We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with very nice location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
Ranked #72 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Ghaziabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with very nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

its a very good hotel that is present in the beautiful vicinity of lake pichola in udaipur. The hotel staff is very cooperative and helping. it has a roof top restaurant which serves you with good Indian food. i will prefer to visit the hotel again during my next visit to udaipur.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank mohitksri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    71
    27
    7
    6
See reviews for
35
63
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Angers, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

The Gangaur Palace is located in a very beautiful area, namely within two passes from the Gangaur Ghat. Accordingly, it is the perfect place to be during the Gangaur Festival ! You will find cheerful and helpful the few people at the reception desk. Rooms are all decent, some of them having a special charm. Rates are honest. You will enjoy the terrace which will offer you a splendid view over the Pichola Lake, especially for sunset or sunrise. Please try the "French Bakery" too even if the person in charge turns out to be busy most of the time, thus reading newspapers...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sylvain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

A very nice family hotel in a great location .Really cool , and you can not imagine having that with 12 euros ! Also try the food in the hotel and of course talk with the small boss ! Akshay .He wil show the best calligraphy miniatures in Udaipur Not to miss even though you are a lux traveler .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Konstantinos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

very inside from main road
no parking facility
its a great headache to reach the hotel by your own car becouse hotel is on dead end and its a one way road for peak hours
its a without lift hotel and no waiter is there to take your lugguage to your room which may be on 3rd floor
no bucket or mug in the bathroom
you have to call every time loudly to call boy/waiter/reception as there in no bell or intercom in the room
no tea or breakfast available before 8.30- 9.00 am and checkout time is sharp 10
staff cooperation is zero
else if anything left is fine.
parveen

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Parveen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I'm currently on my last night stay at the Gangaur Palace hotel. The rooms are as advertised with the heritage feel and the hotel is walking distance to the Jagdish Temple and the dance show is just down the street. However, of the 3 days here, we've only seen someone at the front desk once. We wanted a city map and recommendations but nobody was there to help us. In the end, we had dinner at the nearby Jaiwana Hotel and saw some information in their lobby, we ended up booking our Jodhpur trip there instead.

There's wifi at the Gangaur Palace but maybe it's the location of our room or maybe it's because of the stone walls, there is no reception inside the rooms. We sat in the hallway every night to use the internet. The restaurant upstairs is decent, but we found the food to be a little salty. There is drilling on the road right outside our window so it got really loud in the morning.

If you're looking for a budget room to just sleep and do your own thing, Gangaur Palace can be the place to book. 750 rupees is a good deal, but just don't expect any service.

On a side note: I emailed the hotel before arriving so check how much to pay the rickshaw from train station to hotel and got a response within 24 hours. I wish this person would be at the reception desk more often though!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CdnSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aschaffenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The building of the hotel is an old haveli and includes several nice shops on the ground level. Although, the room, in which we stayed, was a bit rundown, it still had a lot of haveli-charm. We stayed in one of the not yet renovated rooms, thus, it was a bit cheaper (600 Rs). The other rooms are more expensive. The room itself was very clean. WiFi was available in the foyer. The view from the rooftop terrace is very nice as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina1286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I was here during 2nd march to 4th march with my 5 other friends. Udaipur was our last destination of Rajasthan trip. Our driver drop us at some center point saying that its impossible for him to drive Innova into the small roads (which was not wrong as we saw many Innova's near our hotel). Anyway, but you don't need Auto (which asks 100 Rs for Lake Pichola), you can cover the distance on your feet. It is really 5-10 minutes walk away from City Palace & just 50 feets away from Baghore ki Haveli (don't miss evening show at the Baghore ki Haveli. Its OK if you don't see museum but that show is MUST )

200 years old property is amazing in structure. It gives you that historic feeling to your stay. You will find few artists working on their drawings at the center of hotel (ground floor) which was quite interesting & unusual for me. You can observe their work and chat with them if you are ardent lover of art.

Although bathroom was not good, remaining room was nice & clean. There is small balcony kind of space in the room which is closed from outside ( you can see outside from balcony) but they have put mattress & cushions in their which makes that room quite fabulous.

Roof top of the Hotel is nice but if you expect a view of Lake Pichola then you will be disappointed. You can only have a glimpse of Lake from roof top. Staff is really helpful & kind.
One interesting thing I found was the hotel has few books related to travelling which you can read if you want.

Room Tip: Visit all the places of Udaipur but return to your hotel between 6-6:30 pm. Get fresh & MUST go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geetesag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gaj Vilas
Hotel Gaj Vilas
#47 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Thamla Haveli
Hotel Thamla Haveli
#59 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hanuman Ghat
Hotel Hanuman Ghat
#71 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Raj Palace
Hotel Raj Palace
#124 of 151 in Udaipur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#27 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Krishna Niwas
Hotel Krishna Niwas
#57 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art

Property: Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
Address: 339 Ghangur Ghat Marg | Near City Palace and Baghore Ki Haveli, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gangaur Palace,located in Udaipur Rajasthan at the famous Ganghaur Ghat, also known as The Ashoka Haveli is a symbol of elegance, grace and regal charm. This heritage property from the past has been renovated into an elite heritage hotel in udaipur keeping in mind the old ambience and the royal splendor.Though it has taken a new shape, the royal and heritage feel has been left intact. Thus making this place a one of its kind heritage hotel in Udaipur,Rajasthan.This heritage hotel in Udaipur is located at a mere distance of 1 km from the City Palace, The Royal Museum of Udaipur and sits right beside the breathtaking location near the Lake Pichola. This heritage hotel in udaipur, which has intricately carved Jharokhas and Chhatries in typical royal manner offers magnificent view of the JagMandir as well as Lake Palace that are situated in between the Lake Pichola.Besides the elegantly furnished rooms it offers a bewitching ethnic appeal along with contemporary hotel facilities like free luggage service, attached baths with hot and cold running water, showers, color televisions, satellite connection, center court, and few paid services like palm reading, art lessons, heena art etc. Styled in medieval style to recreate the brilliant lifestyle of the opulent Rajputs, some of the rooms offer a scenic view of the Lake Pichola.The hotel’s multi-cuisine restaurant, which has delicately executed stone motifs and jharokhas, serves delectable Indian, Chinese and continental delicacies. Guests can also enjoy Roof Top View while enhancing the beauty of Udaipur and its lakeside masterpieces. The Roof top restaurant offers a spectacular lake view with classical music & movie.While you sit for an amazing evening coffee or snacks at our roof top restaurant, you can experience the Sunset happening at the Aravali Mountain Ranges with SajjanGarh Fort in the visible range.As a cherry on the top, let us give you more insights over the things that we will offer you in the same complex.Fond of French Delights ? We expect a ‘Yes’ and so you will find the one and only French bakery of Udaipur at the main entrance of our heritage hotel. Serving confectioneries and other delicacies at this affordable bakery is one of our passion. Our passion to provide best hospitality,facilities and services to each of our customers has given us a spot on the most renowned Travel Blogs as well as on none other Lonely Planet’s list of recommended places in Udaipur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing