We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super friendly owners and lovely room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Krishna Niwas

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Krishna Niwas
Ranked #57 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super friendly owners and lovely room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a lovely time in Udaipur. The family that owns this place is friendly and helpful.

The rooms are each uniquely painted/decorated by the owner who happens to be a fantastic artist as well! Our room was comfortable with working AC (necessary in April) but a tad small. We didn't stay very long in the room each day, so this wasn't a big deal.

We also took Sushma's cooking class, which was fantastic. The food we made was delicious! We can't wait to start making our own chapatis and curry at home. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenl_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    108
    29
    13
    8
See reviews for
42
104
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a few days and found the experience very pleasant. The room was comfortable with a great view of the lake (or what was supposed to be a lake it was pretty dried up when we were there) and working air conditioner. It was nice that there was a couch and a bed in the room. It really made it a quiet and pleasant place to rest. The management was very helpful and hospitable. The location of the hotel is great too, you can walk to everything - all of the great restaurants and attractions in Udaipur. The rooftop has an amazing view too.

The Hotel staff arranged a car for us to visit Ranakpur and Kumbalgarh. These were two interesting sights and well worth the time and effort to get too, if for nothing else but to get an amazing view of the countryside and the beautiful nature.

Make sure you check out the leather bound books they make and sell there. They have a great selection. They are a good value and appear to be of a higher quality than most of the books you see in the shops on the main road. We brought some back as gifts and people really liked them.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

we spent our first day in india in this hotel and it was a great welcome!
the hotel is very nice and clean, the location isgreat and the family is so nice and warm.
it was like coming home

michal & nava

Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank michaldj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Krishna Niwas for 4 nights. It has great and convinient location.
Our room was clean and comfortable with a wonderful lake view. The staff here is very
friendly and personable and the cooking class with Sushma is not to be missed.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zolda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2010

The hotel is very much a family-run place and very friendly containing beautiful art work and paintings. We didn't stay there but went to one of Sushma's cooking classes. We would highly recommend these as they are very professionally run in a dedicated 'teaching' kitchen. We learnt how to make Butter Paneer Masala, Aloo Gobi, Dhall and many other basic things like the correct choice of spices, how to make a very fresh garam masala, how to create paneer and how to make chapatis from scratch. Sushma went ahead with the class even though there were only two of us booked in for that day (she can take up to a dozen or more, I think) and we were given printed copies of each recipe and then we sat down to enjoy the wonderful food that we had created. Excellent value.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thornenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2009

this place has been the best we did in all our travel. the rooms are nice we saw them but we were not staying there though but it is not that much for the hotel, that is not that marvellous though high level, but much ;ore for 2 things: the family, where you can eat in the kitchen, dicuss with the parents or the daughters you really feel home in this middle class indian family. And at last but not least the cooking lessons are just sooo worth it, Sushma s wonderful and her paner butter masala is the best we cooked and had in india!!! so even if you don t sleep there, check her for her restaurant and her cooking classes you won t regret it

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank massilia16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

Very nice hotel, wonderfull lake view,
hotel is painted by jairaj
adorable and confortable room
Very good and helpfull manager Digvijay singh rathore.
All the tourist attractions (places like city palace ) near to the hotel...
we enjoy & love stay here and next time also we stay here in krishna niwas..........
Valerie Grandjean

  • Liked — greatt view n decoration
  • Disliked — all gudd
  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank well0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Thamla Haveli
Hotel Thamla Haveli
#59 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#10 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#28 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rangniwas Palace Hotel
Rangniwas Palace Hotel
#43 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#92 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krishna Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krishna Niwas

Property: Hotel Krishna Niwas
Address: 34 and35 Lal Ghat | Behind Jagdish Temple, Udaipur, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Krishna Niwas 1.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Krishna Niwas Udaipur welcomes you to City of Lakes. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Krishna Niwas is a 11 Room family-run small hotel which is beautifully decorated & hand painted by international artist Jairaj Soni.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible only by stairs.We have 6 lake view a/c rooms & 5 superior non lake view a/c room with basic amenities .Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, Televisions, free wi-fi and attached bathrooms with 24 hours running hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,Bagore ki haveli ( rajasthani folk dance centre ),City palace ,Jagdish temple,many ghats ,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake. The Hotel Krishna Niwas is owned and run by a family of artists: Jairaj Soni, his wife Sushma Soni & brothers Nirbhayraj, Giriraj & Rakesh Soni, and is situated in the Old City, close to the famous Pichola Lake and is within convenient walking distance of shops, restaurants and many of the top tourist attractions. The Krishna Niwas is tastefully decorated in the traditional haveli style of Rajasthan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Krishna Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krishna Niwas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing