We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place, helpfull understanding staff”
Review of Hotel Mewar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mewar Inn
Ranked #17 of 213 Speciality Lodging in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

one of the cleanest places that we stayed at in India. Very good service, helpfull staff, nice atmosphere. Definately worth to check out, and the prizes are good.
We stayed there for two nights, but for sure- if we ever go back to udaipur, will choose the same place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank notyourbussiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

As many know, when you travel to an unknown destination, the first thing you need is a place to lay your head. You need something suitable for the amount of people you are with, a clean and happy atmosphere, and a price that hits your budget. I'm happy to say that Mewar Inn, did just that.

I arrived to Mewar Inn one late evening to smiling faces and a quick and easy check in. Within the first four minutes, I had seen and decided on a room that hit my budget. I put my bags inside and took a large shy of relief.
The room was tidy, air-conditioned, it had a neat little desk to work on and clean sheets were provided quickly. I made my way up to the Osho Restaurant for a light dinner and this again, exceeded my expectations. Dinner was served promptly and was satisfing.

The next morning I rose to a late check out of 12 o'clock, (always nice to know), and was reassured I could stay as long as needed, to sight see for the day and my bags would be secure.
That same day, I ate at Restaurant Osho, and again, I was happy with my experence. There's just something about not having to wait thirty five minutes for a toasted cheese sandwich! Great Work Mewar Inn!

The hotel has four stories, varying in room prices and accomodation to meet all quest sizes, from a lonely traveller to a family of five.

It was also a positive touch to see workers during the day painting the down stairs walls and doors, showing that owner Mahan'dar , takes pride in his business and see's a bright future for his quests in years to come.

Beacuse of these reasons, that fee I paid, the cleanliness of the hotel and the always efforting by the staff to make your stay more worthwhile, I give Mewar Inn, a Very Good, Four Stars.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nemcgough001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

so, firstly the room is not as good as i expected, however after checking up few place in the town, in same value you won't be able to get anything better than this. spacious room but furnitures are old and simple, TV full of noise not many English chancel, sorry i am a TV sticking person, i admit that i am picky some time, however at least they have one!,
The Bathroom is almost the same size as the bedroom, well...well..well...impressive, not every room is like this, the room next to mine has smaller bathroom, but bedroom seems much better. anyhow they need to maintain it a little bit more.
The sheets on the bed are old with stain, but i sleep quite well though. The restaurant offer simple dishes, staffs in here are trying to do their best.

All the drawback above are acceptable, good WIfi, but the power gone off quite frequent.
it takes 60-80 rupee one way to go to the tourist spot, quite far, and this is must be the point you consider whether to stay here.

overall, good for value bad for location.

Room Tip: the same price in the tourist spot, you will only have a cell room without window, with no TV, feels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hennessy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I was not very upbeat about the hotel before we checked in. But it turned out to be a very decent one. Well appointed rooms with all the basic necessities like comfortable bed, 24 hrs running hot water in the bathroom, TV with DTH, AC (in superior rooms) etc. The owner of the hotel Mr. Narendra is very helpful person and so is the only room service guy (i think Mahendra). Only downer is the location which is quite far (4-5 km) for the major tourist attractions in the city and the building itself which is very unassuming- looks like an old residential building or a basic lodge. They have nice terrace cafe/restaurant though, again vert basic, but offer good continental breakfast. I will not suggest it for a family looking for a luxurious holiday but good for back packers and very popular with foreign tourists on a budget.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank NRShastri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Came across this place by chance..the prices were great and the staff very friendly... Mahindra the owner was very helpful and made us feel welcome.... The roof terrace was great and being slightly out of town meant it was quiet...only disappointment was having to leave (oh and one morning the coffee served with breakfast was a little weak) :-)..... Would definitely come again!!!

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Freshos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We were really surprised to find such a good hotel with big and very clean rooms, and that for 400 rupye per doubleroom. Nice rooftop restaurant, a beautiful place for having a good breakfast, internet in the hotel... Best hotel in india so far!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank julian199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed at the Mewar Inn for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay. We had a very large room with a bathroom (hot water didnt always work) next to the nice rooftop terrace, which cost 350 Rupees. While the food wasn't great, the manager was really nice and it was nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of the center. A rickshaw ride to the center was about 60 - 100 Rupees, depending on the daytime.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashokato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.4 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#20 of 165 in Udaipur
717 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dayal Hotel
Dayal Hotel
#19 of 165 in Udaipur
421 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Thamla Haveli
Hotel Thamla Haveli
#70 of 165 in Udaipur
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 165 in Udaipur
2,321 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#17 of 165 in Udaipur
569 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
#14 of 165 in Udaipur
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mewar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mewar Inn

Address: 42 Residency Road | Near GBH American Hospital, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 213 Speciality Lodging in Udaipur
Price Range: £8 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mewar Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mewar Inn has 20 rooms. We offer lovely food in rooftop restaurant and free wifi at all places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mewar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing