We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
Ranked #72 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Placed on a superb location at the heart of the city. Major tourist places are at a walking distance from here. The staff was very courteous, helped in all possible manner. There is a rooftop restaurant in this hotel with good food options. Cafe Namaste is in their premises only, try french toast there.
Overall superb value for money...!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    71
    27
    7
    6
See reviews for
35
63
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Near most of the famous spots, this guesthouse has clean rooms and a supportive staff.
When I was there they were reforming it, but they made all efforts that this wouldn`t disturb us.

There were some others with better cost-benefit relations, but this one was cheaper and had no weird-looking owners.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Excellent hotel for mid budget tourist ... apt location for travelers .... superb staff .... only lacking thing is Elevator ..... No lift ..... otherwise its d best for a mid budget tourist. i really like the homely atmosphere .... also they are very helpful .... and their masala tea .... coffee and french toast is par excellence

Room Tip: choose room no. 208 or 209
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manvanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We were there for only two days. But the staff were very helpful and gave lot of information about the place, people and price as well. Room was clean and well maintained. It has very good sunset view from rooftop. Conveniently located. Near to city palace and Gangour Ghat.

Inky issue is, rooftop restaurant is very expensive and they don't serve alcohol.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank msvbhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

This hotel was one of my favourites in India, but not because of the pushy shop keeper!! The building is a lovely large building near the lake and the room we had was big and bright. The room had a lovely view across other rooftops and towards the lake and was very clean. However there are smaller, cheaper ones without windows that we were allowed to use the day we checked out as I was not feeling so well and needed to lie down while waiting for my train. The staff were very accommodating about this and also very prompt at doing laundry. The restaurant was also very nice but the cafe down stairs was my favourite, their baked beans on toast is the nicest I have ever had, try it and you will never eat Heinz again!!!

Room Tip: Pay a little more for the rooms with windows, its not much more but definitely worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

the hotel is @ very good location & most of the sightseeing points are within walking distance.the hotel even provides a map to roam around the area.
although the building is very old & the rooms lacks basic amenities like tap in toilets & intercom to callup service / reception & housekeeping is little poor but these can be compensated with the price paid.
the roof top restaurant is very good & u get a very good view of the lake from there. all the staff are very polite & always ready to help.
while in udaipur stay away from autowallahs, they will never tell you the exact distance & charge you hefty amount even for a 1/2 km journey.
most of the places are near to hotel so u dont need a auto, even if u need one its always good to bargain.
ask local people about directions , distance etc. udaipur is a place to walk.
walk through the market . u'll enjoy it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Molay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Me and my wife were travelling to Udaipur for the very first time . After long drive from Delhi to udaipur we searched many hotels . Either they were too expensive or not the right location for us.So we saw this hotel which was situated in the middle of Main Bazaar 100 steps away from Bagore ki Haveli where u can go and see the Amazing Folk dances of Rajasthan. The Rooms were clean n Spacious and also the Staff was good. Namaste cafe downstairs is awesome n so is the Roof top restaurant. Staff was friendly and if next time we go to Udaipur this will be our next stop.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickymuker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hanuman Ghat
Hotel Hanuman Ghat
#73 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Thamla Haveli
Hotel Thamla Haveli
#63 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nayee Haveli
Hotel Nayee Haveli
#42 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gaj Vilas
Hotel Gaj Vilas
#52 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hadi Rani Palace
Hotel Hadi Rani Palace
#88 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#95 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art

Property: Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
Address: 339 Ghangur Ghat Marg | Near City Palace and Baghore Ki Haveli, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gangaur Palace,located in Udaipur Rajasthan at the famous Ganghaur Ghat, also known as The Ashoka Haveli is a symbol of elegance, grace and regal charm. This heritage property from the past has been renovated into an elite heritage hotel in udaipur keeping in mind the old ambience and the royal splendor.Though it has taken a new shape, the royal and heritage feel has been left intact. Thus making this place a one of its kind heritage hotel in Udaipur,Rajasthan.This heritage hotel in Udaipur is located at a mere distance of 1 km from the City Palace, The Royal Museum of Udaipur and sits right beside the breathtaking location near the Lake Pichola. This heritage hotel in udaipur, which has intricately carved Jharokhas and Chhatries in typical royal manner offers magnificent view of the JagMandir as well as Lake Palace that are situated in between the Lake Pichola.Besides the elegantly furnished rooms it offers a bewitching ethnic appeal along with contemporary hotel facilities like free luggage service, attached baths with hot and cold running water, showers, color televisions, satellite connection, center court, and few paid services like palm reading, art lessons, heena art etc. Styled in medieval style to recreate the brilliant lifestyle of the opulent Rajputs, some of the rooms offer a scenic view of the Lake Pichola.The hotel’s multi-cuisine restaurant, which has delicately executed stone motifs and jharokhas, serves delectable Indian, Chinese and continental delicacies. Guests can also enjoy Roof Top View while enhancing the beauty of Udaipur and its lakeside masterpieces. The Roof top restaurant offers a spectacular lake view with classical music & movie.While you sit for an amazing evening coffee or snacks at our roof top restaurant, you can experience the Sunset happening at the Aravali Mountain Ranges with SajjanGarh Fort in the visible range.As a cherry on the top, let us give you more insights over the things that we will offer you in the same complex.Fond of French Delights ? We expect a ‘Yes’ and so you will find the one and only French bakery of Udaipur at the main entrance of our heritage hotel. Serving confectioneries and other delicacies at this affordable bakery is one of our passion. Our passion to provide best hospitality,facilities and services to each of our customers has given us a spot on the most renowned Travel Blogs as well as on none other Lonely Planet’s list of recommended places in Udaipur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing