We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deteriorated...avoidable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saheli Palace Hotel
Ranked #127 of 158 Hotels in Udaipur
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Deteriorated...avoidable”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I had visited this hotel in somewhere in February 2006. It was a clean and neat hotel with good services. The services remain good (the refletion of core Rajasthani culture being warm, helpful and welcoming). However, the room conditions have deteriorated. Rooms have got darker with fading and peeling paint, shabby and unmaintained rooms, electricals and more importantly wash rooms. The outer appearance of the hotel remains good and well painted, with colourful Rajasthani wall paintings. The lamps and jharokhas in the night look good, but the place from inside has turned nightmare with mosquitoes and cockroaches. No complains on service...the owner himself arranged our airport drop in his personal vehicle when we got late to get one, the property needs serious attention and uplift. Not recommended for stay in this condition. However, there are couple of rooms, wich can be booked, but after thorough inspection, on walk-in basis as advance booking and allotment can be disappoiting and based on luck. Weirdly, some of the non-AC and air-cooled rooms are spacious and with balconies with jharokha look than AC rooms.

Room Tip: There are couple of rooms, wich can be booked on the first floor, but after thorough inspection, on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kotharidhimant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    10
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
13
7
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I booked the hotel by looking at some of its pictures online and when I actually reached there, I was not disappointed at all. The rooms were nice and spacious and the staff there was quite helpful. The most amazing thing about the hotel was the speed of the room service which was very fast. Overall, a nice place to stay at and also not very heavy on the pockets.

Room Tip: If you are travelling on budget expenses, you can book the air cooled rooms instead of AC rooms whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siddharth_kalele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

I have been lucky to stayed at this little resort for a day during my last visit to udaipur .I loved the location of Hotel very close to Saheliyon ki baari garden & far from Jagdish Temple clutter ,noise & pollution & very much in city and to be mentioned -walking ditance from lovely Fateh Sagar lake . Resort has Beautiful garden & terrace to laze around in evening & morning .Rooms are very spacious & airy . Over All Two Thumbs in all departments .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siddh20002000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Saheli palace building and lawns are quite good, but rooms are bad. There is odour in rooms, the paint is peeling at places, electrical fittings are in disrepair, TV's are not in good shape, and there is overall feeling of neglect all around. The blankets and towels provided in the room were really worn out., and needed replacement.

In spite of several requests, they did not provide drinking water in room. Food provided by the hotel is not worth eating even if it was free. to top it all, they have a big workshop in the basement, and all day long, there is loud noise in whole compound.

The saving graces are good locations, good lawns, and well maintained exteriors.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vipulj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Udaipur hotels

lucknow
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

My stay was so confortable in this hotel. Rooms were clear, food quality was great and staffs were friendly.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumit1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghaziabad
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2010

I had booked Hotel Saheli Place,Udaipur .

This hotel is not worth staying and i advice people to take every possible caution before booking it at their own risk.

I hope this description is enough for people to understand that never to book this hotel for their stay in udaipur.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leisuretraveller02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

Neat and clean, inexpensive, near key tourist destinations

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kotharidhimant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Udaipur
14.8 mi away
Hotel Shree Vilas
Hotel Shree Vilas
#11 of 12 in Nathdwara
23 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#49 of 158 in Udaipur
238 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rangniwas Palace Hotel
Rangniwas Palace Hotel
#44 of 158 in Udaipur
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ishwar Palace
Hotel Ishwar Palace
#58 of 158 in Udaipur
88 reviews
1.7 mi away
Anjani Hotel
Anjani Hotel
#65 of 158 in Udaipur
498 reviews
14.8 mi away
Shrinath Inn
Shrinath Inn
#10 of 12 in Nathdwara
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saheli Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saheli Palace Hotel

Property: Saheli Palace Hotel
Address: 222/17, Saheli Marg, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 158 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Saheli Palace Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saheli Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing