We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unparalleled and Unforgettable Experience- BEST hotel in Udaipur by far”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
Ranked #74 of 175 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My experience in the Gangaur Palace was unforgettable. You will be doing yourself a great disservice should you decide to stay anywhere else in Udaipur. The location can't be beat, the building is architecturally beautiful, the rooms are spacious & clean with great lake views. Most importantly, the owner and the staff at the restaurant and hotel are all sweethearts. I felt at home every second I was there and would return in a heart beat to spend more time. Also, the food is excellent both at the cafe downstairs and the rooftop restaurant. The rate is crazy reasonable compared to other hotels in the area as well which don't come close to meeting the standard of excellence that Gangaur does. I say without reservation that this place is unparalleled in every respect and its your loss if you don't check it out!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room, preferably on the top floor. There bigger room don't have as nice of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SAM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

When you enter the Haveli. U are completely into a different world. The lobby itself is a real ART lovers paradise. There are artist painting, artifacts displayed, CoffeeShop inviting for Coffee and muffins(they are very good:must try).
The rooms are perfect very nicely decorated. with TV and Restaurant is very good. Tried Italian n Indian, both were good.
Met the owner in the lobby during checkout. He is a Gentleman and a gem of a person. Was tell me about the restoration. Gr8 JOB.
Location : It is just steps away from the Ghat, which is picture perfect. Also transport is available from-to Rail Station.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BipsnGoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

all the rooms are nice,however keep away from top floor ,coz there is restaurant right above with wrought iron chairs,so lot of noise if anyone trying to adjust their seats for good meal, rooms are clean and lovely ,stayed at 302 which has lovely view to lake and lake palace too .
Staff is also good, knowledgeable . will assist with travelbook and ways. hotel is very close to Bagore palace ,enjoy the evening show ;
Ashoka art gallery ,have fallen in love with the work they do and all the paintings which were displayed to me, reasonable prices. Hitesh been very good host to show you around,
Yogesh soni,Ganesh soni and Yashwant soni (jimmy) beautiful and talented artist family, would recommend everyone to come enjoy their art and purchase masterpieces they have created . Bought 4 of their paintings , happy to help them and boost their talent

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice,however keep away from top floor ,coz there is restaurant right above with wr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kunal2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I was in Udaipur last month. Though I wasn't staying here, I went to their restaurant and cafe regularly. They serve very good food in their restaurant, even their bakery is quite interesting. They run informal drawing classes in the courtyard of their hotel. They also have a well managed showroom of miniature paintings in the same complex. While visiting this place, I felt that this would make for an interesting experiential stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay_Indiaexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We found this hotel via TripAdvisor and were very positively surprised by this hotel!
Great location, small but really cute... clean rooms. The personnel at the reception, coffee shop, handcraft shop and other employees in the hotel are quite nice! The receptionists were very friendly and helpful... not trying to overcharge us, but instead really helpful to find what to see in the area and where not to go (too touristic).
Great ratio quality / price!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelholism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The coffee shop downstairs has been renovated and really looks fantastic, it’s such a wonderful little place to sit and relax chilling out in the afternoon. The rooms all vary in size and ambiance so look at a few before booking. there are ongoing art classes here, which are so chilled out and a wonderful little crafts to purchase. They have wonderful pastries to take away for your journey on wards.

Room Tip: Check out a few rooms before deciding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dublinblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akshay m, Owner at Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

dear guest
thanks for your review on TA.
we appreciate your feedback and would surely welcome you again to have a homely atmosphere here.
we have been trying from years to give our guests a comfortable stay.
we have renovated our café and some of our rooms too.

apart from that we do have a roof top restaurant, a miniature art shop and of course café Namaste.


regards
akshay
+91-8560899955

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

a delightful place with very cheap prices. The building is hundreds of years old and full of charm. The rooms are beautiful and our backpacks looked slightly out of place. Some rooms are smaller than others so ask to see the different options.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ailbhe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akshay m, Owner at Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

dear guest,
thanks for our kind feedback on TA.
we have been trying to give our guests maximum in the minimum prices.
our building is more than 250 years old and that's what is liked by all the people around.
we do have many ranges of rooms at many different prices too.

we would love to welcome you the next time you are in Udaipur.


regards
akshay
+91-8560899955

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0 mi away
Hotel The Tiger
Hotel The Tiger
#77 of 175 in Udaipur
392 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#81 of 175 in Udaipur
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nayee Haveli
Hotel Nayee Haveli
#46 of 175 in Udaipur
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Space
Hotel The Space
#104 of 175 in Udaipur
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#27 of 175 in Udaipur
268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Gorbandh
Hotel Gorbandh
#141 of 175 in Udaipur
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art

Address: 339 Ghangur Ghat Marg | Near City Palace and Baghore Ki Haveli, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 175 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range: £21 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gangaur Palace,located in Udaipur Rajasthan at the famous Ganghaur Ghat, also known as The Ashoka Haveli is a symbol of elegance, grace and regal charm. This heritage property from the past has been renovated into an elite heritage hotel in udaipur keeping in mind the old ambience and the royal splendor.Though it has taken a new shape, the royal and heritage feel has been left intact. Thus making this place a one of its kind heritage hotel in Udaipur,Rajasthan.This heritage hotel in Udaipur is located at a mere distance of 1 km from the City Palace, The Royal Museum of Udaipur and sits right beside the breathtaking location near the Lake Pichola. This heritage hotel in udaipur, which has intricately carved Jharokhas and Chhatries in typical royal manner offers magnificent view of the JagMandir as well as Lake Palace that are situated in between the Lake Pichola.Besides the elegantly furnished rooms it offers a bewitching ethnic appeal along with contemporary hotel facilities like free luggage service, attached baths with hot and cold running water, showers, color televisions, satellite connection, center court, and few paid services like palm reading, art lessons, heena art etc. Styled in medieval style to recreate the brilliant lifestyle of the opulent Rajputs, some of the rooms offer a scenic view of the Lake Pichola.The hotel’s multi-cuisine restaurant, which has delicately executed stone motifs and jharokhas, serves delectable Indian, Chinese and continental delicacies. Guests can also enjoy Roof Top View while enhancing the beauty of Udaipur and its lakeside masterpieces. The Roof top restaurant offers a spectacular lake view with classical music & movie.While you sit for an amazing evening coffee or snacks at our roof top restaurant, you can experience the Sunset happening at the Aravali Mountain Ranges with SajjanGarh Fort in the visible range.As a cherry on the top, let us give you more insights over the things that we will offer you in the same complex.Fond of French Delights ? We expect a ‘Yes’ and so you will find the one and only French bakery of Udaipur at the main entrance of our heritage hotel. Serving confectioneries and other delicacies at this affordable bakery is one of our passion. Our passion to provide best hospitality,facilities and services to each of our customers has given us a spot on the most renowned Travel Blogs as well as on none other Lonely Planet’s list of recommended places in Udaipur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing