We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, we have no”
Review of Karohi Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Karohi Haveli
Ranked #52 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Waddinxveen
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Yes, we have no”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This hotel had a nice terras on the roof, with nice views. But: the service at the restaurant was very poor. Toady no wine, may be tomorrow. No fish today, may be tomorrow. So you could not eat what you found on the card. The hotelroom was large. But that; s all I can say. Very dull and not clean. The management gave us a discount for the poor servioce.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johannes061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    175
    67
    19
    15
See reviews for
94
148
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Magnificent view from the top, very friendly entrance area (esp outside) with tables, chairs and a view oto the lake. It is a separate building surrounded with a fence, so not like squeezed in-between other buildings/hotels/pubs/etc. Breakfast variety not great, but as I found in hotels in India breakfasts are not that various as compated to European hotels. Service in the restaurant is nice,m very frienly staff, very friendly staff everywhere. I am overwhelmed, felt as if I was staying in a five-star hotel. Room was clean, it was February, so a bit chilly at night and AC did not provide heating option, but that is because it is a former palace, so I guess they do not want rise-falls of temperature. Strongly recommend this place!

Room Tip: I was staying on the ground floor, so had keep curtains drawn all the time; so if you prefer more pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We were four of us and stayed at the executive rooms (on ground floor with no view). This was not a fault of the hotel but of the booking travel agent. The rooms were clean and so was the hotel courtyard. The location of the hostel was awesome as you could walk to most places. The views of the hotel were stunning (actually some of the best we saw). The roof top restaurant offered stunning views but the food service left a lot to be desired. The restaurant staff can best be described as novice and awkward. The food we ordered was decent (Indian) and terrible (continental). Service was the worst. Breakfast (that came free with room) was bad. One of the rooms had a nasty smell of sewage which did not go away even after complaining to the front desk. In spite of the complaint the restaurant management did not do anything or offered a discount. If you wish to stay here please do so at your own risk.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikrantvats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I was surprised to read a few less than favourable reviews regarding this lovely Haveli. I’m an older woman traveling on my own for this stage of the trip and this hotel really suited my needs. I loved Udiapur and would like to return again. I was booked in a smaller hotel but found the stairs and lack of internet challenging so went next door to inquire at Karohi Haveli. The price was very reasonable, I had fast internet, a nice room, with the hottest water I’ve had anywhere in India. There’s a pool, a little shop and lovely garden overlooking Lake Pichola. Although the restaurant was located up several flights of stairs, room service was available. I didn’t find the food as good as elsewhere, but the restaurant staff were lovely and the portions always generous. Desk staff very obliging and being able to stow my luggage and use the facilities after checkout were much appreciated. Overall this was a very nice place to stay and good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking lake have the great views, but cheaper on the far side. Can always go to the rooft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swieqi, Malta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Neat little room (number two), which was clean and functional. Bathroom had a big opening directly into the lobby... a little weird for the people there if u tend to sing in the shower. The view from the roof is breathtaking and must be one of the best around. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Food is average. all attractions can be reached on foot, since the hotel is very central. We would return.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jk4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larchmont, New York
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We loved this place-- the staff were absolutely wonderful, the manager just a delight-- it was very hard to leave! w stayed her for 3 nights over the new years holiday. The hotel was very nicely located, we had a great views of the city palace and lake from our huge suite - room(s) (which while on the ground floor - still had a lovely view) our kids had a wonderful room on the second floor which had a gorgeous windowseat (with a great view)--The hotel is truly lovely with a large open courtyard/reception area and a decent sized swimming pool (which my kids actually swam in , in January.....go figure....) Everytime i walked into the main entrance, i really felt like i was being transported into some magical place.
-- it's walkable to almost everywhere from here-- we loved the roof top restaurant and the lovely folks who waited on us--I know some complained about power outages-- we had a brief one while we were there and the place was lit up with candles--which I think it simply added to the romantic ambience -- While i concur with some of the comments about placement of soap dishes, etc, these are small things that are easily rectified. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a lake view! upgrade to a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Karohi Haveli is for those who are budget conscious. They have lake facing rooms and the food is good. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are decent. The hotel is close to the City Palace so you can actually walk it up! On the way you can also pick up some souvenirs from the main market place. Even Bagore Ki haveli is close by (but I wouldn't suggest going there). Getting to the main entrance of Karohi is tedious as you have to go through a very narrow lane. But overall our 3 nights/4 day stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n_poornima82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 157 in Udaipur
1,347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 157 in Udaipur
696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 157 in Udaipur
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Raj Niwas Hotel
Raj Niwas Hotel
#55 of 157 in Udaipur
112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
#10 of 157 in Udaipur
768 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Swaroop Vilas
Hotel Swaroop Vilas
#39 of 157 in Udaipur
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karohi Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karohi Haveli

Property: Karohi Haveli
Address: | Outside Chandpole on lake, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#27 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Karohi Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Karohi Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karohi Haveli Udaipur
Karohi Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing