We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best one yet!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zostel Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zostel Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best one yet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is one the best hostels I've come across and is quite hard to beat. Zostel Udaipur has two things working in its favor: the location and the people. As a backpacker, I couldn't ask for anything better.

Zostel is located on the banks of Lake Pichola right next to City Palace. The views are simply unparalleled. If you want stellar views of the monsoons hugging the Aravalli mountain peaks and, of course, the Lake Palace, Zostel gives you some of the best views Udaipur can offer. Grab a few beers on the roof top restaurant, watch the sun set behind the mountains, and see the lake dazzle in the night lights of the Lake Palace. Couldn't ask for more.

The people at Zostel are incredible. I met some very interesting travelers from around the world and the management itself is outstanding. After customer service nightmares in India, the management's attitude at Zostel was more than refreshing. They even mailed me some souvenirs that I left behind! Quite an incredible bunch of folks!

I hope to see them in more locations on my next visit to India. Keep up the good work, keep zosteling!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zostel, Owner at Zostel Udaipur, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hi Sai L,

Whoa! We're so overwhelmed by the review you've given us! Truly touched. Thank you so, so much for those kind words and the amazing rating. We really love it when travellers such as yourselves, who have that passion and wanderlust written across their face, stop by at Zostel. You guys make Zostel what it is...fun and young and bustling with energy :)

As we've mentioned before, once a Zosteler, always a Zosteler. So, we look forward to seeing you again at our other Zostels! Once again, we are just so ecstatic after reading your review, so thank you so much! Visit us again!

Cheers!
Zostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    82
    24
    5
    8
See reviews for
15
31
85
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I and a friend stayed at Zostel, Udaipur for 3 days. It was awesome!
Couldnt have asked for a better location - right next to Lake Pichola and a stone's throw away from city palace main gate. That too at such an affordable price.
Very clean rooms and bathrooms.
The food was good too. The rooftop restaurant had a lovely view.
And most importantly, we met a bunch of very fun people and made lots of friends.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitsypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zostel, Owner at Zostel Udaipur, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hi kitsypie!

First of all, we'd like to thank you for the great review and rating that you've given us! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We always aim to provide clean and affordable accommodation, so hearing that you had a good experience must mean we're doing something right :)

If you have any suggestions as to how we can improve the experience, do tell us! Glad you loved the location and the rooftop restaurant too...with good people, it all becomes amazing, doesn't it? :)

We sure hope you'll visit us again! We're at Jaipur and Jodhpur too! Or you could always drop by the White City again ;)

Cheers!
Zostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Perfect hostel to stay in Udaipur. The staff is super cool, the premises are new and great and its close by the lake and City Palace. If you want a cheap and great place to stay in Udaipur, dont go to a hotel, book their private rooms. I loved it :).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hugo_t_batista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zostel, Owner at Zostel Udaipur, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi hugo_t_batista,

Thank you for the amazing review and the rating! We're so glad you loved your stay with us. You think we're cool? That's awesome, because we think you're cool, completely reciprocated! You're right about the location...we love it as well. The lake view is something that even we can't get enough of. Surely you will be visiting us again? We're in Jaipur and Jodhpur, too.

Can't wait to chill with you when you come to stay with us again! :)

Cheers!
Zostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I have backpacked across Europe and stayed in many hostels but I really have to compliment these guys ! This place is absolutely brilliant. The lake view itself made my stay unforgettable , not to mention the spacious dorms and the awesome food. Their manager Anand is a great guy, make sure you consult him on places to see in the city. I really can't believe they offer so much at such low prices.
A brilliant experience, I would definitely recommend this place to people visiting Udaipur.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siddharth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zostel, Owner at Zostel Udaipur, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hey Siddharth V!

Thank you so much for the amazing review and rating that you've given us. It means a lot to us! We're so glad that you had a great stay with us. We place utmost importance on providing clean and safe accommodation at an affordable price, so to know that you found everything up to your expectations, makes us extremely happy.

Anand is already missing you, so do make a trip soon! Can't wait to chill with you again :)

Cheers!
Zostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

location of a hostel cannot get better. situated besides the lake :D
nice time spent there. they provide private rooms at a really affordable price and the facilities are no less than any top class hotel :)

they even helped me out to book tickets for my journey and planned my city tour also.
The manager (Anand) is a nice guy :)

the best part - The roof-top restaurant :D amazing food !

will visit again :D

Room Tip: Go for a private room if u want some privacy. chose a dorm if you're travelling alone and have f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhinandan109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zostel, Owner at Zostel Udaipur, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Abhinandan109!

What a lovely review and rating you've given us. Thank you so much! We're glad that you had a great stay at Zostel. That is the kind of thing we aim for...we want travellers to leave with nothing less than a satisfied smile on their faces. And to know that you had the kind of experience you did, means we must be doing something right :)

Glad you loved the rooftop restaurant there. Even we get conflicted, torn between satisfying our eyes and our stomachs :) Anand can't wait to meet you again, so make a trip soon!

Cheers!
Zostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoba, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

While in Rajastan I stayed every time I could in a Zostel and it was always great. The facilities are always new, clean, and comfortable. The prices are OK for what you are actually getting, and it is a unique oportunity to stay in a real hostel in India.
The guys from the staff and other young indians guys doing internships are just amazing ppl, that are always cool to help u, and great ppl to chill with and talk about India. They have many advices to make.
It is also a great place to meet other young travelers that are very happy to find a real hostel in India.
Totaly worth the stay.
Totaly recomended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matias_Argentina33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zostel, Owner at Zostel Udaipur, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hello Matias_Argentina33!

First of all, thank you so much for the amazing review and rating that you've given us. We're so happy to hear that you try to stay with us whenever the opportunity presents itself. Once a Zosteler, always a Zosteler, we say!

We enjoy the evenings when our common rooms are full of laughter, fun and travellers exchanging stories. Seems like a big ol' bonfire, doesn't it! :) We can't wait to have you stay with us again. See you soon!

Cheers!
Zostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludhiana, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

- Best place to be at udaipur, really affordable, awesome view and best food.It was an awesome experience.All facilities were cool and enjoyable...!!!
Will visit again for sure!!!
My friends are thanking me for this trip

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lakshay18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zostel, Owner at Zostel Udaipur, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Lakshay18!

It's not just your friends who are thanking you, we are too! Thank you so much for visiting us. Thank you so much for having a great stay at Zostel. Thank you so much for enjoying the beautiful Udaipur view from your room. Thank you so much for eating the yummy food. But most of all, thank you so much for meeting us and having fun :) We're missing you already, and we hope you'll make a trip soon! We'll be waiting.

Cheers!
Zostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#10 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#12 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#28 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zostel Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zostel Udaipur

Property: Zostel Udaipur
Address: Purohit Ji Ka Khurra, Chandpole, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 198 Speciality Lodging in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Zostel Udaipur 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaharkot is India's best lake-facing room hotel. Like a cherry on the cake it rests with one wall facing the great city palace, the other facing the ageless Lake Pichola, while being the best located property in the heart of the town. The property maintains its calm and relaxing feel. Such is the architectural excellence of the property that each and every room has a wide waterfront lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Zostel Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing