We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not so good service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hill Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Hill Lake
Ranked #61 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not so good service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I had booked through make my trip(MMT) and made the complete payment to mmt for 3 days.(Actual stay was only for 2 days)
On the last day, during the check out timings, he told that MMT had made the payment to them only for 2 days and asked us to make the remaining payment. We told him to check with MMT as we have made the complete payment to MMT. He replied stating that they have nothing to do with MMT. We only have to make payment. Immediately, I called MMT and told the details. He changed his words and told MMT that we are asking for refund of rent for 1 day, since we stayed only for 2 days. But finally MMT made it clear that the payment was completely made to the hotel HIll lake.

This wasted our time for 1 hour and luckily we didnt miss our flight. Otherwise, room is fine, food is fine. Location wise, there are hardly any other hotels nearby and hotel is at such a height that auto-rickshaw cannot go and it feels like we are climbing some hill. And its completely dark after 8 at the lane near the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 505Mon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    59
    26
    8
    11
See reviews for
33
60
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Great lake view hotel

Our guests like the wonderful view of the lake. The restaurant has pretty good food, a great view and really good staff. It was a pleasure every time we went up to get a meal.

The hotel is in walking distance to the main downtown and city palace.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anitatoursindias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

We had a room with a view of the lake (not the main lake in Udaipur, but still nice view).
The rooms itself was good. Clean, good sized, good bathroom.

Location was very good. Just few minutes walk to the old town and all the sights.

Restaurant on the roof gives a nice view of Udaipur, we didnt eat there as felt it was more expensive than what was available in town. Breakfast was nice, however.

A major positive is good wifi available throughout the hotel (unlike most places in Rajasthan), but there was an extra charge of Rs 150 a day - not unreasonable in my opinion as the connection was good.

Staff were friendly and helpful, but seemed to always turn off the power for your room at reception when you left the hotel, so if you arrived back when reception wasn't manned, you had to go find someone to turn your power back on, which was slightly annoying, but not a big issue.

Would recommend and happily stay there again.

Travelled June 2013 as a couple, AC room, booked as part of a tour of Rajasthan.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Okciaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viladecans, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

We ended up in this hotel because all the others around were more expensive. The rooms are basic and the toilet is just ok. The manager will try to trick you but just do your thing and keep going. The food is below the expected and some of the waitress don't speak english, so repeat your order until you see they understand.
However, the price was good and we could enjoy the great rooftop views of the lake. The old city is 10 minutes by walking, which is very easy in the quiet Udaipur.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MerceCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Although this hotel is slightly off the 'main' view of the lake & palaces it does mean that you will have a peaceful stay & a good nights sleep! Main town can be very noisy especially at prayer time. It is a about a 10 minute walk to the centre, but the walk is lovely, alonside the lake, lots of little shops to look in on the way.
Our room was beautifully decorated adding to the romance that is Udaipur and the place is super clean, with hot water and everything you need to relax.
There is a rooftop restaurant, the food served was delicious, just a shame that the view isnt as nice as other hotels located closer to the lake palaces for sunset.
Helpful staff and a lovely, relaxing, safe & pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: choose a room with a lakeside view OBVIOUSLY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MillieBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

I had a wonderful experience on this hotel in my whole rajsthan trip.From the manager to the receptionist,from the cleaning staff to the restaurant staff all were at their best.We stayed for three days in the hotel and we were just simply overwhelmed by their hospitality and behavior.The rooms are perfectly cleaned with all modern amenities.I would really suggest people...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muzib r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Nice clean, friendly staff, good food. Lovely view and great location, only down side is the steep walk to the hotel and we could see village people out of our window. udaipur itself is lovely, this is a nice clean place to relax

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Exploringindia2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Royal Pratap Niwas
Hotel Royal Pratap Niwas
#55 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Jagat Villa
Hotel Jagat Villa
#41 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
#48 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gaj Vilas
Hotel Gaj Vilas
#47 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#28 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#42 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hill Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hill Lake

Property: Hotel Hill Lake
Address: Purohit Ji Ka Khurra, Inside Chandpole, | Inside Chandpol, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Hill Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Hill Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Lake Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing