We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“suitable for family tours only”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
Ranked #79 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 22 March 2014

very inside from main road
no parking facility
its a great headache to reach the hotel by your own car becouse hotel is on dead end and its a one way road for peak hours
its a without lift hotel and no waiter is there to take your lugguage to your room which may be on 3rd floor
no bucket or mug in the bathroom
you have to call every time loudly to call boy/waiter/reception as there in no bell or intercom in the room
no tea or breakfast available before 8.30- 9.00 am and checkout time is sharp 10
staff cooperation is zero
else if anything left is fine.
parveen

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Parveen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

I'm currently on my last night stay at the Gangaur Palace hotel. The rooms are as advertised with the heritage feel and the hotel is walking distance to the Jagdish Temple and the dance show is just down the street. However, of the 3 days here, we've only seen someone at the front desk once. We wanted a city map and recommendations but nobody was there to help us. In the end, we had dinner at the nearby Jaiwana Hotel and saw some information in their lobby, we ended up booking our Jodhpur trip there instead.

There's wifi at the Gangaur Palace but maybe it's the location of our room or maybe it's because of the stone walls, there is no reception inside the rooms. We sat in the hallway every night to use the internet. The restaurant upstairs is decent, but we found the food to be a little salty. There is drilling on the road right outside our window so it got really loud in the morning.

If you're looking for a budget room to just sleep and do your own thing, Gangaur Palace can be the place to book. 750 rupees is a good deal, but just don't expect any service.

On a side note: I emailed the hotel before arriving so check how much to pay the rickshaw from train station to hotel and got a response within 24 hours. I wish this person would be at the reception desk more often though!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CdnSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The building of the hotel is an old haveli and includes several nice shops on the ground level. Although, the room, in which we stayed, was a bit rundown, it still had a lot of haveli-charm. We stayed in one of the not yet renovated rooms, thus, it was a bit cheaper (600 Rs). The other rooms are more expensive. The room itself was very clean. WiFi was available in the foyer. The view from the rooftop terrace is very nice as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regina1286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I was here during 2nd march to 4th march with my 5 other friends. Udaipur was our last destination of Rajasthan trip. Our driver drop us at some center point saying that its impossible for him to drive Innova into the small roads (which was not wrong as we saw many Innova's near our hotel). Anyway, but you don't need Auto (which asks 100 Rs for Lake Pichola), you can cover the distance on your feet. It is really 5-10 minutes walk away from City Palace & just 50 feets away from Baghore ki Haveli (don't miss evening show at the Baghore ki Haveli. Its OK if you don't see museum but that show is MUST )

200 years old property is amazing in structure. It gives you that historic feeling to your stay. You will find few artists working on their drawings at the center of hotel (ground floor) which was quite interesting & unusual for me. You can observe their work and chat with them if you are ardent lover of art.

Although bathroom was not good, remaining room was nice & clean. There is small balcony kind of space in the room which is closed from outside ( you can see outside from balcony) but they have put mattress & cushions in their which makes that room quite fabulous.

Roof top of the Hotel is nice but if you expect a view of Lake Pichola then you will be disappointed. You can only have a glimpse of Lake from roof top. Staff is really helpful & kind.
One interesting thing I found was the hotel has few books related to travelling which you can read if you want.

Room Tip: Visit all the places of Udaipur but return to your hotel between 6-6:30 pm. Get fresh & MUST go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geetesag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My experience in the Gangaur Palace was unforgettable. You will be doing yourself a great disservice should you decide to stay anywhere else in Udaipur. The location can't be beat, the building is architecturally beautiful, the rooms are spacious & clean with great lake views. Most importantly, the owner and the staff at the restaurant and hotel are all sweethearts. I felt at home every second I was there and would return in a heart beat to spend more time. Also, the food is excellent both at the cafe downstairs and the rooftop restaurant. The rate is crazy reasonable compared to other hotels in the area as well which don't come close to meeting the standard of excellence that Gangaur does. I say without reservation that this place is unparalleled in every respect and its your loss if you don't check it out!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room, preferably on the top floor. There bigger room don't have as nice of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SAM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

When you enter the Haveli. U are completely into a different world. The lobby itself is a real ART lovers paradise. There are artist painting, artifacts displayed, CoffeeShop inviting for Coffee and muffins(they are very good:must try).
The rooms are perfect very nicely decorated. with TV and Restaurant is very good. Tried Italian n Indian, both were good.
Met the owner in the lobby during checkout. He is a Gentleman and a gem of a person. Was tell me about the restoration. Gr8 JOB.
Location : It is just steps away from the Ghat, which is picture perfect. Also transport is available from-to Rail Station.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BipsnGoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

all the rooms are nice,however keep away from top floor ,coz there is restaurant right above with wrought iron chairs,so lot of noise if anyone trying to adjust their seats for good meal, rooms are clean and lovely ,stayed at 302 which has lovely view to lake and lake palace too .
Staff is also good, knowledgeable . will assist with travelbook and ways. hotel is very close to Bagore palace ,enjoy the evening show ;
Ashoka art gallery ,have fallen in love with the work they do and all the paintings which were displayed to me, reasonable prices. Hitesh been very good host to show you around,
Yogesh soni,Ganesh soni and Yashwant soni (jimmy) beautiful and talented artist family, would recommend everyone to come enjoy their art and purchase masterpieces they have created . Bought 4 of their paintings , happy to help them and boost their talent

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice,however keep away from top floor ,coz there is restaurant right above with wr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kunal2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nayee Haveli
Hotel Nayee Haveli
#36 of 165 in Udaipur
267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#95 of 165 in Udaipur
247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pichola Haveli
Pichola Haveli
#130 of 165 in Udaipur
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#31 of 165 in Udaipur
792 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#30 of 165 in Udaipur
243 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anjani Hotel
Anjani Hotel
#72 of 165 in Udaipur
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art

Address: 339 Ghangur Ghat Marg | Near City Palace and Baghore Ki Haveli, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range: £23 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gangaur Palace,located in Udaipur Rajasthan at the famous Ganghaur Ghat, also known as The Ashoka Haveli is a symbol of elegance, grace and regal charm. This heritage property from the past has been renovated into an elite heritage hotel in udaipur keeping in mind the old ambience and the royal splendor.Though it has taken a new shape, the royal and heritage feel has been left intact. Thus making this place a one of its kind heritage hotel in Udaipur,Rajasthan.This heritage hotel in Udaipur is located at a mere distance of 1 km from the City Palace, The Royal Museum of Udaipur and sits right beside the breathtaking location near the Lake Pichola. This heritage hotel in udaipur, which has intricately carved Jharokhas and Chhatries in typical royal manner offers magnificent view of the JagMandir as well as Lake Palace that are situated in between the Lake Pichola.Besides the elegantly furnished rooms it offers a bewitching ethnic appeal along with contemporary hotel facilities like free luggage service, attached baths with hot and cold running water, showers, color televisions, satellite connection, center court, and few paid services like palm reading, art lessons, heena art etc. Styled in medieval style to recreate the brilliant lifestyle of the opulent Rajputs, some of the rooms offer a scenic view of the Lake Pichola.The hotel’s multi-cuisine restaurant, which has delicately executed stone motifs and jharokhas, serves delectable Indian, Chinese and continental delicacies. Guests can also enjoy Roof Top View while enhancing the beauty of Udaipur and its lakeside masterpieces. The Roof top restaurant offers a spectacular lake view with classical music & movie.While you sit for an amazing evening coffee or snacks at our roof top restaurant, you can experience the Sunset happening at the Aravali Mountain Ranges with SajjanGarh Fort in the visible range.As a cherry on the top, let us give you more insights over the things that we will offer you in the same complex.Fond of French Delights ? We expect a ‘Yes’ and so you will find the one and only French bakery of Udaipur at the main entrance of our heritage hotel. Serving confectioneries and other delicacies at this affordable bakery is one of our passion. Our passion to provide best hospitality,facilities and services to each of our customers has given us a spot on the most renowned Travel Blogs as well as on none other Lonely Planet’s list of recommended places in Udaipur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing