We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Krishna Niwas
Ranked #62 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A relaxing stay”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Really friendly staff (young man who was going to visit France later this year!), we stayed in the superior ac room that didn't really have much of a view (view of the building next door) but we really didn't need anything more: the room was very comfortable, clean, and spacious. The rooftop was a great place to chill out with a beer (provided at reception for 150rs) and watch the sun set over the mountains. Good location close to the main tourist strip but calm so that you don't get woken up by the normal Indian honking!
Would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms have a good view of the lake but if you're not bothered about seeing the lake fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VHRCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digvijayr89, General Manager at Hotel Krishna Niwas, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Krishna Niwas, Udaipur.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at Hotel Krishna Niwas.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Krishna Niwas soon.

Kind regards,

Digvijay Singh Rathore
General Manager
Hotel Krishna Niwas, Udaipur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    111
    31
    14
    9
See reviews for
47
105
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Not often do I bother to write comments or reviews on websites, but my stay at the Krishna Niwas left me with no option but to tell anyone who will listen "Go visit!"

From the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. The staff go out of their way for you with nothing to hard for them, what makes it special is that they are all so very genuine. The facilities are great, clean and make for a warm atmosphere, great hotel, great location and fantastic staff! Digvijay -- Hats off to you!! Will not stay at any other place whenever I visit Udaipur!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pri_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digvijayr89, General Manager at Hotel Krishna Niwas, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Krishna Niwas, Udaipur.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at Hotel Krishna Niwas.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Krishna Niwas soon.

Kind regards,

Digvijay Singh Rathore
General Manager
Hotel Krishna Niwas, Udaipur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Hi!

I'm Lindsay from Toronto, Canada. I didn't stay at this hotel because I booked at another place days prior to my arrival in Udaipur. This is such an amazing little city. Honestly a hidden gem and I wish I had more time allotted here.

My friend and I heard about this hotel and its fabulous cooking classes! Thinking it would be a cool thing to do, and a skill to bring home to share with friends and family, I attended.

IT WAS AMAZING!

Best food, best teacher, hands on, meal provided, a couple hours long, super clean, and the tastes are just to die for! We got a little cookbook recipe guide at the end and you have the option of buying the actual spices used as well for a very reasonable price. The Masala Chai Tea is literally UNREAL. We bought that spice :)

This is a family run hotel and they are the sweetest, most thoughtful family. The husband has beautiful art, the wife has amazing talents in the kitchen, the two daughters are studying Psychology and Geology and their youngest 14 year old son has dreams of a piano music scholarship in England.

The whole family has been invited, by one the families who stays at their hotel, to Rome for a week so the wife can provide a full 3 day cooking class, the husband provides art classes and the son plays the piano. Not only am I so proud of their many talents, outstanding English but I am so excited for them to travel outside of India for the first time and visit Europe! Good luck guys!!!

Just a wonderful atmosphere and the MOST BEAUTIFUL terrace on the top that overlooks the entire city and it is so romantic and girlie and candlelit in the evening!!

HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE IN UDAIPUR!

Hope I can come back one day!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindsayBotten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is its location, which is ideal for exploring Udaipur. The two rooms I saw - including the one in which I spent one night - were pretty standard and perfectly adequate. It's a clean if slightly soulless place. A fair few stairs to climb. Overall it did the job but didn't wow. Similarly-priced Mewar Haveli next door, with its attractive rooftop restaurant and more polished service, might be a better choice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandering_Seahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digvijayr89, General Manager at Hotel Krishna Niwas, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We truly appreciate and thank you for your time and effort to share your experience with us, especially for appreciating the Room and Cleanliness. I am delighted to know that our team’s effort made your stay comfortable. We do hope you will recommend us to your friends and associates.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Best Wishes
Digvijay Singh Rathore
General Manager
Hotel Krishna Niwas, Udaipur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Hotel Krishna niwas is well located near lake picola and the city palace. We stayed in the lake view room. Room had nice views however the rooms were very small and a bit stuffy.
The hotel was run a bit like a guest house. Receptionist weren't that attentive. We had issues with the WiFi for the 2 nights. Fr some reason the WiFi only worked on one device and between around 10.30am to 10pm. Reception could not help us rectify this issue. Also, the receptionist sleeps downstairs, it was a bit strange when we checked out early to see people sleeping on the couch downstairs and with no lights on.
For the price will paid, we think we could have got a bit more at other hotels in udaipur. There was also no breakfast served. It was also a bit strange that there is a rooftop restaurant set up but no food or drinks served.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alui47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

It is definetively a great place in terms of location to explore Udaipur.
Rooms nicely decorated, with a hand painted ceiling and a great view for the lake Pichola. If you not pick one of the rooms facing the lake, you may enjoy the same view by accedding to the roof top. And this is one of the issues. If you are not into climbing stairs, you may prefer to stay in some other place. Their neighboor hotel have an elevator, and this can be suitable to elders and any one with some sort of disability.
Breakfast is pretty basic, as you will find in any other hotel on this price range.
The main topic is that the whole operation is running as a family business. Staff will be warm and attentious to your requests, you can even have cook lessons with the owner in a nice teaching kitchen. However, it seems to have a lack of ambition to conquer guests. During our stay on an early checkout we were surprised to see that the staff was sleeping at the lobby by 8:00.
Even being new years eve, nothing was arranged to take advantage of the roof top as an option for guests to see the fireworks. A shame, as Even tinnier  hotels were throwing their own parties.
It may be an option to maintain things like these, but definetively it is a waste of opportunity as the hotel is so well located in such a good city.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms worth the money. Room 105 definetively made it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vmazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digvijayr89, General Manager at Hotel Krishna Niwas, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Dear Guest,

It is indeed a pleasure to read your review on Trip Advisor.

I am happy to note that you had a pleasant stay with us and the services extended by my team were to your satisfaction. Thank you for your valuable feedback.

With regards to new year eve we cannot avail this opportunity as the father of our Respected owner he recently passed away .For sure we take your suggestion for next year sir

My team and i look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Krishna Niwas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

The hotel is perfectly located at 2 mins walk to the city palace and the ghats. The room, the priciest they have was a lake view room, that was nice but the room was very small as the bed, and not that clean. The bathroom was small as well and...i wont define it clean...They have a beautiful rooftop with lake view that according to their pictures they should use it to serve breakfast...but the breakfast wasn t available during or stay....they aduced some excuses than we opted for a reggae restaurant 200 meters away for our breakfast. We were little deceived by this hotel but the staff, the owner (a painter) and her wife who gives indian cooking lessons were very warm, friendly and always smiling that made our stay in udaipur very pleasent.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdeleAili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
0.5 mi away
Rangniwas Palace Hotel
Rangniwas Palace Hotel
#45 of 157 in Udaipur
293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#13 of 157 in Udaipur
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel The Tiger
Hotel The Tiger
#67 of 157 in Udaipur
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 157 in Udaipur
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Thamla Haveli
Hotel Thamla Haveli
#68 of 157 in Udaipur
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krishna Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krishna Niwas

Property: Hotel Krishna Niwas
Address: 34 and35 Lal Ghat | Behind Jagdish Temple, Udaipur, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Krishna Niwas 1.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Krishna Niwas Udaipur welcomes you to City of Lakes. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Krishna Niwas is a 11 Room family-run small hotel which is beautifully decorated & hand painted by international artist Jairaj Soni.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible only by stairs.We have 6 lake view a/c rooms & 5 superior non lake view a/c room with basic amenities .Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, Televisions, free wi-fi and attached bathrooms with 24 hours running hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,Bagore ki haveli ( rajasthani folk dance centre ),City palace ,Jagdish temple,many ghats ,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake. The Hotel Krishna Niwas is owned and run by a family of artists: Jairaj Soni, his wife Sushma Soni & brothers Nirbhayraj, Giriraj & Rakesh Soni, and is situated in the Old City, close to the famous Pichola Lake and is within convenient walking distance of shops, restaurants and many of the top tourist attractions. The Krishna Niwas is tastefully decorated in the traditional haveli style of Rajasthan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Krishna Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krishna Niwas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing