We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Memorable Time with Hotel Gangaur Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
Ranked #72 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Memorable Time with Hotel Gangaur Palace”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

A hotel with such a friendly staff i had never seen in my life it was my first experience in Udaipur , the city of lake , the city where people are so polite and helping by nature this all proves by the hotel staff . more or less rooms are no doubt superb , spacious, clean , lake view is awesome , good food and services provided by the staff has no words to say . All kind of support we got from them. one of the best hotel we have stayed in so far , hope i will visit again udaipur.

Room Tip: The room which is provided to us is also gud bt try once painting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PriyankaKhattar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akshay m, Owner at Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
dear guest,
Thanks for writing for us with such great warmth and generosity.
your kind words about the hotel and its staff are highly motivating.
we would love to welcome you again the next time you are in Udaipur.
next time with the painting room.
:)

have a great year ahead.


regards
akshay
+91-8560899955
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    72
    28
    7
    6
See reviews for
37
64
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Friendly service with a smile & good food along with clean rooms & bathrooms U can expect. Had a bit of problem with the water in the bathroom on the 1st day, which took a while to solve. But recommended place to stay for sure! It is very close to the City Palace & has a lot of the services close by.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Mihir F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akshay m, Owner at Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
dear guest
thanks for your review on TA.
we are glad to know that you had a happy stay at gangaur palace.
we have hot water from the solar, that is the reason it takes some time to get it heated.
we are planning to install geysers in the rooms, so you would not have any problem of such kind.

hope to see you the next time you are in Udaipur.
best wishes for the future from hotel gangaur palace.

regards
akshay
+91-8560899955
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

To be honest we were a bit reluctant to stay here after some bad reviews, but after spending two nights here we had a stay above expectations. The rooms are not 100 years old as they will tell you, more like 5, but they are spacious with a big bed and the top ones have the attractive lake view. The staff was helpful at every instant, and we felt they were trustworthy. Nor were we ever bothered by the hawkers in the shop downstairs as many other reviews mention.

The location is perfect if you want to stroll around the very touristy area around the lake or visit any of the top attractions.

Room Tip: Top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fredrik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akshay m, Owner at Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
dear guest
thanks for your review on TA.
we are glad to know that your stay was above your expectations.
we have been trying to put all our efforts to make your stay pleasant.
there are always some of the bad reviews. from which we can always learna nd helps us to improve.
apart from that the haveli is actually about 250years old. we have some rooms which are actually that old.
the room given to you was a newly constructed room a few years back, that is why you didn't feel the same.

i hope you visit the place again the next time you are in Udaipur.
this time may be in an old styled painting room.

have a nice year ahead.

regards
akshay
+91-8560899955
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We booked initially for one night and ended up staying for 3. Although the hotel was booked out, they happily upgraded our room at no extra charge to accomodate the extended stay. The staff at the hotel go out of there way to help you. We stayed over new years and the staff called many different locations for us to find us the right Gala Dinner for the occasion. They also assisted with Bus bookings, money change and general advice. The art class is awesome! the rooftop restaurant has a romantic lake view and the food is delicious. Best hotel we have stayed in so far in India without a doubt.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akshay m, Owner at Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
dear guest
thanks for such a fantastic review about the hotel.
i really hope that you had a nice new year party at the jagmandir.
the staff of gangaur palace tries its level best to ensure that the guests wishes are fulfilled.

we would love to welcome you back in the hotel the next time you are in Udaipur.

best wishes for the year 2014.

regards

akshay
+91-8560899955
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vapi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Rocking place great location, we got accomodate very well by host of the hotel. Rooms are good try to find front side rooms it had view of city. Just need to look after about cleaness of the hotel rest of the things are well to stay in udaipur.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amesvpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Placed on a superb location at the heart of the city. Major tourist places are at a walking distance from here. The staff was very courteous, helped in all possible manner. There is a rooftop restaurant in this hotel with good food options. Cafe Namaste is in their premises only, try french toast there.
Overall superb value for money...!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Near most of the famous spots, this guesthouse has clean rooms and a supportive staff.
When I was there they were reforming it, but they made all efforts that this wouldn`t disturb us.

There were some others with better cost-benefit relations, but this one was cheaper and had no weird-looking owners.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nayee Haveli
Hotel Nayee Haveli
#39 of 156 in Udaipur
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Thamla Haveli
Hotel Thamla Haveli
#68 of 156 in Udaipur
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krishna Niwas
Hotel Krishna Niwas
#63 of 156 in Udaipur
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hanuman Ghat
Hotel Hanuman Ghat
#77 of 156 in Udaipur
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
OYO Rooms Jagdish Chowk
OYO Rooms Jagdish Chowk
#94 of 156 in Udaipur
147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anjani Hotel
Anjani Hotel
#65 of 156 in Udaipur
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art

Property: Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
Address: 339 Ghangur Ghat Marg | Near City Palace and Baghore Ki Haveli, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gangaur Palace,located in Udaipur Rajasthan at the famous Ganghaur Ghat, also known as The Ashoka Haveli is a symbol of elegance, grace and regal charm. This heritage property from the past has been renovated into an elite heritage hotel in udaipur keeping in mind the old ambience and the royal splendor.Though it has taken a new shape, the royal and heritage feel has been left intact. Thus making this place a one of its kind heritage hotel in Udaipur,Rajasthan.This heritage hotel in Udaipur is located at a mere distance of 1 km from the City Palace, The Royal Museum of Udaipur and sits right beside the breathtaking location near the Lake Pichola. This heritage hotel in udaipur, which has intricately carved Jharokhas and Chhatries in typical royal manner offers magnificent view of the JagMandir as well as Lake Palace that are situated in between the Lake Pichola.Besides the elegantly furnished rooms it offers a bewitching ethnic appeal along with contemporary hotel facilities like free luggage service, attached baths with hot and cold running water, showers, color televisions, satellite connection, center court, and few paid services like palm reading, art lessons, heena art etc. Styled in medieval style to recreate the brilliant lifestyle of the opulent Rajputs, some of the rooms offer a scenic view of the Lake Pichola.The hotel’s multi-cuisine restaurant, which has delicately executed stone motifs and jharokhas, serves delectable Indian, Chinese and continental delicacies. Guests can also enjoy Roof Top View while enhancing the beauty of Udaipur and its lakeside masterpieces. The Roof top restaurant offers a spectacular lake view with classical music & movie.While you sit for an amazing evening coffee or snacks at our roof top restaurant, you can experience the Sunset happening at the Aravali Mountain Ranges with SajjanGarh Fort in the visible range.As a cherry on the top, let us give you more insights over the things that we will offer you in the same complex.Fond of French Delights ? We expect a ‘Yes’ and so you will find the one and only French bakery of Udaipur at the main entrance of our heritage hotel. Serving confectioneries and other delicacies at this affordable bakery is one of our passion. Our passion to provide best hospitality,facilities and services to each of our customers has given us a spot on the most renowned Travel Blogs as well as on none other Lonely Planet’s list of recommended places in Udaipur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing