We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean at budget prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
Ranked #77 of 177 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed for three nights and everything was ok. Hot water, nice views of Pichola Lake from the room, clean and the staff very helpful.
They have wi-fi but works sometimes, many times they switched off the router and i had to turned on many times...
The restaurant on the roof was nice and the guys excellent to share conversations!
The best for breakfast is the Edelweiss Cafe, close to the hotel, nice espresso ;)
Only 1 minute walking you have the Lake to seat and relax.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ialvarez26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2012

The rooms are nice and big, although quite overpriced for the small bathroom and rickety bed. We had some lovely window seats although the noisy street was a bit of a minus. Especially as the noise goes late into the night and starts up again in the early morning. The rooftop restaurant is great though, we ate there almost every meal, and the guys who run it are lovely.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yolandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Old stone haveli that’s not as clean or well-kept as places like Kankarwa Haveli, hence prices that are half. Some nice rooms with good lake views and AC but hot water in buckets only; Rs 1,000 for best rooms. Many cheaper rooms. Nice rooftop restaurant with prices not as inflated as many rooftop cafes in town.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank TravelsInParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed here with some friends for a few nights at the end of a one-month trip in India and it was the perfect way to end my time there. The staff are lovely and the attached cafe has fantastic coffees and pastries. There is also a restaurant cafe on the rooftop great for grabbing a dessert or drink at night. Room had a great view of the lake and was clean and comfortable. Right in the center of town so walkable to all the sights and shopping. Just a great place to chill out and relax in India. Also a great art shop in the courtyard of the hotel with beautiful paintings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravlinRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

We stayed 4 nights, the highlights of this place are the well kept haveli style rooms. They are not five star but they are charming and clean.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoniTiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

This hotel is located in Gangaur ghat, next to city palace. The location popular among foreign tourists and we found ourselves as the only Indian group there!! The hotel seems to be a haveli turned property. Rooms are clean, spacious and wel decorated. However there is no telephone in rooms, hence no room service available. But staff is cordial and helpful. There is a roof top restaurant for both veg and nonveg dish and the view from the restaurant is awesome! Nice stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pranab_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Gangaur Palace is an ideal option as it is located at the heart of the city, at walking distance from a few sightseeing locations. The room exceeded our expectations in terms of cleanliness, considering the amount charged. The restaurant is good, food is rightly priced. Nice view of Pichola lake & Lake Palace hotel from the rooftop and the restaurant. Definitely a value for money proposition.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agribirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Ishwar Palace
Hotel Ishwar Palace
#59 of 177 in Udaipur
101 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel The Tiger
Hotel The Tiger
#76 of 177 in Udaipur
396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sargam Sadan
Sargam Sadan
#72 of 177 in Udaipur
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Treebo Udai Niwas
Treebo Udai Niwas
#74 of 177 in Udaipur
281 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Gorbandh
Hotel Gorbandh
#144 of 177 in Udaipur
22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krishna Niwas
Hotel Krishna Niwas
#85 of 177 in Udaipur
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art

Address: 339 Ghangur Ghat Marg | Near City Palace and Baghore Ki Haveli, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 177 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range: £17 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gangaur Palace,located in Udaipur Rajasthan at the famous Ganghaur Ghat, also known as The Ashoka Haveli is a symbol of elegance, grace and regal charm. This heritage property from the past has been renovated into an elite heritage hotel in udaipur keeping in mind the old ambience and the royal splendor.Though it has taken a new shape, the royal and heritage feel has been left intact. Thus making this place a one of its kind heritage hotel in Udaipur,Rajasthan.This heritage hotel in Udaipur is located at a mere distance of 1 km from the City Palace, The Royal Museum of Udaipur and sits right beside the breathtaking location near the Lake Pichola. This heritage hotel in udaipur, which has intricately carved Jharokhas and Chhatries in typical royal manner offers magnificent view of the JagMandir as well as Lake Palace that are situated in between the Lake Pichola.Besides the elegantly furnished rooms it offers a bewitching ethnic appeal along with contemporary hotel facilities like free luggage service, attached baths with hot and cold running water, showers, color televisions, satellite connection, center court, and few paid services like palm reading, art lessons, heena art etc. Styled in medieval style to recreate the brilliant lifestyle of the opulent Rajputs, some of the rooms offer a scenic view of the Lake Pichola.The hotel’s multi-cuisine restaurant, which has delicately executed stone motifs and jharokhas, serves delectable Indian, Chinese and continental delicacies. Guests can also enjoy Roof Top View while enhancing the beauty of Udaipur and its lakeside masterpieces. The Roof top restaurant offers a spectacular lake view with classical music & movie.While you sit for an amazing evening coffee or snacks at our roof top restaurant, you can experience the Sunset happening at the Aravali Mountain Ranges with SajjanGarh Fort in the visible range.As a cherry on the top, let us give you more insights over the things that we will offer you in the same complex.Fond of French Delights ? We expect a ‘Yes’ and so you will find the one and only French bakery of Udaipur at the main entrance of our heritage hotel. Serving confectioneries and other delicacies at this affordable bakery is one of our passion. Our passion to provide best hospitality,facilities and services to each of our customers has given us a spot on the most renowned Travel Blogs as well as on none other Lonely Planet’s list of recommended places in Udaipur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing