We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
111
121
32
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
121
32
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity palaceview of the lakelocation is greatwalking distanceroof terracehotel is locatedclean hotelno liftpleasant stayold citypaintingslakeviewrajasthan
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2012

The hotel is perfectly located at 2 mins walk to the city palace and the ghats. The room, the priciest they have was a lake view room, that was nice but the room was very small as the bed, and not that clean. The bathroom was small as well and...i wont define it clean...They have a beautiful rooftop with lake view that according to their pictures they should use it to serve breakfast...but the breakfast wasn t available during or stay....they aduced some excuses than we opted for a reggae restaurant 200 meters away for our breakfast. We were little deceived by this hotel but the staff, the owner (a painter) and her wife who gives indian cooking lessons were very warm, friendly and always smiling that made our stay in udaipur very pleasent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdeleAili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We were delighted upon entry of the hotel,
the building breathtaking, and is delicately hand painted by the amazing artist Soni.
The room was clean, very comfortable and had an amazing view of the lake!
Highly recommend the cooking class, great insight into indian cuisine and what it takes to make a good dish!
The family are very friendly and Digvijay is incredibly helpful if you need any advice or assistance for planning your trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viv T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digvijayr89, General Manager at Hotel Krishna Niwas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for posting your views about Hotel Krishna Niwas on Trip Advisor. We are overwhelmed to recieve your feedback and have shared it with all our team members. Your every word has been very motivating and inspiring for all of us.

Thank you so much for placing us high on your expectation levels.

We shall look forward to welcoming you back to Krishna Niwas in not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Krishna Niwas is a family hotel, very well located in Udaipur, near everything that matters! We've stayed in lake view room: they're small, with more furniture than needed. You'll have some view of the lake, which is good. Also, although it's in the center, the hotel isn't noisy.
The owners are nice, but service is not their strong point: we've booked 3 nights and we had to change rooms in the second night - for one floor above, same room. Internet wasn't working and we never had our rooms cleaned - cleaning is not the best thing about this place.
But they're nice and it's like a guesthouse more than a hotel.
Bathroom is simple, with an average shower (of course there isn't box or curtains), hot water running all time. But there isn't much space to put things.
They don't have a restaurant and we never asked for breakfast there, so can't comment on that. They have cooking classes and the kitchen is really nice, but we didn't try it.
Also, there's lots of stairs and no lift, so if you have a problem with that, don't book it.
It's an average place, not a place to be after one tiring day. But has a good price and is really well located, so if this is the most important for you, try this hotel.

Room Tip: Lake view room if you want to see daylight.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We stayed at the Krishna Niwas for 3 nights in November. The location was perfect, right in the centre, close to the Jagdish Temple, and all of the main sights were within walking distance.

The room was clean, comfortable and air conditioned, and we had a lake view which looked straight out over the lake palace. The hotel is owner by an artist family, and they have decorated the place beautifully themselves. They run cookery classes which we didn't have time to do, but looked fantastic.

The owners were really lovely and helpful - we arrived off the overnight train at 7am, and they managed to sort us out with a room in half an hour despite checkin not officially being until 12, which we were really grateful for. They made us feel at home and helped us out with information about places to go and organised a taxi for us for the next leg of our trip.

Room Tip: loved our lake view room!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gavo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digvijayr89, General Manager at Hotel Krishna Niwas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Dear Guest,

It is indeed a pleasure to read your review on Trip Advisor.

I am happy to note that you had a pleasant stay with us and the services extended by my team were to your satisfaction. Thank you for your valuable feedback.

My team and i look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Krishna Niwas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We had booked this hotel in September for two families one for us and another for our parents who were senior citizens.Me and my husband Anish Shastri just got fooled by relying on people like Agoda and online booking. When we arrived at hotel we came to know that the rooms were located on 4th floor without any lifts and hence they offered us to shift to adjoining hotel Mewar Niwas. They were just liars. They informed us that do not rely on agoda.com it does not pay good and they regret being associated with agoda.com. We should not inform agoda.com about the problem we are facing and they would pay for us in another hotel. After an hr once another hotel was booked they started moving away from their words and told us to do the payment and once they receive our order money from agoda they would credit amount to us. Till date after lotsa followups and phone calls they have just credited just Rs. 1000/-.
Also the rooms offered were pathetic for lake view it was just a small corner of lake seen from a small window of room. Their family stay in down floors and cook there and they offer another 3 rooms as hotel. Pathetic Non reliable People.

Room Tip: This hotel should not be booked at all. Pathetic rooms and liar people and management.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShastriAnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews