We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm - with good staff”
Review of Karohi Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Karohi Haveli
Ranked #51 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Exeter
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm - with good staff”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Staff managed to fit us in at the last minute even though busy. Lovely room - honeymoon suite. Very clean and nicely decorated. Fantastic views from the rooftop restaurant and good food. Nice internal courtyard and pool area. Manager on the front desk was very helpful and allowed us to use the pool, courtyard and store our bags for the whole day after checkout. We would go back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stemalpul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    175
    67
    19
    14
See reviews for
94
146
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and me had a great time staying at this hotel. The rooms are clean and have a lot of character. The pool is lovely!
The staff was wonderful, always friendly and helping out. They even let us use the office computer for booking a flight.
The restaurant on the roof has excellent food! And the view is beautiful!
One small disappointment: the pool was packed with non-guests in the afternoon, being guests of the hotel we didn't have a place to lie down and relax. This was a bit of an inconvenience.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My sister and I appreciated the stunning location, very pleasant patio and staff. The restaurant location was very beautiful, the food ok. This building until just a few years ago (~6 or 7) was a family residence and has been nicely renovated. We had the good fortune to celebrate Holi in Udaipur for which Karohi Haveli staff put out food and whisky in the patio.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rybnik, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Hotel is very clean and the staff very nice and flexible. They arranged for us a very good camel safari and were very helpful all the time. Hotel is located just outside the fort and since we did not want to stay within the walls it was perfect for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The only Heritage hotel on my three week itinerary and after soaking up Karohi Haveli's charm, I wish I had experienced more of the same in every city! Oozing with local flavor and charm, comfortable, clean and extremely friendly staff made my too short, two-day visit perfect. I could walk out the door and cross the bridge in minutes to the Old City. I could get anything I needed in a few minutes walk - water, food, gifts. The staff were beyond helpful and friendly and had the ONLY chocolate I saw on a menu! Their rooftop restaurant was amazing - great food and equally amazing views. It's not the Ritz by any means - it's a charming, ambient, affordable and comfortable, quiet place to experience the beauty of Udaipur.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room with lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaTourMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Being from Mumbai, my husband wanted to see family. Not being from Mumbai and having been ONLY at the familial homestead on previous trips, I wanted to actually SEE India outside of the streets of Mumbai. A very adept travel agent that has serviced the extended family for several years set us up with a trip which included Udaipur. Based on reviews from this and other travel sites, we chose Karohi Haveli as our lodging. While the view was very nice, the rest of the haveli was disappointing. The first thing that is noticeable is little things that are old and in disrepair; cracked walkway tiles, rotting door jambs, tired-looking restaurant, outside lights not all working. While the rooms were neat and clean, there was no pizazz to them at all. The furniture is minimal with one tiny armoire, one TV stand and 2 hard wooden chairs. There are no amenities except for the omnipresent (and very small) bottles of shampoo, conditioner, lotion and shower gel. As an example, my husband and I used up the shower gel the first morning -- and we were using it sparingly. It was not replaced the next day.

You will not find hair dryers in the rooms. A call to the front desk did yield one being brought to our room (hooray!), but that evening, I was stopped by the manager who told me that I "had his hair dryer". I explained that in fact I did have the hair dryer, which had been brought up to me, and added that it was still in the room on the TV stand. WELL! He chastised me for not returning it promptly to the front desk. (Mind you, nothing had been said to my husband who opened the room door to receive it.) Because of my negligence other guests in the hotel were not able to dry their hair! After all, they only have two hair dryers for the entire haveli. Seriously? I was then told I needed to return it right away. I was cautious because of the fear that the manager was accusing me of pilfering the appliance. Upon second thought, I should have told them to send someone up for it instead of my taking it down -- from the fourth floor with a bad back.

We did not eat meals in the restaurant except for the breakfast that was included. The breakfast fare was sparse, especially if you do not eat eggs. Go with toast or muesli and fruit. The staff, however, was very attentive and willing to bring fresh, hot toast instead of the buffet table toast that had long become soggy. They also took the orders for omelets. You can get cold milk (as opposed to hot by the coffee/tea) and juice, but you have to ask for it.

Did not use the pool. Nice enclosed sitting area with real, upholstered furniture AND magazines.

For the price we paid, we could have stayed in a double room at the Jagat Niwas Palace for INR 100 less! Our suggestion is to look around at other options. If this is the only lodging available for your travel dates, Karohi Haveli will suffice. Just remember to bring your own hair dryer AND soap!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here in feb this year, and had a lovely experience. The hotel is very traditional in it's decor, proper Rajasthani style. The location is ideal, we found that most of the sights were walking distance from the hotel e.g. City palace is only a 10 min walk and jagdish temple only 5 min walk. The staff were really helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough for you, even on our last day they had arranged a packed breakfast for us as our flight was super early. There was a lovely rooftop restaurant too and they must have served some of the best dishes we tried in udaipur. The views were also lovely. The surrounding gardens of the hotel were beautiful too. Would love to come back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reenanil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 156 in Udaipur
1,040 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 156 in Udaipur
1,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 156 in Udaipur
2,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gaj Vilas
Hotel Gaj Vilas
#52 of 156 in Udaipur
190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 156 in Udaipur
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#26 of 156 in Udaipur
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karohi Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karohi Haveli

Property: Karohi Haveli
Address: | Outside Chandpole on lake, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#27 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Karohi Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Karohi Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karohi Haveli Udaipur
Karohi Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing