We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely and Great Hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Krishna Niwas
Ranked #61 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Homely and Great Hospitality!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

It was an absolute pleasure to stay at Hotel Krishna Niwas in a Lake View room! After an initial drama in Delhi, Digvijay (the Hotel Manager) was very helpful and accommodating! The staff are friendly and attentive and if you want something, all you need to do is ask! Jairaj and Sushma are very welcoming and its definitely worth taking the time to have a chat with them during your stay! Being a solo female traveller, it is always a little touch-and-go in choosing somewhere to stay, but I always felt safe and welcome at Krishna Niwas. The location is perfect for tourists as you're right in the middle of town and close to all the local tourist attractions. Would definitely stay here again when visiting Udaipur!

Room Tip: Choose a Lake View room! Its a magical view, especially at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happygolucky910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    113
    31
    14
    9
See reviews for
47
106
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We had booked a Lakeview Superior room in this hotel to start our honeymoon but, whilst travelling, the hotel emailed me to say we had been moved to another hotel of similar standing due to a sick person in our room. Upon arriving at the Krishna Niwas we found we'd been moved to a far less pleasant hotel - please see review here: http://www.tripadvisor.in/ShowUserReviews-g297672-d2273813-r191679017-Hotel_Devraj_Niwas-Udaipur_Rajasthan.html - the Dev raj Niwas, This new hotel room had no view and there were dog faeces on the floor outside our room. My wife was in tears at this treatment and the hovel we had been moved to.

Adding to this indignity, the Krishna manager himself was not even present to deal with this matter but left it to his handyman. A fact only revealed to me after some 20 mins of me venting my annoyance and upset, exacerbated by jetlag from 24 hours travel.

The next day the actual Krishna manager apologised profusely and promised to make it up to us, which he did within the parameters of this hotel. Our corner Lakeview room was small but cosy and I felt very happy in that room. It was clean and warm but no complimentary water, it also appears Krishna maybe in the process of updating their rooms with flat screen TV. The bathroom was not great and the shower was so weak my wife could not properly rinse her long hair. For myself, it was sufficient.

Whilst the room was made up daily the towels were not changed and we had to ask three times for fresh ones. When these 'fresh' towels came they were grubby and grey - please see photos.

Staff were exceptionally friendly and polite, and the manager did apologise personally to us both and I have no doubt this was a heartfelt apology. I don't believe Krishna will ever do this 'hotel swap' to anyone in future. Our loss is your gain dear traveller!

Breakfast was humdrum but certainly sufficient and the location and rooftop views are superb.

I cannot gloss over the abysmal first night of our honeymoon caused by a dreadful management failure but the rest of the stay is probably about par for a budget hotel. The score reflects this in that what would have otherwise been average, is dragged down by the first night being a 0 out of 5 due to breach of contract by the hotel.

Room Tip: Corner room tiny but cosy with good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squicker531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Jaipur is known for it artistic architectures with full of colors. It is known as Pink city. If you love arts then you must visit and stay at Hotel Krishna Niwas. It is owned by Mr. Khatri who himself is an artist and decorated his hotel very artistically. I am sure you will love the terrace view and interiors of the hotel. The most important thing is the manner in which they treat their customers. For unforgettable and comfortable stay you can seriously consider this option.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShamDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2014

hotel krishna niwas is a pleasant place to stay at.rooms a very neat and clean.i stayed in the hotel for 4 days and i got the opportunity to do the cooking class.i feel very delighted as it was a very good decision on my part.sushma is an excellent cook.very professional and she a very calm person and speaks fluent English.i cant wait to go back home and try all the dishes that i learnt in her class.she offers you meal after her cooking show which was a fest for my belly.hotel krishna niwas is very tranquil place you feel as if you are at home as the staff is very friendly and helpful.Mr. jairaj soni,sushma's husband is one gem of a person he is very well know artist and has been painting since last 38 years.he has a gallery in the hotel also i was pleased to see his work as it was very beautiful and i purchased someof his paintings .Mr.jairaj and Ms.sushma make a woderful combination as husband and wife they both exhibit their creativity and talent.do reserve a room in this hotel for a wonderful stay at udaipur. cheers :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nabraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The people in the hotel were courteous and friendly..they gave us a lot of information about Udaipur..clean rooms..decent WiFi! Centrally located and walking distance to City Palace and nice view of Pichola lake! Breakfast in rooftop restaurant needs to be improved!

Room Tip: Go for a lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pratyay0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Krishna Niwas was the first place we stayed at in India on our 18 day tour of the country. After an interesting taxi drive to the hotel from the airport, we were very warmly welcomed by Digvijay (general manager). From the moment we arrived, Digvijay made us feel at ease and assisted us with further travel arrangements as our original plans didn't work out! He planned a wonderful itinerary for us during our stay in Udaipur and helped ensure that we saw everything that was important to see. No task was too big for him, he helped us with a smile on his face every time we needed assistance. The hotel is owned by an artist and his wife. His wife, Sashmi, offers an amazing cooking class on the first floor of the hotel. We really enjoyed her food! Don't eat lunch, she makes quite a spread. She offers tasters during the class and then serves all the dishes at the end at one of the dining tables upstairs. The hotel is beautifully hand painted mostly by the owner (he allowed some of his apprentices to paint certain sections) throughout. Rooms are big enough. Bathroom is a wetroom as you'll find throughout India in budget hotels. Water is hot (mixers are quite temperamental so sometimes water keeps getting hotter). No one comes to clean room during your stay. TV's with cable are available in the rooms. Wi-fi is available but works best downstairs in the lobby. There is an internet cafe next door too if necessary. Beautiful rooftop views where you can eat breakfast in the mornings. Breakfast is not inclusive of the room rate. Room was quite noisy but due to outside noise - this is just something to get used to while travelling through India. Hooting usually subsides at around 11pm. For R375 per night, this hotel is very good value for money and the service is some of the best we came across in India.

Room Tip: Lake view room was nice. Rooms on the other side were a bit bigger with cupboards. Potentially not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleyandGraham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Beautiful building, nicely decorated and very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms had view over Lake Pichola and everything we wanted to see and visit was within 10 min walking distance. The only negative is that we did not have hot water the morning we had to check out, but it was very early.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for room with lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
0.0 mi away
Hotel The Tiger
Hotel The Tiger
#68 of 161 in Udaipur
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nayee Haveli
Hotel Nayee Haveli
#39 of 161 in Udaipur
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#12 of 161 in Udaipur
562 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#29 of 161 in Udaipur
787 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#8 of 161 in Udaipur
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krishna Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krishna Niwas

Property: Hotel Krishna Niwas
Address: 34 and35 Lal Ghat | Behind Jagdish Temple, Udaipur, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Krishna Niwas 1.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Krishna Niwas Udaipur welcomes you to City of Lakes. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Krishna Niwas is a 11 Room family-run small hotel which is beautifully decorated & hand painted by international artist Jairaj Soni.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible only by stairs.We have 6 lake view a/c rooms & 5 superior non lake view a/c room with basic amenities .Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, Televisions, free wi-fi and attached bathrooms with 24 hours running hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,Bagore ki haveli ( rajasthani folk dance centre ),City palace ,Jagdish temple,many ghats ,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake. The Hotel Krishna Niwas is owned and run by a family of artists: Jairaj Soni, his wife Sushma Soni & brothers Nirbhayraj, Giriraj & Rakesh Soni, and is situated in the Old City, close to the famous Pichola Lake and is within convenient walking distance of shops, restaurants and many of the top tourist attractions. The Krishna Niwas is tastefully decorated in the traditional haveli style of Rajasthan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Krishna Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krishna Niwas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing