We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creapy!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
Ranked #78 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
pichola
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Creapy!!”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Big eyes when I ask to change the bedsheets used by the previous occupant.

Don't trust u have fresh bedsheets.

Teenage creapy guys hover around the entrance.

This room has not seen a rug for at least one year.

Noicy from other guests, because all windows go into to a inside hall.

Only upside is the location, exactly next to the Bagore-ki-Haveli.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank pichola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    73
    28
    7
    6
See reviews for
38
67
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is great, the building has character, we had a nice top floor room with AC, relatively clean and quiet. The food in the restaurant is really good and the waiter is lovely. Our only problem was that you are constantly been hassled to spend money by the hotels shop salesmen. Come look at this dress, textiles, miniatures, rickshaws, tours, blah blah blah. When I am in my hotel I want peace and quiet, I don't want to be hassled as if I am in a market.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Poppy612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilani, India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The hotel is located close to the City palace and Bagore ki Haveli and is just a few steps from the lake. We booked a 3 bed non-AC room for Rs 1500, which was clean and had a authentic feel to it. The staff is helpful, but not very professional and we had problems contacting them when we arrived in Udaipur at 7 in the morning.

Stayed October 2013

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPLINTER A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Hotels situated on main road so there was a parking problem.room was awesome and cleans with partially lake facing.prices was reasonable.food was ok ok.staff are not trained or professional.big problem is there is no telephone was there for contact with reception and Restaurant
Overall it was a nice experience

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burhan687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We had a fantastic stay here. When we arrived I had just had my bag with all my clothing stolen off the train - the staff were very helpful and sympathetic in letting us check in early, giving us a lovely room and suggesting where to get replacement clothing. The hotel is wonderfully located - 5 minutes from City Palace, 2 minutes from the lake and close to restaurants - not to mention its own good rooftop restaurant. The hotel has lots of character - it is decorated in traditional style and has an art gallery and cafe within it - we would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K18281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akshay m, Owner at Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
dear guest,
thank you very much for taking out your precious time and reviewing us on TA.
your detailed description and kind words about our small place has made everyone motivated here.
we will surely try to do our best in future also.
I hope to see you again, the next time you are in Udaipur.

best wishes from all of us at hotel gangaur palace, ashoka arts, café Namaste and restaurant natural city view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The rooms and building really look the part for Udaipur. However, the service is not great. We were told incorrect information on bus information (they are not a tour agency but they insisted there was no AC day bus to Jodhpur when there is - they wanted us to take the night bus which they could book) and wrong info re. lake trips (only one trip whereas there are lots of options going from different places).
The attached restaurants are also pretty average. Food is OK but the staff speak no english and have bad hygiene.
I've been in India for 1 year now so have ALOT of comparisons!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DublinGuy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akshay m, Manager at Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
dear guest,
thanks for your review on TA.
although we did a lot of things to please you, starting from changing the room 2 times, charging your camera, laptop in the shop downstairs, giving you our personal laptop for your work,
discount on the price already fixed, you were only concerned about taking out mistakes about our work.
apart from that the bus information that we gave was also correct.
we said that the availability of the government buses can be checked by going to bus station or a travel agency. we could book a private bus if you want.
in totality, I think that the review was incomplete, but still we are sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations in terms of our service.

hope you have a great year ahead. best wishes from all of us at hotel gangaur palace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It was a great time I have spent over there.. the roof top restaurant and also the german cafe its awesome. You can get the best view from the roof top restaurant. However the owner of the hotel I.e akshay is very co-operative and helpful. You would be having a homely atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ7917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akshay m, Owner at Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
dear guest,
Thanks for reviewing us. It was a pleasure to be of service to you. We are delighted to know that you found the hotel to be a homely stay. and also you liked our roof-top restaurant, cafe.
We would love to welcome you again.
Best wishes from all of us at hotel gangaur palace, restaurant natural city view, café Namaste / French bakery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nayee Haveli
Hotel Nayee Haveli
#40 of 161 in Udaipur
260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#94 of 161 in Udaipur
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#28 of 161 in Udaipur
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krishna Niwas
Hotel Krishna Niwas
#62 of 161 in Udaipur
268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anjani Hotel
Anjani Hotel
#64 of 161 in Udaipur
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hanuman Ghat
Hotel Hanuman Ghat
#74 of 161 in Udaipur
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art

Property: Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
Address: 339 Ghangur Ghat Marg | Near City Palace and Baghore Ki Haveli, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gangaur Palace,located in Udaipur Rajasthan at the famous Ganghaur Ghat, also known as The Ashoka Haveli is a symbol of elegance, grace and regal charm. This heritage property from the past has been renovated into an elite heritage hotel in udaipur keeping in mind the old ambience and the royal splendor.Though it has taken a new shape, the royal and heritage feel has been left intact. Thus making this place a one of its kind heritage hotel in Udaipur,Rajasthan.This heritage hotel in Udaipur is located at a mere distance of 1 km from the City Palace, The Royal Museum of Udaipur and sits right beside the breathtaking location near the Lake Pichola. This heritage hotel in udaipur, which has intricately carved Jharokhas and Chhatries in typical royal manner offers magnificent view of the JagMandir as well as Lake Palace that are situated in between the Lake Pichola.Besides the elegantly furnished rooms it offers a bewitching ethnic appeal along with contemporary hotel facilities like free luggage service, attached baths with hot and cold running water, showers, color televisions, satellite connection, center court, and few paid services like palm reading, art lessons, heena art etc. Styled in medieval style to recreate the brilliant lifestyle of the opulent Rajputs, some of the rooms offer a scenic view of the Lake Pichola.The hotel’s multi-cuisine restaurant, which has delicately executed stone motifs and jharokhas, serves delectable Indian, Chinese and continental delicacies. Guests can also enjoy Roof Top View while enhancing the beauty of Udaipur and its lakeside masterpieces. The Roof top restaurant offers a spectacular lake view with classical music & movie.While you sit for an amazing evening coffee or snacks at our roof top restaurant, you can experience the Sunset happening at the Aravali Mountain Ranges with SajjanGarh Fort in the visible range.As a cherry on the top, let us give you more insights over the things that we will offer you in the same complex.Fond of French Delights ? We expect a ‘Yes’ and so you will find the one and only French bakery of Udaipur at the main entrance of our heritage hotel. Serving confectioneries and other delicacies at this affordable bakery is one of our passion. Our passion to provide best hospitality,facilities and services to each of our customers has given us a spot on the most renowned Travel Blogs as well as on none other Lonely Planet’s list of recommended places in Udaipur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing