We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful”
Review of Karohi Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Karohi Haveli
Ranked #50 of 166 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Karohi Haveli is for those who are budget conscious. They have lake facing rooms and the food is good. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are decent. The hotel is close to the City Palace so you can actually walk it up! On the way you can also pick up some souvenirs from the main market place. Even Bagore Ki haveli is close by (but I wouldn't suggest going there). Getting to the main entrance of Karohi is tedious as you have to go through a very narrow lane. But overall our 3 nights/4 day stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n_poornima82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

The hotel Karohi Haveli is a heritage property and the structure speaks of itself. Let me start from the beginning.
The hotel is located on the lake Pichola itself and right in the hustle and bustle of the city Udaipur. The approach is rather strange as there are narrow lanes you are supposed to go through and finally a broken tarmac before you make a small ascend to the hotel. But once you are there, you are greeted by very friendly staff and after entering the property you will not regret it. The rooms are clean, well-maintained, ventilated and comfortable. No wall to wall carpeting so no bad odours etc. I stayed there for 3 nights and tried 2 types of rooms. I would suggest the super-deluxe room as it looks upon the lake Picchola and the city on the other side of the lake. They serve continental food that is freshly prepared and served hygienically.

Room Tip: Take rooms on the first floor facing north-east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahadevkaushik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The Karohi Haveli is a former local family's private mansion converted by them into a hotel. It's on top of a hill with nice views of the lake from what seems like a fair number of the rooms. Upon arrival we were upgraded to the Maharaja suite, a corner room with mostly nice views of the lake (a corner of a neighbor's shed roof partially obstructed the view but it's a nice view otherwise). The bathroom must have been an addition and a bit of an afterthought; no curtain initially (mysteriously appeared before we could even ask for one), no place to put soap, shampoo bottle etc.
Slim pickins for breakfast, but the view from rooftop restaurant was nice. Dinner was better, with a nice ambiance and a nice view of the floodlit palace across the lake. The large swimming pool was spotlessly clean.
We turned in a load of laundry to be done one morning, and returned that evening to find it sitting by the front desk right where we dropped it off that morning. They rushed it off to the laundry facility and had it ready the next morning by checkout time. The only problem was that one of the pants in the returned bag was not the one we gave them they looked somewhat similar but they were of different size and design). A call to the laundry facility revealed that no pants had been left behind, which meant that my pants were accidentally switched with someone else's so another person was also going to be in for a surprise at their next destination. The hotel ended up not charging us the laundry fee (which contractually was all they were required to do) even though losing the pants wasn't really their fault (not sending out in time was their fault). Unfortunately, given their low charges for laundry to begin with, the amount they waived was only about a third of the cost of the pants. I thing the right thing to do would have been to reimburse me for the cost of the pants and then demand it from the laundry company since the loss was their fault. Other than this small incident with the laundry, our stay there was good.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanos99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Was travelling with the wife, parents, sister and 2 hyper kids. In total 5 adults and 2 kids. Had booked Karohi Haveli after reading a lot of positive reviews on TA. the hotel is situated on the banks of the Lake Pichola and offers good views of the banks. Mind you, its on one edge of the lake so don't go expecting a panoramic view of the lake from your rooms. The only time u can have a panoramic view is from the roof top restaurant.

The check in was quick and efficient and the 2 rooms given to us were fairly large and spacious and clean. The hotel has a heritage feeling, being made from an actual small haveli and this adds to the overall charm and splendour. The interiors are beautifully and ornately decorated with antiques and artefacts all abound. The staff are courteous and polite,

The food was decent - the buffet spread was more suited to european tastes and if you are an indian family, best stick to a la carte orderings. Breakfast and dinner in the rooftop restaurant is a pleasure with the late night views of the lit up City Palace of Udaipur and the whole city - that is one of the highlights of the hotel. The location of the hotel too is very convenient with walking distance to the City Palace and several local attractions and bazaars

Overall its a place i would surely recommend. Clean, heritage, economical and absolute value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrmaulikshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Made the mistake of booking and paying the agent in advance for staying there for 3 nights. Reached after driving down from Jaipur and there was no power, nor any backup. Had to make do with candles. Stayed for a total of around 60 hours of which 30 was without power, usually in the evenings and nights. Agent had paid for a higher category room, but were kept in the lowest category one, and kept in the dark about the whole thing. Got to know once back from the trip, and it was too late to do anything. Service is sporadic and unreliable, although the people working here are very friendly and try to be helpful. Not the bearer's fault if there is no power and the owners have no intention of installing a genset. The pool has been cleaned.......never, and doesn't look like it'll change in the future either. Monkeys drink water from the pool, and you're expected to enjoy a leisurely swim in the same water. UGHHHH! A final point, if you're travelling in a wide/big car like a Sonata or a Endeavor or a Innova (Indian owners know the models, others, please check Hyundai, Ford and Toyota, for an idea) then please do not book this hotel. Your car cannot reach the property as the entrance is extra-ordinarily narrow and there is no one there to assist you.

Room Tip: Don't stay, and if you must, insist on being shown the different categories of rooms, and then c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bishal K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I cannot speak more highly of this hotel! The room was gorgeous, the rooftop restaurant fantastic with superb views & great food. The staff were warm, friendly and very helpful. They have a bathroom for patrons who have checked out, which meant we could freshen up before getting on the night train. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizbeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. I was chuffed when I walked into our room, after so many shabby, dirty hotels this was just joy! The rooms were nicely decorated, bright, clean. We had a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the Lake. We had lovely huge bay windows, that let in a lovely breeze, lovely 4 poster bed, everything was clean, the bathroom large. We loved our stay here. The breakfast was served on the roof, again wonderful views, we would often sit up there for sunset and have a kingfisher or chai. The only thing I would say is that as we were on the 3rd floor and the restaurant was above, we could often hear tables and chairs being dragged about or put away and sometimes it was a bit noisy, also there is an old man that lives next to the haveli and coughs all sorts from around 4am until 6 am every morning! He is loud so you need some ear plugs! A few times we did come back to the hotel about 11pm and the doors are bolted, and we knocked and no one heard us, a local chap knew one of the guys that worked there so called his mobile for us, otherwise we would have not got inside for the night I imagine! There was a swimming pool, but the only problem was that there were not any sunbeds to lay on so this stopped us from using the pool. This hotel was lovely and I would choose to stay here if i went back to Udaipur.

Room Tip: 305 was lovely, however maybe 205 would be best so you dont get rooftop noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChilliLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#7 of 166 in Udaipur
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 166 in Udaipur
2,343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 166 in Udaipur
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#25 of 166 in Udaipur
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#16 of 166 in Udaipur
1,393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#19 of 166 in Udaipur
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karohi Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karohi Haveli

Address: | Outside Chandpole on lake, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#27 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £51 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karohi Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Karohi Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karohi Haveli Udaipur
Karohi Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing