We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
111
121
32
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
121
32
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity palaceview of the lakelocation is greatwalking distanceroof terracehotel is locatedclean hotelno liftpleasant stayold citypaintingslakeviewrajasthan
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Hotel Krishna niwas is well located near lake picola and the city palace. We stayed in the lake view room. Room had nice views however the rooms were very small and a bit stuffy.
The hotel was run a bit like a guest house. Receptionist weren't that attentive. We had issues with the WiFi for the 2 nights. Fr some reason the WiFi only worked on one device and between around 10.30am to 10pm. Reception could not help us rectify this issue. Also, the receptionist sleeps downstairs, it was a bit strange when we checked out early to see people sleeping on the couch downstairs and with no lights on.
For the price will paid, we think we could have got a bit more at other hotels in udaipur. There was also no breakfast served. It was also a bit strange that there is a rooftop restaurant set up but no food or drinks served.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alui47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

It is definetively a great place in terms of location to explore Udaipur.
Rooms nicely decorated, with a hand painted ceiling and a great view for the lake Pichola. If you not pick one of the rooms facing the lake, you may enjoy the same view by accedding to the roof top. And this is one of the issues. If you are not into climbing stairs, you may prefer to stay in some other place. Their neighboor hotel have an elevator, and this can be suitable to elders and any one with some sort of disability.
Breakfast is pretty basic, as you will find in any other hotel on this price range.
The main topic is that the whole operation is running as a family business. Staff will be warm and attentious to your requests, you can even have cook lessons with the owner in a nice teaching kitchen. However, it seems to have a lack of ambition to conquer guests. During our stay on an early checkout we were surprised to see that the staff was sleeping at the lobby by 8:00.
Even being new years eve, nothing was arranged to take advantage of the roof top as an option for guests to see the fireworks. A shame, as Even tinnier  hotels were throwing their own parties.
It may be an option to maintain things like these, but definetively it is a waste of opportunity as the hotel is so well located in such a good city.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms worth the money. Room 105 definetively made it.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vmazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digvijayr89, General Manager at Hotel Krishna Niwas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Guest,

It is indeed a pleasure to read your review on Trip Advisor.

I am happy to note that you had a pleasant stay with us and the services extended by my team were to your satisfaction. Thank you for your valuable feedback.

With regards to new year eve we cannot avail this opportunity as the father of our Respected owner he recently passed away .For sure we take your suggestion for next year sir

My team and i look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Krishna Niwas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

The hotel is perfectly located at 2 mins walk to the city palace and the ghats. The room, the priciest they have was a lake view room, that was nice but the room was very small as the bed, and not that clean. The bathroom was small as well and...i wont define it clean...They have a beautiful rooftop with lake view that according to their pictures they should use it to serve breakfast...but the breakfast wasn t available during or stay....they aduced some excuses than we opted for a reggae restaurant 200 meters away for our breakfast. We were little deceived by this hotel but the staff, the owner (a painter) and her wife who gives indian cooking lessons were very warm, friendly and always smiling that made our stay in udaipur very pleasent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdeleAili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We were delighted upon entry of the hotel,
the building breathtaking, and is delicately hand painted by the amazing artist Soni.
The room was clean, very comfortable and had an amazing view of the lake!
Highly recommend the cooking class, great insight into indian cuisine and what it takes to make a good dish!
The family are very friendly and Digvijay is incredibly helpful if you need any advice or assistance for planning your trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viv T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digvijayr89, General Manager at Hotel Krishna Niwas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for posting your views about Hotel Krishna Niwas on Trip Advisor. We are overwhelmed to recieve your feedback and have shared it with all our team members. Your every word has been very motivating and inspiring for all of us.

Thank you so much for placing us high on your expectation levels.

We shall look forward to welcoming you back to Krishna Niwas in not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Krishna Niwas is a family hotel, very well located in Udaipur, near everything that matters! We've stayed in lake view room: they're small, with more furniture than needed. You'll have some view of the lake, which is good. Also, although it's in the center, the hotel isn't noisy.
The owners are nice, but service is not their strong point: we've booked 3 nights and we had to change rooms in the second night - for one floor above, same room. Internet wasn't working and we never had our rooms cleaned - cleaning is not the best thing about this place.
But they're nice and it's like a guesthouse more than a hotel.
Bathroom is simple, with an average shower (of course there isn't box or curtains), hot water running all time. But there isn't much space to put things.
They don't have a restaurant and we never asked for breakfast there, so can't comment on that. They have cooking classes and the kitchen is really nice, but we didn't try it.
Also, there's lots of stairs and no lift, so if you have a problem with that, don't book it.
It's an average place, not a place to be after one tiring day. But has a good price and is really well located, so if this is the most important for you, try this hotel.

Room Tip: Lake view room if you want to see daylight.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews