We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good it can be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
Ranked #80 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 26 November 2013

As by our three nights stay we feels that it's good choice in udaipur but it can be better by pointing out some stuffs in hotels such as at reception most of the time there is no one to attend travelers,rooms and bathrooms must be clean after having two nights,windows becomes a bit noisy better to put some glass on that.
Owner and staff is helpful rooms are nice and well decorated location is good

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayadmaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with family. The owner was very polite and co-operative. Entire staff was supportive. I was in room no. 301 on 2nd floor, very good room. There was no lift, but you can not ask even in this much budget. Owner told us that he is planning to add lift facility very soon. Roof Top restaurant is also very nice with lack facing view. It provides good food. Overall it was very satisfactory stay for me.

Room Tip: I can say for room no. 301 only as I stayed there. Its good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harish_Hurmade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Big eyes when I ask to change the bedsheets used by the previous occupant.

Don't trust u have fresh bedsheets.

Teenage creapy guys hover around the entrance.

This room has not seen a rug for at least one year.

Noicy from other guests, because all windows go into to a inside hall.

Only upside is the location, exactly next to the Bagore-ki-Haveli.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank pichola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is great, the building has character, we had a nice top floor room with AC, relatively clean and quiet. The food in the restaurant is really good and the waiter is lovely. Our only problem was that you are constantly been hassled to spend money by the hotels shop salesmen. Come look at this dress, textiles, miniatures, rickshaws, tours, blah blah blah. When I am in my hotel I want peace and quiet, I don't want to be hassled as if I am in a market.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Poppy612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The hotel is located close to the City palace and Bagore ki Haveli and is just a few steps from the lake. We booked a 3 bed non-AC room for Rs 1500, which was clean and had a authentic feel to it. The staff is helpful, but not very professional and we had problems contacting them when we arrived in Udaipur at 7 in the morning.

Stayed October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPLINTER A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Hotels situated on main road so there was a parking problem.room was awesome and cleans with partially lake facing.prices was reasonable.food was ok ok.staff are not trained or professional.big problem is there is no telephone was there for contact with reception and Restaurant
Overall it was a nice experience

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burhan687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We had a fantastic stay here. When we arrived I had just had my bag with all my clothing stolen off the train - the staff were very helpful and sympathetic in letting us check in early, giving us a lovely room and suggesting where to get replacement clothing. The hotel is wonderfully located - 5 minutes from City Palace, 2 minutes from the lake and close to restaurants - not to mention its own good rooftop restaurant. The hotel has lots of character - it is decorated in traditional style and has an art gallery and cafe within it - we would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K18281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akshay m, Owner at Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

dear guest,
thank you very much for taking out your precious time and reviewing us on TA.
your detailed description and kind words about our small place has made everyone motivated here.
we will surely try to do our best in future also.
I hope to see you again, the next time you are in Udaipur.

best wishes from all of us at hotel gangaur palace, ashoka arts, café Namaste and restaurant natural city view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#95 of 165 in Udaipur
247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pichola Haveli
Pichola Haveli
#131 of 165 in Udaipur
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#31 of 165 in Udaipur
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#33 of 165 in Udaipur
244 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anjani Hotel
Anjani Hotel
#71 of 165 in Udaipur
502 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel The Tiger
Hotel The Tiger
#72 of 165 in Udaipur
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art

Address: 339 Ghangur Ghat Marg | Near City Palace and Baghore Ki Haveli, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range: £23 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gangaur Palace,located in Udaipur Rajasthan at the famous Ganghaur Ghat, also known as The Ashoka Haveli is a symbol of elegance, grace and regal charm. This heritage property from the past has been renovated into an elite heritage hotel in udaipur keeping in mind the old ambience and the royal splendor.Though it has taken a new shape, the royal and heritage feel has been left intact. Thus making this place a one of its kind heritage hotel in Udaipur,Rajasthan.This heritage hotel in Udaipur is located at a mere distance of 1 km from the City Palace, The Royal Museum of Udaipur and sits right beside the breathtaking location near the Lake Pichola. This heritage hotel in udaipur, which has intricately carved Jharokhas and Chhatries in typical royal manner offers magnificent view of the JagMandir as well as Lake Palace that are situated in between the Lake Pichola.Besides the elegantly furnished rooms it offers a bewitching ethnic appeal along with contemporary hotel facilities like free luggage service, attached baths with hot and cold running water, showers, color televisions, satellite connection, center court, and few paid services like palm reading, art lessons, heena art etc. Styled in medieval style to recreate the brilliant lifestyle of the opulent Rajputs, some of the rooms offer a scenic view of the Lake Pichola.The hotel’s multi-cuisine restaurant, which has delicately executed stone motifs and jharokhas, serves delectable Indian, Chinese and continental delicacies. Guests can also enjoy Roof Top View while enhancing the beauty of Udaipur and its lakeside masterpieces. The Roof top restaurant offers a spectacular lake view with classical music & movie.While you sit for an amazing evening coffee or snacks at our roof top restaurant, you can experience the Sunset happening at the Aravali Mountain Ranges with SajjanGarh Fort in the visible range.As a cherry on the top, let us give you more insights over the things that we will offer you in the same complex.Fond of French Delights ? We expect a ‘Yes’ and so you will find the one and only French bakery of Udaipur at the main entrance of our heritage hotel. Serving confectioneries and other delicacies at this affordable bakery is one of our passion. Our passion to provide best hospitality,facilities and services to each of our customers has given us a spot on the most renowned Travel Blogs as well as on none other Lonely Planet’s list of recommended places in Udaipur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing