We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay near Lake Pichola”
Review of Karohi Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Karohi Haveli
Ranked #49 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay near Lake Pichola”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Located in old city but well maintained spacious heritage property. We had the corner Super Deluxe Room on first floor which was spacious enough for two people.

Pros: Food is amazing, clean property, ample of parking, famous restaurants (Ambrai, 1559 AD, Jagat Niwas etc) are nearby, pool was clean, staff is generally helpful, view from hotel is good, old city market is nearby and you can spend the evening at the LAL GHAT (its truly amazing - serene).

Cons: Breakfast has limited options, staff is inclined to serve foreign tourists for obvious reasons, although the food is great but terrace restaurant needs immediate refurbishment, TVs needs to be replaced by LCDs

All together, I had a nice experience with this hotel and can stay again.

Room Tip: Super Deluxe corner rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sourabhgoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    175
    67
    19
    14
See reviews for
94
146
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a Haveli, look no further. Simply a gorgeous building and furnishings. The view was breathtaking. The breakfast was fine, and the dinner was incredible. The ambience is so much nicer than a hotel. We dud have a trouble with our booking, but we were placed at another equally as nice Haveli. While changing properties was not what we wanted, the staff was kind and helpful. We decided it was easier to be flexible and accepting. Finding the property was tricky, but our driver did well. I would stay here again anytime.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We checked into this beautiful room overlooking the lake. As an expat Indian craving for hindi songs, I switched on the TV. An old song from "mera saaya " was playing. Just out of the blue, in a surreal momment , I was seeing the Jagadish temple from my room window and the exact same scene in the song!!!! just made my trip to Udaipur so much more special

About the hotel itself, its got a beautiful courtyard, great place to reaad newspapers and magazines and make your trip plans. while you do so, the service is great, yo can order chai.
The rooftop restaurant overlooking the lake is magical. Food is the usual North Indian fare.
One thing you need to be careful: the entrance to the hotel is at a higher gradient. If you happen to take a richshaw, make sure its not old one...or at least has enough life in the engine to rev up!!! Interesting things can happen!!

Room Tip: The room overlooking the lake had these small sit out by the window. Its large enough for 2 small ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoltenAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The best thing about this place is the location. It is located right in the heart of the City. All the major attractions are walking distance. The Hotel is located on a small hill top. It is a Haveli which is converted to a hotel and as you walk in you get the feling of waling in to a royal place. The rooms are nice and spacious. The staff is very very polite and ever so helpful.
The roof top restautant is one of the best place to relax after a long day, overseeing the lake and City Palace.
All in all a very good place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aashish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

positive:
very good hotel; nice decoration, perfect room with sofa with lake view, big and comfortable bed, all blue colored, they upgraded me with lake view room; this hotel is a haven of quiet and peace, and good taste. great location near the lake and in the city center at the same time, perfect and big swimming pool, nice top roof restaurant, staff cool. so quiet
negative:
They have an enormous dog,seems nice but when i got out around 10 pm and he began to jump on me for play but i was REALLY scared cause he wouldn t let go and he began to be more and more agrressive and i almost fell...i did panic until my friend took me by arms and we could escape but i was very close to get really in a bad bad situation and to be hurt... and This is not acceptable!
pools closes way way too early (9pm maxi) ; but i insisted and they let me use it till 10 pm, so ok
When you come back late at the hotel, you have to wake up the staff that is sleeping on the floor at the reception.. a little surprising and shoking.
Also my advice is warn the staff if you have to check out early, cause they are sleeping on the floor, you have to wake them up, embarassing..and i had to pay cash cause too early for the credit card machine to work.. hopefully i had cash

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHANNA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

One of the most interesting hotels I have ever stayed over! Located on a hill top, the hotel oozes it's heritage charm and glory. Fantastic view from the rooftop restaurant (although there are other hotels in the city that are better lake facing and offer better view) and good food, specially the Indori style Poha available on Ala-carte. The view from the French windows and the artifacts placed inside the courtyard make it all the way more beautiful & romantic. However, the hotel management urgently need to work on the following aspects that can not be overlooked:
1. Patchy service and inattentive waiters (the phone keeps on ringing and no one would bother to pick for several minutes)
2. The restaurant needs to be maintained. At times, it looks shabby and even unmanaged.

Room Tip: 1. Get a lake facing room, if you want to enjoy the evening from your french windows. 2. Since serv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ne2b2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

I had done lots of research and finally zeroed in on this place for a 2 day holiday with extended family.
First, no contact numbers available even after paying full advance. The only number given belongs to Naved who apparently handles multiple properties and can't remember anything.
The place is a nightmare if you're driving as it's on one end of the city and approach roads are horrible.
No one was available to help us with our luggage and the guy who turned up finally turned out to be the cook.
Rooms are OK, room service doesn't exist.
The restaurant has a view which is it's USP but food is bad, service extremely poor and rates atrocious.
The complementary breakfast is pathetic, to say the least.
I think it's worthwhile paying a bit more and staying in reputed hotels, rather than this third rate joint

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank HebbarSrinivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#15 of 156 in Udaipur
695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 156 in Udaipur
1,040 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 156 in Udaipur
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 156 in Udaipur
2,250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gaj Vilas
Hotel Gaj Vilas
#52 of 156 in Udaipur
190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 156 in Udaipur
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karohi Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karohi Haveli

Property: Karohi Haveli
Address: | Outside Chandpole on lake, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#27 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Karohi Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Karohi Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karohi Haveli Udaipur
Karohi Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing