We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Krishna Niwas
Ranked #63 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
1 review
“Home away from home...”
Reviewed 10 September 2009

We stayed at the Krishna Niwas in early September during the Monsoon season (which is usually not the best time). We were lucky enough to have beautiful sunny weather and a full lake which we had an amazing view of from our room. The room itself was beatifully decorated with art work painted by the owner Jairaj (you can also purchase it from a shop nearby). On the first floor is the cooking classroom which his wife runs. We took a two hour cooking class to learn how to make three delicious curries and various breads which we ate at the end of the class. The kitchen is very well designed for cooking classes and Susma is a very experienced and patient teacher. She makes the base ingredients herself, including spices, so if you are passionate about your food like us, you will agree this is a great place to learn about Indian cooking. Then there was Digvijay on the front desk who is possibly the most helpful person we have come across; there was nothing he couldn't arrange for us. The location of the hotel is also very convenient as it was only a 3 minute walk to the City Palace or the Lake (so no need to haggle with the Auto drivers). Without doubt we would stay here again if we were coming back to Udaipur and that is saying something giving the amazing hotels in this area.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandEl_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    111
    30
    14
    9
See reviews for
46
105
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brit in India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

The staff offer a warm welcome and the hotel has a pleasant spacious reception area to dump all your luggage on arrival. The stairs can be good for fitness but the view of the lake and palace from the room is worth the climb. The room was clean, the a/c efficient and mozzie free in the room (compare with the walls outside the room !) The rooms were relatively spacious and comfortable and there was a rooftop restaurant for breakfast. The room was Rs1650 @ night for 4 people which was fair value. The location is very good and only 10 minutes walk from the major attractions. There is a shop next door for honestly priced water and goodies. This is a good hotel and I would recommend this to friends without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g0bha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italia
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2009

I spent here 3 days in this nice hotel. The staff is great, nice and kind. The room is awesome, clean, big and the view of the lake is very beautiful. They have all the facility and also a fantastic cooking class with a very very good teacher. I spenta here a really good time and if you are in Udaipur you can miss this hotel. Came here without problem you will be happy.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mongol3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

It was a heritage property. Rooms were not spacious and room services were pathetic.

They were also not very helpful giving info about surrounding areas.

The View was good.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — room services
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rajathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
185 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2009

We arrived to a warm welcome from the manager who filled in the boring check doc's you face at every hotel for us and served us with ice cold complimentary bottled water. We were offered a choice of rooms with a lakeview which were small but clean and well furnished.

The rooftop restaurant offerd wonderful views over the lake and the palace but sadly could only offer basic breakfast.

The shower was the only real downside here as it wins our record for the most tempermental in India - freezing one minute burning the next - we had to resort to the asian way of washing mixing the water in a large bucket - but hey when in rome etc etc.

We didn't find the staff un helpful or too pushy in fact one of the brothers gave us directions to the restaurant we wanted to eat in and advice on how much to pay the auto rickshaw - our hot tip eat with the local on station road at Natraj - all yopu can eat thali for 80rps and absolutely fantastic food!!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merryweather29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2008

We were very excited to stay here it looks lovely but from the outset the young manager seemed very suspicious.
Every time we came back to the hotel the staff would follow us to our room and hassle us about buying their books and where to go to eat and to drink and what buy and where.

At first we were very polite and declined but we were there for four days and finally I lost it and said if we want your suggestions we will ask! We both suspected that the staff are touts for nearby stores and rickshaws. BE CAREFUL.

Also our first room had an open vent between our bathroom and the neighbours, we could hear EVERYTHING they said and did.
Not only that the shower was terrible, and either was boiling hot or freezing cold trickles of water.
When i went downstairs to ask if we could move rooms the dodgy manager said it was fine and he would fix it. He also said the vent between bathrooms was ok.
Later that evening we found it had not been fixed. When we asked about it again, he insisted that he had done it. We insisted it was still the same, the owner heard and came down, he asked. We explained it still needed fixing to which the manager replied to the owner he'd fixed it and it was fine - right in front of us! We said no it was not fine, we could not shower, to which the manager replied "no no all fine".
Finally we insisted on moving to another room.

I got very dodgy vibes off both the manager and rest of the staff. Be careful, it looks pretty but dont go there, they are not friendly and not to be trusted.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank Jade_alexander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2008

I stayed for 4 nights in room 106. This room has nice handpaintings on the wall and a good view to the see. But the toilet of the neighbouring room leads directly in this room. So you can hear and smell everything from there. There are a lot other hotels and guest houses in the area. So if you plan to go to Udaipur look around.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bin-weg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Rangniwas Palace Hotel
Rangniwas Palace Hotel
#44 of 156 in Udaipur
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#12 of 156 in Udaipur
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anjani Hotel
Anjani Hotel
#64 of 156 in Udaipur
498 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel The Tiger
Hotel The Tiger
#65 of 156 in Udaipur
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 156 in Udaipur
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krishna Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krishna Niwas

Property: Hotel Krishna Niwas
Address: 34 and35 Lal Ghat | Behind Jagdish Temple, Udaipur, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Krishna Niwas 1.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Krishna Niwas Udaipur welcomes you to City of Lakes. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Krishna Niwas is a 11 Room family-run small hotel which is beautifully decorated & hand painted by international artist Jairaj Soni.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible only by stairs.We have 6 lake view a/c rooms & 5 superior non lake view a/c room with basic amenities .Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, Televisions, free wi-fi and attached bathrooms with 24 hours running hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,Bagore ki haveli ( rajasthani folk dance centre ),City palace ,Jagdish temple,many ghats ,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake. The Hotel Krishna Niwas is owned and run by a family of artists: Jairaj Soni, his wife Sushma Soni & brothers Nirbhayraj, Giriraj & Rakesh Soni, and is situated in the Old City, close to the famous Pichola Lake and is within convenient walking distance of shops, restaurants and many of the top tourist attractions. The Krishna Niwas is tastefully decorated in the traditional haveli style of Rajasthan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Krishna Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krishna Niwas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing