We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
Ranked #74 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Value and Location”
Reviewed 22 October 2009

We were a little unsure at first but this is a traditional Haveli and a minute away from the lake.
Real coffee on the roof terrace. Really helpful staff.
Ok rooms but withtraditional paintings and quite a lot of charm.
For only 500 rupess this is a bargain.
They could do with getting rid of the really bright lights in the bedrooms but we cant have it all.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emski72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    72
    28
    7
    6
See reviews for
37
64
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

one of the highlights of our udaipur trip was the stay in this hotel.we got one of the best rooms in the third floor for an affordable range with a window overlooking the lake.the room,linen and the toilet were clean.the staff was not at all intimidating.it's so noisy once you step out of the hotel but it's very calm inside it.besides the french bakery offered very tasty items.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Priya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2009

We landed up in Udaipur on the Christmas (the 25th of Dec'08) night with no prior hotel booking and discovered that the town was literally house-full, no bookings were available at most city budget hotels we checked out. We somehow managed to get a room to spend the night at a not so bad hotel and the next morning, we were out searching for another hotel to spend the next night.

And thats when we landed up at the Hotel Gangaur Palace.

The hotel is located very near the Gangaur Ghat but is located in very congested bylanes and a crowded market place. While this did put us off as we disemabarked from the auto rickshaw but we found the ambience inside nice as we crossed its French Eatery into an old style haveli's courtyard that had a nice Udaipuri art gallery.

The porter showed us the only room that was thankfully available. The room was nice, neat, inviting with beautiful Udaipuri art motifs drawn on the ceiling and the walls and very clean bathroom. Having had a tiring previous night, we were more than willing to settle down with this room.

What sealed the deal, though, was their rooftop restaurant that provided a beautiful view of the Lake Palace hotel and the vast lake surrounding it. The menu looked good and it was a bright sunny day. We fell for it and reserved the room.

Our stay turned out be pleasant. The hotel staff was very friendly and hospitable. The food at the restaurant was very nice and the chef was more than willing to customize my coffeee to my taste (I drink it very strong). We literally loved the morning breakfast at the rooftop restaurant, soaking in all the sun and fresh air with a beautiful view of the lake.

The rooms were nice & clean too with comfortable beds and linen. The staff also put in an extra bed and blankets for free as we had 2 kids but no additional available rooms.

The rent too was very affordable.

We loved the art gallery with the miniature cloth paintings so exotic that we ended up buying several of the artwork worth Rs 10,000/-

However, guests must know that the room we had did not have any cable TV, no telephone (so no room service), no internet, no towels or soap in the bathroom and no running hot water (only available at selected times via their rooftop hot water bolier). The room was at the 2nd floor but there isn't any lift and the stairs are narrow and a bit steep. Our room door opened into the central courtyard and was pretty noisy.

But overall it was a very plesant stay and we would not mind returning to the hotel again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, friendly staff, good food, great rooftop view, affordable rent
  • Disliked — No airconditioning, Lack of lift, TV, internet, room service and high noise level around.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SnoopyDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2008

very nice, clean, calm hotel; it is worth the price and the staff is very friendly and helpfull, good restaurant on top with nice view; very good location in Udaipur

  • Liked — beautiful room
  • Disliked — the room view
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bubble088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
123 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2008

We stayed at the "best room" of this hotel, but honestly we're not exactly impressed (besides the larger room size and very friendly and helpful staff). Our room has a window seat which did adds a little bit of charm, and as most rooms face a courtyard they are shielded from traffic noise. Otherwise the room is rather basic with a cable tv, leaky tap, faulty power points and limited hot water. The hotel seems to be lagging behind more aggressive competitors in the area. But if the other hotels are occupied, this is not a bad option either.

Not exactly sure why the rooftop restaurant is pricier.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Poor value versus competitor hotels
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WeeKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2007

We found this place by chance.. Surprise! From outside was just an old havely but inside was just repainted in white colour and beautiful flowers (hand made). It is a simple place (fan and private toiled) but worth the price.
It is very clean and with a beautiful view of the lake (ask to see more rooms).
It is located 20 meters from Gangaur Ghat and walking distance from the most interesting places to be visited.
At the groundfloor there is a very good French Bakery (same property) where you can choose tasty sweets, lassy or sandwiches and an art shop.
There is a good and popular restaurant at the rooftop where you can also enjoy a free movie everynight: 007 octopussy (set in Udaipur).
Very good experience.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Alby69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nayee Haveli
Hotel Nayee Haveli
#42 of 156 in Udaipur
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Thamla Haveli
Hotel Thamla Haveli
#67 of 156 in Udaipur
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krishna Niwas
Hotel Krishna Niwas
#63 of 156 in Udaipur
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hanuman Ghat
Hotel Hanuman Ghat
#77 of 156 in Udaipur
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
OYO Rooms Jagdish Chowk
OYO Rooms Jagdish Chowk
#93 of 156 in Udaipur
147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anjani Hotel
Anjani Hotel
#62 of 156 in Udaipur
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art

Property: Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
Address: 339 Ghangur Ghat Marg | Near City Palace and Baghore Ki Haveli, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gangaur Palace,located in Udaipur Rajasthan at the famous Ganghaur Ghat, also known as The Ashoka Haveli is a symbol of elegance, grace and regal charm. This heritage property from the past has been renovated into an elite heritage hotel in udaipur keeping in mind the old ambience and the royal splendor.Though it has taken a new shape, the royal and heritage feel has been left intact. Thus making this place a one of its kind heritage hotel in Udaipur,Rajasthan.This heritage hotel in Udaipur is located at a mere distance of 1 km from the City Palace, The Royal Museum of Udaipur and sits right beside the breathtaking location near the Lake Pichola. This heritage hotel in udaipur, which has intricately carved Jharokhas and Chhatries in typical royal manner offers magnificent view of the JagMandir as well as Lake Palace that are situated in between the Lake Pichola.Besides the elegantly furnished rooms it offers a bewitching ethnic appeal along with contemporary hotel facilities like free luggage service, attached baths with hot and cold running water, showers, color televisions, satellite connection, center court, and few paid services like palm reading, art lessons, heena art etc. Styled in medieval style to recreate the brilliant lifestyle of the opulent Rajputs, some of the rooms offer a scenic view of the Lake Pichola.The hotel’s multi-cuisine restaurant, which has delicately executed stone motifs and jharokhas, serves delectable Indian, Chinese and continental delicacies. Guests can also enjoy Roof Top View while enhancing the beauty of Udaipur and its lakeside masterpieces. The Roof top restaurant offers a spectacular lake view with classical music & movie.While you sit for an amazing evening coffee or snacks at our roof top restaurant, you can experience the Sunset happening at the Aravali Mountain Ranges with SajjanGarh Fort in the visible range.As a cherry on the top, let us give you more insights over the things that we will offer you in the same complex.Fond of French Delights ? We expect a ‘Yes’ and so you will find the one and only French bakery of Udaipur at the main entrance of our heritage hotel. Serving confectioneries and other delicacies at this affordable bakery is one of our passion. Our passion to provide best hospitality,facilities and services to each of our customers has given us a spot on the most renowned Travel Blogs as well as on none other Lonely Planet’s list of recommended places in Udaipur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing