotel's bath rooms are not good.
Also the people who are working there were vary friendly. They tried to help us as much as they can. How nice it is. And you have to remember the manager Mr.Prakash Sharma. He was quite friendly for us. He helpd me when I need something. Good Good!! I really recommend this hotel in Udaipur.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saem38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

We Checked in the hotel on 2nd Dec 2010 . Nice and courteous staff at the hotel made us feel like Home. From outside hotel looks like a Haveli and has got a charm attached to it .
Rooms are neat and Tidy with Clean bath and bed linen. Has a roof Top restaurant attached to it.
The best par is its close to Jagdish temple and the City Palace is nearby.
Shopping for traditional Indian outfits can be done nearby at Hathi Chowk .
For any help Hotel Manager Mr Prakash Sharma can be contacted.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veenu4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

i went to udaipur with my partner in november. This hotel is one of the best hotel in udaipur. Situated at a very nice n beautiful location, excellent service, u can feel like home there.. complete care of guest is taken there.. they provide their best service to the guests.. one have to learn how to manage all this things from hotel manager, Mr. Prakash Sharma. He is a hardworking n a very friendly nature guy. I like his way of talking. He knows how to handle and take care of guest. Food is also best here. A very good job by service boys Raju n Bharat. I am so happy n delightful to stay in that hotel. I promise n recommed to stay in that hotel whenever went to udaipur.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank napster18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

You will like this fabulous Haveli as much or more than I did! It's fantastic, beautifully refurbished with Rajasthani fresco paintings which you also see in the local palaces. Mr J.C.Joshi is the owner and a brilliant business man. He is helpful, elegant, friendly and so is his staff, from kitchen hand to Reception to housekeeping. You will get the best welcome ever in Rajasthan. The rooms are beautiful, classy, spacious and clean. Each one of them is decorated in old heritage style with Belgium glass work. You sleep well as it's quiet. Last but not least, the restaurant is of excellent quality and you may dine in your room or in the restaurant. Please also enjoy the view from the rooftop.
If you want help with your excursions, Mr Joshi is your man. He will find you the driver, the other hotels and whatever else you need. Talk to him, it's definitely worth it! Enjoy your stay!
please consult their website at: www.shreejagdishmahal.com
Mariana Amar

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edelweiss_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Really unique and beautifully preserved haveli approx 5 mins from the main tourist area in Udaipur (Jagdish temple). Down small side streets, so cars can't really go there, need to take an auto. The shower didn't have hot water, but the spacious rooms (see photos) have fans, a TV and airconditioning. I didn't eat dinner or lunch in the restaurant, but the breakfast was ok - just had to be ordered well in advance. I'd stay here again, and recommend it - just not to people who expect 5 star service - this hotel is really an experience uniquely Indian, something you'd never find in a western hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmr80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#25 of 166 in Udaipur
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pichola Haveli
Pichola Haveli
#126 of 166 in Udaipur
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
OYO 4771 Hotel Anjani
OYO 4771 Hotel Anjani
#76 of 166 in Udaipur
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake View Haveli
Lake View Haveli
#142 of 166 in Udaipur
5 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hadi Rani Palace
Hotel Hadi Rani Palace
#138 of 166 in Udaipur
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
OYO Rooms Jagdish Chowk
OYO Rooms Jagdish Chowk
#103 of 166 in Udaipur
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shree Jagdish Mahal Heritage Hotel (Nagarseti Ri Haveli)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shree Jagdish Mahal Heritage Hotel (Nagarseti Ri Haveli)

Address: Near Vidya Niketan School | Jadiyo ki oll, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 166 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range: £20 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shree Jagdish Mahal Heritage Hotel (Nagarseti Ri Haveli) 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Udaipur city this 250 years old Haveli is situated on the bank of famous road Jadion ki ol from Ghantaghar (Clock-Tower) to Samor bagh. Haveli is easily approachable from city palace to Ghaneroa ki ghati & from Surajpol via Shrinath ji ki haveli. This 250 years old antique Haveli is very famous for its architecture & historical wall paintings, beautiful halls and Gokhdas decorated with number of Belgium glasses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Shree Jagdish Mahal Heritage Hotel (Nagarseti Ri Haveli) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing