We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favourite Experience in India”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Krishna Niwas
Ranked #63 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“My Favourite Experience in India”
Reviewed 23 August 2010

My friend and I were traveling through India for 3 weeks and our stay in Udaipur was a highlight. We did not stay at this hotel but we spent lots of time here because we took Sushma's Cooking Classes two days in a row (we liked the first session so much we requested a second class the next day). Sushma was very accommodating and full of information and she sent us packing with all of the recipes we made very full stomachs. This cooking school is the best in Udaipur and it was also the first. Sushma has been teaching tourists to cook for over 11 years.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleM_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    111
    30
    14
    9
See reviews for
46
105
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amritsar, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

I cannot fault this hotel - the rooms are comfortable (proper mattresses), clean and ours had a lake view.

The service was exceptionally friendly and welcoming.

The cooking class was good too!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wickedwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2010

This is a terrific small hotel, run by a lovely family of painters and their excellent staff. It has a warm family feel to it. Sushma’s cooking class was excellent. The hotel only serves breakfast but there are restaurants close by. The location is brilliant. This a great place to stay in a stunning city. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stinger353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a lovely time in Udaipur. The family that owns this place is friendly and helpful.

The rooms are each uniquely painted/decorated by the owner who happens to be a fantastic artist as well! Our room was comfortable with working AC (necessary in April) but a tad small. We didn't stay very long in the room each day, so this wasn't a big deal.

We also took Sushma's cooking class, which was fantastic. The food we made was delicious! We can't wait to start making our own chapatis and curry at home. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenl_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a few days and found the experience very pleasant. The room was comfortable with a great view of the lake (or what was supposed to be a lake it was pretty dried up when we were there) and working air conditioner. It was nice that there was a couch and a bed in the room. It really made it a quiet and pleasant place to rest. The management was very helpful and hospitable. The location of the hotel is great too, you can walk to everything - all of the great restaurants and attractions in Udaipur. The rooftop has an amazing view too.

The Hotel staff arranged a car for us to visit Ranakpur and Kumbalgarh. These were two interesting sights and well worth the time and effort to get too, if for nothing else but to get an amazing view of the countryside and the beautiful nature.

Make sure you check out the leather bound books they make and sell there. They have a great selection. They are a good value and appear to be of a higher quality than most of the books you see in the shops on the main road. We brought some back as gifts and people really liked them.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2010

we spent our first day in india in this hotel and it was a great welcome!
the hotel is very nice and clean, the location isgreat and the family is so nice and warm.
it was like coming home

michal & nava

Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank michaldj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Krishna Niwas for 4 nights. It has great and convinient location.
Our room was clean and comfortable with a wonderful lake view. The staff here is very
friendly and personable and the cooking class with Sushma is not to be missed.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zolda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nayee Haveli
Hotel Nayee Haveli
#42 of 156 in Udaipur
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rangniwas Palace Hotel
Rangniwas Palace Hotel
#44 of 156 in Udaipur
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#12 of 156 in Udaipur
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anjani Hotel
Anjani Hotel
#62 of 156 in Udaipur
498 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel The Tiger
Hotel The Tiger
#64 of 156 in Udaipur
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krishna Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krishna Niwas

Property: Hotel Krishna Niwas
Address: 34 and35 Lal Ghat | Behind Jagdish Temple, Udaipur, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Krishna Niwas 1.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Krishna Niwas Udaipur welcomes you to City of Lakes. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Krishna Niwas is a 11 Room family-run small hotel which is beautifully decorated & hand painted by international artist Jairaj Soni.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible only by stairs.We have 6 lake view a/c rooms & 5 superior non lake view a/c room with basic amenities .Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, Televisions, free wi-fi and attached bathrooms with 24 hours running hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,Bagore ki haveli ( rajasthani folk dance centre ),City palace ,Jagdish temple,many ghats ,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake. The Hotel Krishna Niwas is owned and run by a family of artists: Jairaj Soni, his wife Sushma Soni & brothers Nirbhayraj, Giriraj & Rakesh Soni, and is situated in the Old City, close to the famous Pichola Lake and is within convenient walking distance of shops, restaurants and many of the top tourist attractions. The Krishna Niwas is tastefully decorated in the traditional haveli style of Rajasthan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Krishna Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krishna Niwas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing