We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but Havelies have a Premium” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karohi Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Karohi Haveli
Ranked #46 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Expensive but Havelies have a Premium”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

If you happen to visit Udaipur or for that matter any place in Rajasthan, you should opt for putting up in Havelies rather than in hotels. Now the price that you pay for the facilities and comfort in a haveli is way higher than that of hotels but it shouln't bother you much as you are in the land of kings and queens.
Coming to Karohi haveli in particular, it wasn't that impressive considering the price but its a haveli and thus heritage property which will have a price and it will definitely quench your thirst of staying in a haveli. The total area of the haveli is not big but the rooms are quite spacious. Food is not that great and is advisable to eat outside, though the view from the roof top restaurant is amazing. If you consider overall experience its definitely great.

Room Tip: Take rooms in 2nd and 3rd floor facing the city palace and the Taj property as the view from up ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arijit750260416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    173
    65
    19
    14
See reviews for
93
143
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Enjoyed staying at this hotel, was upgraded on arrival without asking which is a nice start. I found the staff to be very helpful with any queries. Clean room - bathroom - HOT shower. A/C and TV. Nice roof top area with great views to take a meal or just relax and read a book on the swing chair. Provides free unlimited wi fi. Western breakfast was fine, staff are attentive. Has Pool facilites with covered glassed in area with chairs & tables which is good if you wanted to watch kids in the pool. Massage charges are reasonable @ full body INR1000. Excellent location, just across the bridge to all the shops, German bakery etc. Would be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: If youu are looking for a quiet night, choose a room away from the staircase to the upper floors as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank April G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my family for couple of nights.Room,interiors,view & comfort is definitely good & as per the price we paid. The garden,pool & roof-top restaurant is very scenic & we enjoyed them thoroughly. We stayed at the corner suites which gives you the best view of lake Pichola & the City Palace.But than the food quality & the service was not upto mark.We were let down on the room service & yes they do not entertain any orders after 10:30 p.m.So plan your dinner early.In all it is a nice,newly renovated & well maintained Hotel but do not expect the highest service quality.

Room Tip: We stayed at the corner suites which gives you the best view of the lake & the palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shubhodip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

We paid for the higher end room, whilst it was ok it was still rough around the edges (e.g exposed wired in ceiling) and definitely not worth the higher price. The worst part was the restaurant, food was disappointing - lacked taste and very oily -and on our last day we found deep fried insects (looked like small cockroaches!!!) in our pakora. We refused to pay for the food however at first they only offered to take off the price of the pakora. It wasn't until my partner (a man) said he wouldn't pay that it was accepted. You can definitely get more for your money elsewhere.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ms C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

Beautiful garden in the evening.
BUT rooms are not so good.
The service is really not good, cause they put an extra bed simply on the window balcony.
So much less for breakfast, and the folk is not clean.
Compare to all, the price is way too high.
NOT WORTH AT ALL!

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

The good:
Location, the roof top restaurant, service, and AC
The bad:
Cleanliness is questionable here. Breakfast is pitiful. No hot water. Three English channels only.

I really wanted to like this hotel on the banks of Lake Pichola. The first night it was great to watch the sunset on the roof top restaurant and enjoy the sounds of the city. However, there are ants everywhere! On the tables in the restaurant, in the bathroom, on the shower curtain, etc. the towels are dirty, not just with stains, but there was some type of animal(?) hair and plants(?) on both my shower towels. If you are on the third floor the restaurant can be very loud. You get woken up around 6am when they start moving the tables around. I ate at the restaurant for lunch and it was decent...lots of bone in the chicken, and a little on the raw side. Breakfast is a joke. I have never had such bad selection of food throughout my stay. There is coffee/tea, cereal, and 4 hot options (toast, pre made omelettes, boiled eggs, and Indian flatbread). Items are not refilled frequently and the amount of ants in the dining room made it unappealing to eat.

Bed was ok, sheets looked clean. Room is big, but I paid for a lake view and I had a glimmering of one since my view was blocked by the Dream Hotel in front. I would not pay extra for the lake view, just go to the roof top. Service at the restaurant was good, though they tend to hover a little. Also,had a problem with my AC but they sent someone right away to fix it. Pool did not look appealing to swim in.

Room Tip: Room 308 has limited lake view, noise from restaurant upstairs, and tank overflow causes water to ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nath3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Like a lot of the heritage properties in Rajasthan , Karohi Haveli is also an erstwhile royalty property converted into a hotel.
Its on the banks of the Pichola lake so the view of the early winter morning mist and the peacuful reflection of the City Palace in the lake truly is a plus of the hotel.
Some of the rooms have a view of the hotel , the open air terrace restuarant has a beautiful view. The tiny jharokhas, artifacts of the age (like sandooks, hookahs) and pictures dotting the corridors and stair cases, the inner courtyard and the swimming pool and multiple terraces are truly beautiful, well maintained and so different from your run of the mill hotels that spell routine and non-individuality.
Rooms are pretty, done up in vibrant colours, bathroom towels are wanting in terms of cleanliness .
Breakfast is very basic, dinner in the restaurant is a gfood experience cos of the view and ambience but in terms of food the choices are limited, and service slow

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelshoes365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#25 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Swaroop Vilas
Hotel Swaroop Vilas
#34 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
#48 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karohi Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karohi Haveli

Property: Karohi Haveli
Address: | Outside Chandpole on lake, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#27 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Karohi Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Karohi Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karohi Haveli Udaipur
Karohi Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing