We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super hotel :) but big negative : dog; be careful, no kidding.. :(”
Review of Karohi Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Karohi Haveli
Ranked #50 of 167 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 27 May 2014

positive:
very good hotel; nice decoration, perfect room with sofa with lake view, big and comfortable bed, all blue colored, they upgraded me with lake view room; this hotel is a haven of quiet and peace, and good taste. great location near the lake and in the city center at the same time, perfect and big swimming pool, nice top roof restaurant, staff cool. so quiet
negative:
They have an enormous dog,seems nice but when i got out around 10 pm and he began to jump on me for play but i was REALLY scared cause he wouldn t let go and he began to be more and more agrressive and i almost fell...i did panic until my friend took me by arms and we could escape but i was very close to get really in a bad bad situation and to be hurt... and This is not acceptable!
pools closes way way too early (9pm maxi) ; but i insisted and they let me use it till 10 pm, so ok
When you come back late at the hotel, you have to wake up the staff that is sleeping on the floor at the reception.. a little surprising and shoking.
Also my advice is warn the staff if you have to check out early, cause they are sleeping on the floor, you have to wake them up, embarassing..and i had to pay cash cause too early for the credit card machine to work.. hopefully i had cash

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHANNA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

One of the most interesting hotels I have ever stayed over! Located on a hill top, the hotel oozes it's heritage charm and glory. Fantastic view from the rooftop restaurant (although there are other hotels in the city that are better lake facing and offer better view) and good food, specially the Indori style Poha available on Ala-carte. The view from the French windows and the artifacts placed inside the courtyard make it all the way more beautiful & romantic. However, the hotel management urgently need to work on the following aspects that can not be overlooked:
1. Patchy service and inattentive waiters (the phone keeps on ringing and no one would bother to pick for several minutes)
2. The restaurant needs to be maintained. At times, it looks shabby and even unmanaged.

Room Tip: 1. Get a lake facing room, if you want to enjoy the evening from your french windows. 2. Since serv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ne2b2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

I had done lots of research and finally zeroed in on this place for a 2 day holiday with extended family.
First, no contact numbers available even after paying full advance. The only number given belongs to Naved who apparently handles multiple properties and can't remember anything.
The place is a nightmare if you're driving as it's on one end of the city and approach roads are horrible.
No one was available to help us with our luggage and the guy who turned up finally turned out to be the cook.
Rooms are OK, room service doesn't exist.
The restaurant has a view which is it's USP but food is bad, service extremely poor and rates atrocious.
The complementary breakfast is pathetic, to say the least.
I think it's worthwhile paying a bit more and staying in reputed hotels, rather than this third rate joint

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank HebbarSrinivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This was a most interesting building, in an excellent location. The staff were pleasant, and the room clean, but it lacked attention to detail - the pool was dirty, and greenish, the service was patchy - a very lack lustre waiter, who seemed unable to remember more than 2 items at a time, so breakfast and supper were prolonged.

Room Tip: We had 203 which looked over the lake - lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here to observe and participate in the Holi festival in Udaipur, this hotel oozes old times charm with lots of heritage pictures and artifacts. It is located on a hill with a rooftop restaurant overlooking Lake Pichola and the City, offering picturesque views and a romantic atmosphere at nighttime. The grounds are well kept, there is a courtyard to relax in, and a swimming pool which we didn't use. We had a corner suite with lovely views, the room was very spacious and bright with lots of windows, AC, fan, 21" tube TV, mini-fridge, hair dryer and lots of hot water. Free Wi-Fi was available however there was no good closet or in-room safe. The included breakfast was adequate with fresh fruits, juices, cereal, naan, toast and jams, omelette, coffee and chai. Dinner at the rooftop was very good and reasonably priced. Pre-Holi celebrations were held right around the corner with bonfires, fireworks, music and dancing. Next day it was a short walk to downtown and the main colourful celebrations.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mr_cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Staff managed to fit us in at the last minute even though busy. Lovely room - honeymoon suite. Very clean and nicely decorated. Fantastic views from the rooftop restaurant and good food. Nice internal courtyard and pool area. Manager on the front desk was very helpful and allowed us to use the pool, courtyard and store our bags for the whole day after checkout. We would go back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stemalpul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and me had a great time staying at this hotel. The rooms are clean and have a lot of character. The pool is lovely!
The staff was wonderful, always friendly and helping out. They even let us use the office computer for booking a flight.
The restaurant on the roof has excellent food! And the view is beautiful!
One small disappointment: the pool was packed with non-guests in the afternoon, being guests of the hotel we didn't have a place to lie down and relax. This was a bit of an inconvenience.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 167 in Udaipur
1,100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#7 of 167 in Udaipur
511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 167 in Udaipur
2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#27 of 167 in Udaipur
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#16 of 167 in Udaipur
1,404 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Amar Kothi
Hotel Amar Kothi
#58 of 167 in Udaipur
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karohi Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karohi Haveli

Address: | Outside Chandpole on lake, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#27 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £46 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karohi Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Karohi Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karohi Haveli Udaipur
Karohi Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing