We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace amid the madness”
Review of Mountain Ridge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Udaipur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Ridge
Ranked #28 of 255 Udaipur B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peace amid the madness”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Udaipur - madness.

Mountain Ridge, peace and quiet ....and very thin hard matress !

We were there for 5 nights. The local area is brilliant for wandering around - full of butterflies and birds. You can walk to the shore of Lake Pichola - there are loads of herons, kingfisher, ibis, bee eaters and wading birds. The local village has a great little shop ...for chocolate and other snacks.

The guesthouse has two larger suites - and the one we had remained very cool during the day. The food prepared by the team there was great, and we enjoyed every meal. Breakfast certainly set you up for the day.

The place certainly has a family feel about it. We did feel a bit awkward in the evenings though - and tended to go back to our room to read or update diaries.

It will have new owners in the new year (2014), so I do not know if they intend to keep it as a guest house or not. It might be a good idea for the new people to add WiFi - as in the evenings there is nothing to do.

We enjoyed our 'rest' days there, and it certainly takes you away from the rush rush rush feelings of the city. A shame that the pool was empty ...I think that the big crack in it has something to do with it !

To the new owners - Good Luck :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Penfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    40
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
39
107
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Sensationally located 'grand designs' style stone house blends beautifully with countryside with magnificent views including sunrise and sunsets.
Great base to discover Udapuir (15 minutes) if you can drag yourself away from the peaceful serenity of this place.
The food is delicious, fresh and clean and your welcome to watch the preparation or perfect your chapati technique.
It's the host family however that makes mountain ridge so outstanding, warm, genuine and attentive, nothing is too much trouble. The generous proportions of this home ensures privacy and solitude if you desire or alternatively you can participate in family life and socialize with other guests.
I leave reluctantly today after 5 nights feeling nurtured, refreshed and restored.
Other highlights include trekking through nearby countryside and villages, reading on the verandah surrounded by birdsong and watching goat herders below, returning to the peace after a days shopping and following the village children up the path as they deliver the fresh milk.
The visitors book indicates I'm not alone in my experiences and a lasting memory is of the baby being massaged each night in front of the fire.

Whilst I know I can't repeat this experience, English owner Piers and Nepalese family are relocating mountain ridge to Nepal in 2014, I do know where my next holiday will be.
Be quick and enjoy this place while you can.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louiePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

What a wonderful surprise awaited us as we bumped up the potholed road, there was our oasis. We were given a very warm welcome from our hosts who went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We loved our room, the Monsoon Suite, just so beautiful, even the birds who woke us up each morning were fun :) We took a guided walk which again was very special as we walked through the countryside, taking in a cave temple, villages and we even crossed a river. We ate communally at a big table and enjoyed the hearing others stories and meeting new faces.
Thank you for a lovely stay and highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: The Monsoon Suite was fabulous, and because the mattress was too firm for me, they gave us a softer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aliplow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Delightful place just outside the city.Beautiful views of surrounding countryside.Very comfortable place to stay and made to feel extremely welcome by Amrit and his family and colleagues.Originally were only booked to stay for four nights but loved it so much have stayed nine! Close enough to get into the city easily but far enough out to escape the noise and dust.
Food is excellent,freshly cooked and varied,Nothing is too much trouble. Have done a couple of guided walks in the surrounding countryside, massage and facial in our room,taxi hire for the day to visit the outlying places and an efficient tuk-tuk driver (Mo)who is only a phone call away. All very reasonably priced. Highly recommend this place-sad to leave-but a perfect end to our travelling for two months

Room Tip: Fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We strongly recommend Mountain Ridge since it is our best stay in India. The house is very beautiful and decorated with many paintings by the owner. Amrit kindly let us upgraded to the suite since there is not many guests there which gave us a big surprise. The house makes you really relax and feel like home. We stayed for two days, relaxing, reading Pier's books in the living room and walking around. I also love the rural location of this house, which give you much fresh air. The rural area of Udaipur is very suitable for trekking. By the way, they cook really good food, breakfast, snack lunch, full dinner all very delicious, and they even offer ice cream after dinner. I would definitely recommend everyone to stay in Mountain ridge when you go to Udaipur.

Room Tip: Any room is good, with an balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank detectiveyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

this was one of the best stay at Udaipur on our 10 day trip. Good ambience makes peaceful mind always..such a lovely food.. excellent Hospitality..Rooms were well arranges, reception, lobby, Restaurant areas, etc were truly good. New had already recommended this place for my sister's family who visited the place..they to loved the stay..

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tejaswi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

This was our last stop in India after a busy month motorcycling and sightseeing. It was ideal after the bedlam that is much of the country, and although the owner was not there, we were made welcome and very well looked after by Amit and his family. I am rather surprised at some of the less than enthusiastic reviews - you get what you pay for and we felt that the location, big well kept and interesting rooms with balconies, and the friendly staff were worth the money. We did not think it was especially expensive anyway - a high quality dinner for £4? Sounds good to me! I would go back for sure. My only minor point is the lack of WiFi.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.7 mi away
Devra Udaipur
Devra Udaipur
#24 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bujera Fort
Bujera Fort
#18 of 153 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.7 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 153 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sun Heritage Home
Sun Heritage Home
#15 of 255 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
2.1 mi away
Krishna Ranch
Krishna Ranch
#11 of 255 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bhanwar Vilas Guest House
Bhanwar Vilas Guest House
#1 of 255 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Ridge

Property: Mountain Ridge
Address: Sisarma Village, Udaipur 313031, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your first impressions of Mountain Ridge will probably be the space, peace, quiet and the breathtaking panoramic views. After a short acquaintance, you will feel that Mountain Ridge is just like home. There is nowhere quite like it for perfect relaxation, and though the city is merely a few minutes' away, Mountain Ridge is in another world...Mountain Ridge occupies the top of a high rocky bluff, just outside the ancient village of Sisarma. On the eastern side is a mountain that separates Sisarma from Lake Pichola and to the south our land is bordered by protected forestry land. To the west are the beautiful hills and valleys of the majestic Arawalli Range; with remote, scattered tribal settlements that are there waiting to be explored. To the north, rises Bansdara Mountain, topped by the formidable Monsoon Palace. The City of Udaipur is only a few minutes' away, so you are not far from the shops and landmarks, but the short distance from the city to Mountain Ridge makes all the difference in the world as far as the tranquility is concerned. The sounds of horns, brakes, loudspeakers and other noise pollution seem a million miles away. Mountain Ridge enjoys balmy days of fresh air and peace, and delightful velvety nights of gentle breezes and only the sound of crickets. There is so much you can do - swimming, trekking, going on a village safari, bird watching, mountain walking, having a massage or just sitting & relaxing with your favorite book with a soothing sounds of nature. Our cook takes a pride in preparing and serving mouth-watering Indian and International cuisine, and the rest of the staff are ever ready to ensure you have a pleasant and comfortable stay. Altogether your stay at Mountain Ridge will recharge you and provide you with happy memories of a rarely seen facet of India. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Ridge Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing